We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Radi un Draugi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radi un Draugi
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Vasa, Finland
1 review
“Good location”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Spent three nights in februari at Radi un Draugi. Location is very good, right in the center of Old Town. Breakfast is good with all you need (bread, cereals, some hot food, porrage, vegetables, fruit, eggs, juice, tea and coffe). The room was clean but the bed was a bit uncomfortable.

The hotel has a restaurant but we didn´t try it because there are many restaurants just a few blocks away. We especially recommend steaks at Steiku Haoss.

We were not disturbed by the bar across the street because our room wasn´t right in front of it. The drivers however who ploughed snow away from the streets outside at 5 am was very annoying.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    257
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
72
233
70
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clare Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

It's hard to find any faults with this hotel. It's right in the center of the old town within walking distance of everything. The breakfast is super, better than one would usually find in eastern europe. The staff went out of their way to help and spoke perfect english. The rooms were huge and the bed was very comfortable and all this for around 70 euro a night. Excellent

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleeker151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

The hotel has a good service and provides a very good breakfast.
It's just in the centre and so very good point of departure to explore Riga.
The hotel has also a restaurant. It seems good but I've not tried.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is the second time I have stayed here with my Mum, we have a link as the owner also owned the Latvian Old folks home my Grandmother lived in. The first time was back in 2000 and though we enjoyed it then, it's even better now since they have refurbished the rooms.

In my other reviews I talk about 3* hotels and how ambigious a rating this can be. This is one of those 3* hotels which was well above most and I have stayed at 4*s that have nothing on the Radi un Dragi! The rooms are all very clean, comfy beds, lots of good lighting, have a fan, TV with BBC & CNN (& Cartoon Network!) and tea & coffee facilities.
We stayed in 2 different rooms (went off to visit relatives in the middle of our visit). The rooms were rather different, one was more modern & very spacious, the other was much smaller - yet I would not complain about it at all and it was still way above adequate.
The staff are all very friendly & helpful - they booked tours for us, our taxi to the airport and happy to help us with day to day queries. They have a luggage room if you need to leave your bags before a late leaving flight. The reception area also has lots of information on Riga and beyond.

The breakfast is a good buffet breakfast & has all the usuals (bread, eggs, sausages, fruit, pancakes, etc) - however, they also have many Latvian dishes - very dill filled - which I think is great on top of what else is on offer.

The Hotel Bar is very relaxing & reasonably priced - would recommend for a pre/post dinner drink. And as all reviewers have said, the location is just fantastic.

And to top it all off, as a bonus, the hotel also supports many Latvian charities with some of it's profits. I would stay nowhere else in Riga! ( I stayed at the Riga Hotel in 1990.. but I imagine it's changed a wee bit since then!)

If anyone has any questions about Latvia or the hotel - please email me!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeezeNmD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This has a wonderful location. It is a short walk to public transportation and all the sights of Old Town. It's great for all the Cultural Events too. The people at the desk were always helpful. If they didn't know an answer, they would find it out. The food at the breakfast was delicious and plenty for even hearty eaters. Only problem is the noise from across the street at night. Not so much a problem on weekdays, but weekends. The guest lounge and bar were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed here with a friend for a short break in August and thought it was good value for money. It's conveniently located in the Old Town, opposite quite a nice Belgian beer place. The room was clean, reasonably spacious and the bathroom was excellent. The breakfast was not the most inspirational but perfectly adequate. The staff were generally helpful, if sometimes a bit hard to understand.

  • Liked — Convenience of location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing to object to really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This is a great hotel - very clean, very friendly,spacious room WITH TEA MAKING FACILITIES. Very nice lounge with free access to internet. The breakfast is an excellent spread and we ate in their restaurant on one night which we felt was very good value.However the downside to our 4 night stay was the noise from the street.It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a party.We were there at a weekend which is obviously the worst time(noisewise) to be there. Sunday and Monday nights were slightly quieter. If you value your sleep like we do this may not be the hotel for you. However if you're there to party than this is an excellent centraly located hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radi un Draugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radi un Draugi

Property: Radi un Draugi
Address: Marstalu iela 1-3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riga
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#18 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radi un Draugi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel in Riga „Radi un draugi” ("Family and friends") is situated in the heart of Riga – the Old Town - and close to many historic buildings, offering: - 72 well-appointed bedrooms, all of which are equipped with everything necessary to ensure your comfort and well-being; - 2 modern and fully equipped conference rooms, which can be used for a variety of events, including seminars, conferences and private parties; - the restaurant „Niklavs”,which is popular with Riga’s visitors as well as with those residents, who enjoy a good meal out. Your friendly hotel in Riga "Radi un draugi"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radi un Draugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radi Un Draugi Riga
Radi Un Draugi Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing