We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Valdemars Riga” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Valdemars Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Brilliant hotel close to everything. Friendly and service-orientated staff. Having tea, coffee and fruits all day was really nice. The excercise facilities were great. And best of all; the hotel is located very close to the city's most famous spa ESPA.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultraprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting this review!
Everyone from hotel is sending best wishes to you!

Zane Grike
GM, Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    241
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
83
222
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

It was really nice staying at Hotel Valdemars. The location of the hotel is just perfect. We were a big group of teachers together. The rooms were warm and comfortable (we went there in February :)

Our favourite part was the lobby bar and the restaurant. Having tea, coffee and fruits all day was really nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Dinner was really delicious. Even though the price was for BB when compared with the other hotels we got full service.

You will love staying there. The best in Riga! :)

Room Tip: All my friends liked their rooms. So, I think any room will fullfil your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting this review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Greetings from
Zane Griķe and everyone at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I went with collegues this spring. We were a large group, and check-in went fast and easy. Breakfast was good, and we were very pleased about the coffe- and tea-lounge, with day-and-night service.

The rooms were good, the bath-rooms were nice. We both had several fluffy towels that were changed every day, and even a flower in a vase on the desk.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back-yard, and it was very quiet. -Maybe they were all quiet, none of my co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilja70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for leaving a nice comment!

We hope to see you some other time!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
GM, Claron Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Super hotel!!! Friendly staff, very good dinner and breakfast!!!! It' s best hotel in Riga!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Anna_K298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

With greetings from Riga,
Zane Grike
GM, CC Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

If you plan to visit Riga, hotel Valdemar is an excellent choice to stay at. Nice rooms, friendly staff and high level of service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sölve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this nice review!

Best regards,
Zane Grike
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringerike, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room resembles a cell, bare and stern. Something should be done to soften the impression af an army barracks a bit.
The receptionist who checked us in did not even say hello or offer a greeting. She should now work in the industry. The others however were smiley.
Breakfast was ok, but pastries were sad, and the standard of the hot food variable.
Location was great.
Bed was good enough for me. I am fussy about beds.
Free dinner in the evening was not sampled.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a fantastic stay for 3 nights for new year at the Clarion Valdemars, Riga. The trip was made so much better as a result of a fantastic hotel. On arrival we were greated by a very friendly receptionist, and given the info on the hotel including the jacuzzi. It was great to unwind after a day out before dinner. Our room was on the 5th floor and was very chic. Wooden floors , great layout, decent size room. Bath robes were a nice added touch. a free safe was also a bonus, and theunlimited soap / showe gel in the dispensers was great. The room was spotless and very warm. The unlimited tea/coffee/water was great after a day out.
The dinner in the evening was a great bonus, if anything ran out, either the waitresses would fill it up immediately or a quick reminder would get it restocked. Even though dinner was until 9pm, they were still filling up the food at 845pm. The choice was great, with Soup. Lots of Salad, Main course, dessert & Cheese. Breakfast was also full of variety from cereals, dry fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, smoked fish and Caviar, as well as pastries. There is something for everyone.
The hotel was a lovely place to chill out. It was very busy but at night it was so quiet - you couldn't even here people coming back to their rooms.
There is also a free laptop to look on the internet too.
The location could not have been any better - just round the corner from the Cathedral & 10-15 mins walk to old town.
The bus no 22 from the airport gets you to the central bus station & it only took us 20 mins to walk from there. Coming back to the UK, we got an airport shuttle bus from the "albert hotel" round the back of the Clarion for only 3 lats each. Again we were given this info from the receptionist rather than booking a taxi. It was my first visit to Riga & I will definitely be back and stay at the Clarion. I had searched lots of hotel prior to booking this one, and it was definitely great value for money. I would even say that it was better value than the more expensive ones I had looked at & better location.
There is lots to do in Riga - winter or summer. Lots of Museums, lovely coffee shops, & even fitted in a trip to the Jurmala beach only 30 mins away by train.
The Clarion hotel group are popular in Sweden, Norway and Finland, and I am now looking at visiting these cities and staying in one of the Clarion Collection hotels.
I think you would be hard pushed to find a better value hotel in a great location in Riga, It is worth double the money. The hotel made the holiday as it was so warm & inviting. I will be recomming this chain of hotels to my friends. Can't wait to stay in another one, I now have high standards.
Stay at the Valdemars in Riga and you will not be disappointed - Don't forget to go to the Jacuzzi & Spa which I don't think is used very often as it was nice and quiet ( I can't find a single negative comment to make )

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epcrossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaneGrike, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your compliments, we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Great tips to other Guests!

Hope to see you soon again!

With best regards,
Zane Grike
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#34 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing