We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but weekend staff not that helpful or proactive w. resolving problems”
Review of Art Hotel Laine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Laine
Ranked #1 of 62 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK, but weekend staff not that helpful or proactive w. resolving problems”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

One of my big requirements for this trip was an internet connection, which is advertised as a free and available ... they put me in Room 4.14, in which the wired internet connection in the wall did not work. Couple this with the fact that the Wi-Fi in this room was too weak to use effectively, and this resulted in me requesting a room move (after 2 hours of trying to unsuccessfully resolve the problem with the staff).

Sadly, they put me in a box room at the top of the hotel with no windows, except a sky-light in the roof. despite assurances that it would be possible to move to another room over the weekend, the weekend staff appeared were unable to deliver on these promises.

On the whole, reasonable location around 15 mins walk from the heart of heart of the old town, and rooms are reasonably priced and to a reasonable standard on the whole (just don't take Room 7.05 on the top floor, although I don't think they tend to hire this out unless they are fully booked).

Downside, is that with any budget hotels you probably won't get the service you'd get with a slightly nicer hotel. Next time, I'll probably pay a little bit more for the peace of mind of having a great stay somewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 7.05 on the top floor, and ask in advance about the internet connection if it's impor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
77
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is well positioned between the Art Noveau area and the Old Town, so ideal for exploring the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, but I could detetect the lingering smell of smoke. (I had not requested a non-smoking room.) Opening the windows helped. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here the last night of our stay in Latvia and i'm really pleased that we did! We had a lovely room just down the hall from the reception, unfortunately it had 2 beds pushed together rather than a king sized bed, but it was ok as we were staying just the one night.
We sat out on the roof terrace for a couple of beers and went in for an evening meal, all very nice if a little slow. The hotel sells paintings and pieces of handicraft and will post to your home address if required.
It is in the Art Nouveau district of Riga, quiet, but within easy walking distance of the station, city centre, the huge market Hangers containing meat, fruit & veg and fish (one hanger for each), the parks are lovely to walk through and admire the statues and the buildings surrounding them. The Old Town is about 10-15 mins walking away and worth visiting.
We went to the Museum of Invasion and spent a couple of hours learning about when and how Latvia was invaded by first the Russians, then the Germans, then the Russians again before finally getting their independence! It taught me much i didn't know and was well worth the visit. Its free to enter, but ask for donations, much deserved!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I arrived here late night, staying just one night, leaving the next morning. The hotel is a 12-17 min walk from the train station, or a 10-min stroll from the Freedom Monument at the eastern edge of the Old Town, passing the tall Radisson Blu Hotel with the famous Skyline Bar. The popular Vermanitis Lido restaurant is also nearby. You could take a bus from the station up to Brivibas iela past the big Russian Orthodox Cathedral, walking the final 6 mins or so. The hotel is at one end of a small residential courtyard. Reception is on the 3rd floor, with the lift only going up to the 5th floor. So if this will be a problem for you, ask not to be located to rooms on the 6-7th floors.

The lobby, breakfast room, corridors & rooms are painted in lovely autumnal & pastel colors, & are livened up further with oils & photographs on the walls. The rooms & corridor on the 7th floor have skylights & pretty wood beams. I had a very large twin bedroom with good-sized prettily-tiled bathroom, small coffee table with chairs, desk, a very large wardrobe, luggage rack, satellite TV, telephone, minibar – all adequate enough. The effect of the artwork was perhaps somewhat diminished by the tired furnishings. Small changes like replacing the shower curtain with a glass screen & fresh cushion covers would give it an immediate facelift. Having said that, it is a fair Latvian 3-star hotel in a quiet location.

Breakfast is good, with a good cold & hot traditional food selection, & some pastries that disappear quickly. I know that minibar prices sting everywhere, but 2 Lats for a 330ml bottle of water for a tired guest at the end of a long hot day?!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4-5th floors are served by the lift, then you have to take the stairs to rooms on the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at Art Hotel Laine for two nights on my motorbike tour. The hotel is located on a quiet street not very far from the old city centre. Guest parking was available in an inner courtyard. The entrance to the hotel was in another courtyard, and guests’ access to the parking was via the street only.

My room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom looked quite dated. The room was near the reception and therefore there were often some noises from the corridor, especially during breakfast hours, as the breakfast room was at the end of the corridor. Breakfast buffet was OK. Wireless internet connection was available in the hotel, but the signal was very weak in my room.

I was requested payment upon arrival. This seems to be the hotel’s policy, and I overheard some other guests, who were not very pleased with this, trying to negotiate different payment terms, but to no avail.

The staff were not the most attentive or polite, except for the one male member who let me in the parking courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is located on a quiet street and merely a short walk from all the lively activity of the old town and city centre. There are lots of interesting paintings on the walls (available for sale !) which made for a very unique feel to the place. We found our room to be of a good size and very clean. The staff cleaned the room daily. The free breakfast is nice & plentiful and is usually served from 7am -11am. The staff were pleasant and offered advice when we asked. The hotel lobby is located on the third floor. Wi-fi access can be sporadic if your room was located on the 3rd floor as ours was, however, by using the lobby/reception waiting area (with plenty of tables and chairs) the signal became much stronger ... and it's free for residents. All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Riga, and would recommend this hotel for anybody who wants to benefit from having a hotel in a quiet part of town, with all of the lively nightlife a short walk away.

Room Tip: If you need constant wi-fi, make sure you ask the staff to place you in a room with consistent signa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkbd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Art Hotel Laine, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the good review!
If you'll visit Riga next time, please contact me directly, before hotel booking! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our third time in Riga, so this time we wanted a place to stay which wasn't in the middle of the old town.
Art Hotel Laine is in the heart of Riga (in the Art Nouveau area), just 10 minutes walk from the old town.
It's an old building and the entrance is in a courtyard. The recepcion is in the third floor, and although it has elevator, it only arrives to the fifth floor (there are two more floors). We were in room 615 (sixth floor) and it wasn't a big problem for us (you'll only carry up your baggage once), but if you are travelling with children or have mobility problems, is better to ask for a lower floor.
Our room was very clean and enormous. It had a small area with a wardrobe, followed by a generously sized bedroom with a very big bed and a fridge. The bathroom was very big too.
Breakfast is included in the price and it's really good (maybe I miss some pastries). There is a nice terrace on the bar, but we couldn't use it because it was raining all day long.
Free wifi, but in the sixth floor and above the signal is poor.
We spent 5 nights and we got free transfer to and from the airport.
Very nice and helpful staff. There are some bars and restaurants around and also a shopping center (Galerija Riga).
I liked the hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vakaloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Laine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Laine

Property: Art Hotel Laine
Address: Skolas iela 11, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Laine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Laine is located in the historical city center of Riga, just a few minutes away from Old Riga. Hotel is located in a magnificent Art Nouveau building that was put up in 1912. The modern interior is combined with wonderful Art Nouveau elements, which lends particularly special charm. Rooms are decorated in harmonious colors, which give homely atmosphere. A comfortable bed guarantees a great night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Art Hotel Laine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laine Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing