We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place in artistic style.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Laine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Hotel Laine
Ranked #1 of 63 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good place in artistic style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Hotel is very nice and located in quiet street in Riga center,
Rooms are very clean.Furniture and decoration with good taste.
Staff are very friendly.
On desk You have big choice of maps and brochures for free.
From Hotel You can reach all intersting places in Riga by walk.To old city is not more than 20 minutes.
Only view from window we was not so nice.Dirty old store and old damaged cars.Of course I suppose that is dependent of the room.Lift in Hotel is very small (not more than 2 person) and it's a problem to going with baggage.
Hotel have excellent restaurant with international cousine.
Restaurant is in old marine style with antique furniture and also durring the summer is open peaceful terrace.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    103
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
74
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and central. Some reviews mentioned it's bizarre location (3rd story up in large Art Nouveau buliding) & delapidated lift. Forget it- the place is absolutely terrific for value and situation. The lift is small but functional & well maintained. The staff from the manager to reception and bar staff are charming, friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfasts are interesting varied and nourishing. The bar is pleasant and very reasonably priced. We did not try the restaurant as we wanted to eat out in Riga at different places but the menu looked attreactive and not outrageously expensive. The rooms both private & public are spotless, comfortable and attractively decorated. Despite being on a busy road and only a 10 minute walk from old town there is no noise and the area is peaceful & safe. Pick up from the airport was punctual.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joddwallgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Just visited for a weekend and had an almost perfect stay here. We had a large suite with two rooms, two single beds each, for a great price. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern, lots of cable TV channels and it was completely quiet. The hotel is not in the Old Town but you can get there by foot in 10 minutes and the walk is nice and totally safe. Breakfast was also quite impressive--plenty of choices both hot and cold. Only two downsides: some of the staff were not especially friendly, and, most unfortinately, one morning we had very little hot water in our room (which was on the top floor). But I would still go back on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
381 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

I just spent three nights in this sympathic hotel of Riga.
True, the structure of the hotel is quite old, but there are a lot of positive points that made my experience in the Laine hotel very positive :
- good location : 10 minutes walking from the center of the town;
- very clean hotel;
- staff highly available (even if young, all of them speak good English);
- strong breakfast, restaurant of good level for lunch and dinner;
- bar with a nice terrace.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyager111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

My "standard" room was very spacious and cheerfully decorated. The staff are pleasant and attractive. The breakfast is solid.
Although the building isn't one of Riga's major Art Nouveau beauties, it's still very attractive. Overall, it was agreeable and homey and the best value I've found in five trips to the city.
The gripes about the elevator are overstated, I think. This is the FSU after all -- you'll see a lot of lifts worse than the Laine's.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirahvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyonsandtigers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

I booked online, requesting a standard double at 48 lats per night and an airport pickup. Our flight got in at midnight, and there was no sign of the pickup. However, a call to the hotel sorted us out- we got a cab in the end as they said it would be cheaper. The entrance to the hotel is in a small courtyard off the road, and it is very quiet. The reception area was lovely and warm, the staff were welcoming and spoke excellent English. Our room, on the 6th floor, was pretty big but basic, with a small anteroom containing wardrobes and a bathroom that contained everything we needed although it was a bit outdated. We had to turn the radiator on ourselves, and spent a little while feeling very cold until I realised this! It warmed up very quickly though. Breakfast is served until 11am, and is the usual hotel buffet sort of thing, cereals, yogurt, tinned fruit and bread. The rooms are upwards from the third floor of a deco building, and the lift only goes up to the 5th floor (and what a lift! It's a tiny creaky thing that goes up inside a cage at the core of the building, and you can see the mechanism powering it- not for the faint hearted!). We didn't hear any sounds from other rooms while we were there, and it was a surprise to see other guests at breakfast. The town centre is about a 10-15 minute walk away, across a park, and towards the Freedom Monument. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people wanting a quiet base from which to explore central Riga.

  • Liked — Nice big room, quiet location but still close to city centre
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsandtigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed here for one night, and had no problems. The room was spacious and clean; the breakfast was modest, but functional. It's located approximately 10-15 minute walk to Old Town. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bramalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Laine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Laine

Property: Art Hotel Laine
Address: Skolas iela 11, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Laine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Laine is located in the historical city center of Riga, just a few minutes away from Old Riga. Hotel is located in a magnificent Art Nouveau building that was put up in 1912. The modern interior is combined with wonderful Art Nouveau elements, which lends particularly special charm. Rooms are decorated in harmonious colors, which give homely atmosphere. A comfortable bed guarantees a great night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Art Hotel Laine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laine Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing