We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NB Hotel
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Riga
bbglas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have been to Riga quite a few times and visit once or twice a year for shopping. Usually it's a short weekend trip and whilst I have stayed at a 4 star hotel most times I decided to save some money and try something cheaper this time.

NB Hotel is a bit further out of town than where I stay normally but not too far away. The No 5 tram takes you straight to the door of the hotel and fortunately I knew where to get off the airport bus to connect with Slokas Iela where its situated. It's easy to find from town by asking for directions.

The hotel is modern and situated in a main street with resedential housing opposite. It is a quiet neighbourhood. On arrival the recepton staff were efficient and very helpful allocating me a double room (I only paid for a single) and providing assisitance with navaigation and getting connected to the excellent free wireless Internet throughout the property.

The room was spotless. Bathroom clean and there was a TV with an English movie channel, news channel and other services. Beds were firm and comfortable and the room was large, bright and airy. The hotel has several full sized snooker tables on the ground floor for rent and they also have a nice courtyard where you can relax, enjoy a drink and smoke in the open air.

Breakfast was everything you could want with bacon, egss (scrambled, boiled), sausage, toast, bread, preserves/honey, cerials, porridge, variety of juices and tea/coffee. Evening meals are ad hoc, no menu available but something can be prepared quickly up until 11PM daily which is just as well as there are no carry out food places outwith Riga city centre.

Best bet is to get a Riga city transport ticket so you can get around. They cost about 5.70Ls (£6.60) for 3 days use of bus/trolley/trams and the local public transport is reliable and runs to time (timetables are shown on every bus/tram stop). Taxi from Riga city centre to the NB Hotel is approx 7Ls (£8.50) which is reasonable if a party of guests are staying.

I would go back to NB Hotel without hesitation. Once you know whre it is and how to get there it's easy and the standard of accomodation and customer care is hard to beat for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are good but all are non-smoking. Annex rooms have a balcony which might be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
19
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2007

We got a red taxi from the airport they were very well organised but I believe it was cheaper getting an ordinary cab back(12Lats)a bit more than £12. It would be wise to take water if you are arriving late: bar was shut after 11pm and reception staff unable to sell anything. No lift but wide staircase. Room was fine though,shower OK, toilet flush had to be repeatedly unscrewed or didn't flush. Breakfast was fine, lovely bread and usual egg and stuff, cheese,meat,fruit and cereals. Lots of snooker tables in hotel.
Got a map of Riga from reception and the tram outside the hotel:30santimes(I think) about 30p remember and punch your ticket as the controllers often pop on to check your tickets.
Easy to find your way around Riga, lots of smart cars,designer gear, and high heels but also some old ladies selling flowers in jars and odd elderly and young person begging. Lots of beautiful buildings, monuments,galleries,museums most take a donation. Interesting to see the History of Latvia realise how lucky we are living in the West after WW11 but things looking good for Riga. Lots of good grub, try the black balsam,yoghurt lovely and peppermint tea. Worth a trip to Jourmalla on the train loads of wooden houses.

  • Liked — cheap and adequate, good location to get into city, good breakfast
  • Disliked — No access to water out of hours
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K.D.Ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

This is a really boaring place. The staff is totally not professional, waitresses are not taking care of customers. I was waiting once in reception quite a while, then came a lady with glasses, and then she just dissapared ... and I was still waiting!? Small rooms and tasteless interior. I would pay a little more and would choose another hotel. Riga is famous for good hotels, but this one ... well, it's not good. Maybe backpackers would appreciate this one (too expensive I guess), but we were dissapointed.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Terrible staff, small rooms, terrible service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riga hotels

Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

Very friendly welcome from the desk staff. Clean airy feel to downstairs with large bar / restaurant with tables in secluded quadrangle. No lifts but porter available. Rooms are clean and have been renovated recently with excellent power shower, compact layout but rather thin walls. Quiet area out of centre but with the no 5 tram taking you directly to or from Centraltirgus - the big tram stop near the bus station and market. This is close for the train station as well. From a long distance bus, turn left outside the bus station (watch out for pickpockets here!) under the bridge and cross the road via the underpass. The no 5 tram stops at the far platform. Alternatively it stops near the bridge next to the big square with the 3 riflemen statue. Tram rides are 20c and the journey takes 10 mins to get to Slokas Iela. Look for house numbers on opposite side of road - hotel is no. 49. The stop is after the big road with the branching tram line (where the no 4 tram turns off to the left). Hotel staff will organise taxi to airport for 8Ls which seems to be the standard "hotel organised" price. We have been asked for 8Ls from outside the station as well. Breakfast was good with porridge which was actually semolina - delicious mixed with jam and took me back to school days. Hotel has large snooker room on ground floor. Peace and quiet spoiled for us by noisy Lithuanian hockey youth team visiting with beer and attitude. However this was hardly the fault of the hotel. Overall - good for a short stop and no problem to be out of old Riga which can be noisy with English stag parties shouting until 7am!

  • Liked — Shower
  • Disliked — Thin walls with poor insulation
  • Tips/Secrets — Use tram rather than a taxi
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterthebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

This place is a total mess. Tiny rooms, very bad noise isolation. The staff is rude (except cleaning lady's). Service is horrible. Temperature in our room was like in Finnish sauna. I had a feeling that this was my fault that I asked for a glass of water in the bar. Prices are too high! In the reception were sitting two ladies and smiling, but not helping ...!!! Choose another hotel in the downtown! You'll find a good one, because this one is one of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haugesund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2006

I was very disappointed with this hotel.It looks clean and nice but the "double" room they gave us was small as a closet,wc not big enough for normal size person to turn around and facing to the parking lot with too small curtains.Not to mention that bed had only one blanket and electric wires were hanging here and there after renovations(see pic).Room should have had hairdryer and minibar but it didn't and I guess the Tv antenna was in bad shape too-couldn't see anything from TV.We were out of toilet paper all the time.At breakfast they were out of everything,every morning and the toast roaster they had was broken.On top of this they charged extra for the room because they told prices in euro but charged in LVL and exchange rate they took was BAD...Basicly I think they tried to cheat in everything from charging extra for the room or charging twice for items bought or offering Airport transfers with nearly 3 times bigger charge than normal.Comparing to city hotels I've visited this is total scam and not worth the money when you compare service,location and room facilities.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.2 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#55 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
#72 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#69 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.7 mi away
TOSS Hotel
TOSS Hotel
#73 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NB Hotel

Property: NB Hotel
Address: Slokas iela 49, Riga 1007, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NB Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIGA`S BEST KEPT SECRET... ... From the quiet comfort of the guestrooms and suites to the exquisite privacy of the luxurious apartments, NB Hotel is one of the Riga`s best kept secrets, jealously guarded by its repeat guests. The NB Hotel is a 72 room, Business style hotel, located in Riga. The hotel featuring BILLIARD Club is known for its elegance and unparalleled service. Whether for a conference or business meeting NB Hotel has a function room up to 50 people, equipped with the latest technology. All hotel guests receive free car parking, buffet breakfast, room service and preferred reservations at NB Hotel restaurant with private garden.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your NB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nb Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing