We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good service, nice hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed two nights on a weekend. Staff was very friendly and extremely service minded. Facilities are excellent and the hotel lives up to its slogan that you can feel at home there. Coffee and fruits available 247, good breakfast, waffles or cake in the afternoon and for those who want a simple dinner buffet.

You can enjoy your stay at this hotel. It's location is convenient.

There are a few tiny drawbacks: bathroom in our room seemed not the freshest anymore. We had a very nice room on one of the top floors but noise from the street was a bit too loud.

All in all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! Glad to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay at Valdemars!


Greetings from sunny Riga!
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    253
    69
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
233
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In all honesty from the moment I booked this hotel I was worried that a 3 Star rating might spoil our enjoyment of Riga on this short break , I have to tell you right now I couldn't have been more wrong ! . From arrival to departure it was one of the most friendly and relaxing hotels I have ever stayed in . The Staff were superb and very helpful and always had a smile . Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty to choose from and with 24 hour access to Tea and Coffee and also the added bonus of complimentary mid afternoon Waffles and fruit and a hot evening meal for the weary traveller who arrives too late to walk in to town for a meal . Don't hesitate to ask the staff for Restaurant advice or travel directions as they are more than willing to share their knowledge with you . Rooms were very comfortable and toasty warm , bathroom was large with a great shower ( shampoo and towels provided ) . Only down side was the road outside our room was very busy and very noisy but that aside We had a great stay and wouldnt hesitate to visit again in the future .

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of the Hotel should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your review and opinion about your stay at Valdemars! we are happy that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have fully enjoyed your visit to Riga!

We are looking forward to welsome you some time again!

With sunny greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel, arrriving late but being given, as other reviewers have noted, a late night snack in case we werer hungry. A lovely touch. Good, plain, functional rooms; OK bathroom though the shower didn't drain that well. A very good breakfast buffet. And the real bonus of a buffet dinner as part of the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. It is an easy walk through the park to the old town and the hotel is very clsoe to the Art Museum (though that has just closed for renovation!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! We find your tips about the city very helpful to others travelers!
See you some other time again, possibly when the Art museum will be open again for visitors after big renovation!

With best regards from sunny Riga,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I chose the hotel mainly for reason that due to late arrival and unwillingness to go for a search of food it offered free supper buffet. Unfortunately we arrived too late with collegues and the buffet-time was over since 21:00. Reception lady, however, had some paper-bags with sandwich, fruit and yoghurt set aside for us. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and contained everything one expects form a 4-5 star facility. Free wifi in rooms with easy no-password access. Staff was friendly and polite, the whole atmosphere relaxed. Would definitely use Valdemars again when in Riga.

Room Tip: 601 on top floor has a small seating area with three armchairs and a little table in the corner towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

we don't want to let our guests go to sleep hungry and this is why we make sure that everyone has a snack if they miss our evening meal.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Valdemars and thank you for recommending us to other guests!

Greetings from Riga!
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good location, good breakfast buffet, free of charge refreshments (tea, cofee) available 24h, cosy lounge. Bathrooms would need some renovation in some near future I guess, but overall impression is good. Will recommend to everybody going to Riga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your comments!
We are planing to renovate all our bathrooms quite soon and this process has allready been started.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends! See you soon!

Best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I fully agree with the previous written reviews on Tripadvisor. You will fall in love with the hotel when you arrives. The stay is a great value for money hotel, which offer excellent service for a fair price. Breakfast and Dinner buffet is free of charge, and at any time you can enjoy free refreshments in the lobby/bar. The staff is friendly and service oriented. Located near the historical old city (or within), the major tourist sites are in walking distance.

Room Tip: A taxi (use the red or green) from the airport costs only about 10 EUR
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Bakkebo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest!

we thank you for posting such a nice review! Compliments like yours keeps us going and getting better and better!

Thank you and we truly hope to see you some other time again!

With greetings from Riga and everyone at Valdemars,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Third stay at this "value for Money" Hotel. They offer a free Dinner buffet which is perfect when you arrive late and just want something light to eat before bed. The buffet is served up to 21:00. This time I arrived at 10 pm and missed it by a hour. Just mentioned it when I checked in. Some 20 minutes later, the Staff turned up with Sandwiches, Fruit and Yogurt. Very good initiative which made the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for complimenting our hotel and service! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and meals!

Hoping to welcome you some other time again!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 109 in Riga
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#23 of 109 in Riga
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing