We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Radi un Draugi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radi un Draugi
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
776 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found the hotel a little overpriced. I do not understand the clasification system in some Countries but I think this is a 3* hotel. I was given a room which was large, clean, with the amenities you would expect. The staff were helpful but never smile. The breakfast room though was something out of this world.
The room is located in teh basement of the hotela nd it looks as if it just came out from the Soviet era, Very poorly decorated in depressing colours and an uninviting carpet makes you want to finish your breakfast asap.
Overall, not a bad hotel but not 4*

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    237
    53
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
207
65
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights.
It’s very central and close to all main places – but you need sleeping soundly, as in Riga’s old town in general.
The service was great, room was clean and also the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

In the heart of the Old Town right behind St Peter's and only five minutes walk from the bus station.
Friendly and helpful staff and a clean and spacious room.There was some night time noise but that's to be expected with the number of surrounding pubs and clubs...the hotel does provide air plugs but I didn't use them

Decent breakfast although it's quite a trek to find the basement breakfast room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LambStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located in old town, just a few steps away from the main must-see spots of Riga, and very close to all restaurants and pubs.
Very reasonable price and very good overall impression of all services and facilities at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

You can't fault the location, which is in the old town just a few steps from St Peter's.

It's not a smart hotel, but for a reasonable price you get a decent room and helpful staff.

What I didn't like: the stuffy and noisy breakfast room and the late night noise, although thoughtfully ear plugs are provided, and being charged to use the safe in the room.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room not on the street. Also make sure you book parking if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We are a family of 3, including our 13 yo daughter, in Riga for the first time to find family roots. We were very happy with this hotel because it is in a perfect location in the Old City -- just a block or two from many of the old churches and other sights. The rest of the Old City is just a few blocks further, as well as the central part of town and the central market (worth a visit -- its huge). The Art Nouveau district is a bit further, but within walking distance. While there are many cafes, clubs and bars in the Old City nearby the hotel (even right across the street) which are open through the night, we had minimal noise even though our room was directly on the street. They provided ear plugs but we didn't use them. But make sure the windows are closed tight or it will be a lot louder. There were four single beds in the "family room", but pairs can be pushed together. The breakfast buffet was extensive --lots of fruits, fish, meats and breads. Everyone spoke English reasonably well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably more quiet, but all the "family rooms" (i.e., four single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Located in ugly part of the Old Town (by the way, who goes to Riga for the Old Town, it's the city's art nouveau districts that count!). Strange people working in the Draugi Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JornH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radi un Draugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radi un Draugi

Property: Radi un Draugi
Address: Marstalu iela 1-3, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riga
#9 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#18 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radi un Draugi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star hotel in Riga „Radi un draugi” ("Family and friends") is situated in the heart of Riga – the Old Town - and close to many historic buildings, offering: - 72 well-appointed bedrooms, all of which are equipped with everything necessary to ensure your comfort and well-being; - 2 modern and fully equipped conference rooms, which can be used for a variety of events, including seminars, conferences and private parties; - the restaurant „Niklavs”,which is popular with Riga’s visitors as well as with those residents, who enjoy a good meal out. Your friendly hotel in Riga "Radi un draugi"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radi un Draugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radi Un Draugi Riga
Radi Un Draugi Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing