We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant - with a few remarks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A fine and caring hotel near the city centre: what else can you wish. A nice, though sparsely decorated, room and a fine breakfast. And: even the evening meal is included.
No negatives at all? Well, in the breakfast room cleaning up used tables has no priority and there is that strange electricity cable running across the floor to the buffet. Not only dirty sticky tape attached to it, but it is also dangerous. Why not provide electricity for the buffet straight from the ceiling where there is already electricity? And the warm water in the room: an awful long wait sometimes. This spilling of water does certainly not fit in their eco-program. Internet connections were not reliable. The provided cable did not fit. Complaining brought no solution. The problem was seen, but not solved. For the rest: all good and friendly.

Room Tip: City view (front side)is a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudolf_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a comment, we appreciate your compliments and also your suggestions, that would make us even beter!

Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 708 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Family room has no minibar ! A very small closet, small bathroom. This for 400 euro for 3 days !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rooske71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

we haven't considered puting a minibar in a Family room, but after your review, we can think about it! Thank you for positive review in regards of location and service!

With Best regards,
Zane Grike,
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and decided to upgrade to a suite, the suite was huge and very nicely decorated, with a very comfy bed. The food was excellant and the inclusion of the evening meal was a total bonus. The hotel is beautifully furnished throughout and the spa is lovely to relax in at the end of a day sightseeing. The hotels location is brilliant very near the old part of the city. If I were to visit Riga again I would not want to stay elsewhere. The staff were very helpful. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Offthebeatentrack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for complimenting our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We hope to see you some other time!

Best regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I like this Hotel for its good standard. I felt very welcomed and safe. It was nice with the afternoon snack and coffee and water available all day. i would very much like to stay at valdemars next time i go to Riga. thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prinsessanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

same here - we would very much like you to stay at Valdemars next time you are in Riga! Thank you for your review!

With regards,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Centrally located, with very friendly staff, all of whom spoke English. My room was clean comfortable and quiet considering it overlooked a very busy street.
The buffet both breakfast and dinner gave a good choice, the food was constantly changed being checked for what was left and new replacements appeared the minute they were needed. The lobby was welcoming and well laid out.
I would think you would have to work very hard to find something that you did not like about this hotel.
I did not use the pool or gym so can pass no comment on them. I spent 4 very pleasant nights in this hotel and should I go back to Riga I will make straight for this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostandalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for posting such a nice review! We all are looking forward to welcome you back!
See you soon!

With sunny greetings,
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Where to start?
Well, let's start by walking into the hotel - nice interior, cosy lobby/bar area. Staff not friendly nor un-friendly, but still serviceminded. We got the suite - not worth the money. The suite was big, yes, but with the lack of furniture and decorations it felt very dull, cold and unpersonal. Sofa was not comfortable to sit in. But room was clean at least. Spa/relax area - the water in the hot tub is way too cold to be able to enjoy time in the tub, hamam is a bit too hot instead. Food - breakfast good, level of what can be expected from Clarion Collection Hotels. Afternoon snack is waffles - really nice and in combo with the coffee (although the coffee is barely OK) it makes a good lunch substitute. Dinner is plain OK. In general - hotel is totally OK, and for a business traveller not spending too much time at the hotel and just has a need for eating but nothing fancy, then it works perfect. Hotel is located close to the city center.

Room Tip: Suite not worth the money! Go ahead for a cheaper smaller room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnusWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel!
Nice to see that you have listed both positive things and improvements that you are suggesting.

Best regards
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Service Excellent
Very Good Sleep
Average Cleanliness
Very Good Location
Very Good Rooms
Breakfast Excellent

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 405Jaska405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

Best regards
Zane Grike
GM at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#20 of 110 in Riga
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#12 of 110 in Riga
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#51 of 110 in Riga
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 110 in Riga
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Address: Kri jana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $68 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing