We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riga March 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Riga March 2013”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent location. Stayed at the hotel for a short break in March 2013. Staff very friendly and able to answer any questions immediately. Rooms very clean and warm, -15 degrees centigrade outside! Food excellent, thought we had only booked b + b but hot buffet meal provided in the evening. Riga is such a lovely city, but not much to do if you have young children. Would definitely come again but only when the temperature is warmer

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

it was a please to welcome you to Valdemars! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals at out hotel!
We definately suggest you to visit Riga again in summer time, it has more activities to offer for families with children then!

Best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    243
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
84
223
50
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

In my opinion, this is really shame that this wonderful, charming, cozy hotel situated in the wonderful building with the plenty of original features in the very centre of the stunning city of Riga, right in the Art Nouveau district of Riga, has not been ranked as the first hotel in Riga on Tripadviser web site so far!!

This hotel definitely deserves the first place! Of course, you should realise that this is not a 5 star hotel, but apart from that everything about this hotel is top notch! The most essential thing is that you are feeling in it like at home!!! Even its rooms do not look like ordinary hotel rooms, while being in the hotel you have strong feeling that this is not a hotel but probably the home of your best friend where you are staying with...

And what about authentic Latvian dishes that are served not only every morning but also every evening and also from 3 to 5 pm (as tees and snacks)! And what is more attractive that all these additional options are included in the original hotel price which is very moderate in any case!

All in all, this is the best hotel for sure in Riga and also one of the best hotels which I have ever stayed in (and please trust me that I usually stay in 4 and 5 star hotels. However, after my last travel to Riga I am slightly confused since I am not sure which hotel I was most impressed with: Roma Cavaliery (Hilton) that my wife and I have recently stayed in, or this wonderful and exceptional hotel Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars!!

Room Tip: I was luckily upgraded to a suit. I believe that this is the best kind of rooms in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmirnov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this wonderful review!
It was a true pleasure to welcome you at hotel Valdemars!

Looking forward to see you some other time again!

with best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel was perfect. The location is about 15 mins walk from Old Town through the park. Even in the snow and frost this is a lovely scenic and easy walk. The hotel is an Art Nouveau building outside and yet so modern and comfy inside. We got an upgrade to a suite and it was just perfect with a balcony onto the street below.
The breakfast was lovely, with hot and cold items. I loved that there was tea and coffee and fruit available all day for free and in the afternoon you could make your own waffles!
We took the opportunity to have the free evening meals in the hotel on two nights, salad for starter, hot dinner and dessert. The first night the meat at dinner wasn't to our taste (nothing wrong with it) but the second night it was delicious. There is no choice for the main course, so it could be hit or miss if you like it. Such a great idea for people on a budget.
The staff were lovely and the receptionist was really helpful.

Room Tip: Get the airport shuttle bus to the Albert Hotel which is less than 3 mins walk from the Clarion. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifiheavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Valdemars!
Looking forward to welcome you some time soon again!

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed two nights on a weekend. Staff was very friendly and extremely service minded. Facilities are excellent and the hotel lives up to its slogan that you can feel at home there. Coffee and fruits available 247, good breakfast, waffles or cake in the afternoon and for those who want a simple dinner buffet.

You can enjoy your stay at this hotel. It's location is convenient.

There are a few tiny drawbacks: bathroom in our room seemed not the freshest anymore. We had a very nice room on one of the top floors but noise from the street was a bit too loud.

All in all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! Glad to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay at Valdemars!


Greetings from sunny Riga!
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In all honesty from the moment I booked this hotel I was worried that a 3 Star rating might spoil our enjoyment of Riga on this short break , I have to tell you right now I couldn't have been more wrong ! . From arrival to departure it was one of the most friendly and relaxing hotels I have ever stayed in . The Staff were superb and very helpful and always had a smile . Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty to choose from and with 24 hour access to Tea and Coffee and also the added bonus of complimentary mid afternoon Waffles and fruit and a hot evening meal for the weary traveller who arrives too late to walk in to town for a meal . Don't hesitate to ask the staff for Restaurant advice or travel directions as they are more than willing to share their knowledge with you . Rooms were very comfortable and toasty warm , bathroom was large with a great shower ( shampoo and towels provided ) . Only down side was the road outside our room was very busy and very noisy but that aside We had a great stay and wouldnt hesitate to visit again in the future .

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of the Hotel should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your review and opinion about your stay at Valdemars! we are happy that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have fully enjoyed your visit to Riga!

We are looking forward to welsome you some time again!

With sunny greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel, arrriving late but being given, as other reviewers have noted, a late night snack in case we werer hungry. A lovely touch. Good, plain, functional rooms; OK bathroom though the shower didn't drain that well. A very good breakfast buffet. And the real bonus of a buffet dinner as part of the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. It is an easy walk through the park to the old town and the hotel is very clsoe to the Art Museum (though that has just closed for renovation!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! We find your tips about the city very helpful to others travelers!
See you some other time again, possibly when the Art museum will be open again for visitors after big renovation!

With best regards from sunny Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I chose the hotel mainly for reason that due to late arrival and unwillingness to go for a search of food it offered free supper buffet. Unfortunately we arrived too late with collegues and the buffet-time was over since 21:00. Reception lady, however, had some paper-bags with sandwich, fruit and yoghurt set aside for us. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and contained everything one expects form a 4-5 star facility. Free wifi in rooms with easy no-password access. Staff was friendly and polite, the whole atmosphere relaxed. Would definitely use Valdemars again when in Riga.

Room Tip: 601 on top floor has a small seating area with three armchairs and a little table in the corner towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

we don't want to let our guests go to sleep hungry and this is why we make sure that everyone has a snack if they miss our evening meal.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Valdemars and thank you for recommending us to other guests!

Greetings from Riga!
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing