We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Riga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. Other than a few minor things like thin walls, expensive mineral water and a wall view from the window it was very nice and definitely worth the money.
Good breakfast, nice restaurant. A decent Internet connection and location in the "quiet centre" of Riga makes it ideal for business trips. There is quite a bit to walk to the "old city" but on another hand the price of a taxi to/from the hotel is less than an average beer. Will definitely stay there again if/when i will go there next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    169
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
131
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I really didn't enjoy my stay at this hotel, which, in fact, seems to be two hotels joined together. Our room was large, dark, unusually shaped and looked into another wall. I really couldn't understand why we had a kitchen with no equipment - weird. We had to take the elevator down to the Lobby then cross the Lobby to another elevator up to the 7th floor breakfast room which was bright and airy and had a large selection of food. For me, this was too far from the old city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronto-beeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I spent 3 nights in City Hotel Teater last week and I really can say it was place worth to visit! Price and location near old town were in my check list to pick this Hotel at first place, but it really did surprice me positively! Room and hotel was clean and peacefull. I enjoyed breakfast in sky-restaurant and it was really good :) Best rating goes for service/lobby-desk people; All spoke nice English and were always smiling! Thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I think that the location was very comfortable (we walked on foot to the old town) and I liked price-comfort relation (although there was no free mineral water in the room and we heard every flushing water in other bathroom - it was quite loud). The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were good. All in all, I reccomend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laradorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear laradorren,

I am glad to read that you certainly suggest City Hotel TEATER for other travelers who would like to visit our beautiful capital of Latvia. 
I am very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome you in City Hotel TEATER again in near future.

Best wishes,
Anastasia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very good hotel close to Arena Riga (10 min to walk).
Do not have own parking, only public parking in the street and you have to pay for it...
Good restaurant on the 7 floor and bar on the first.
Staff is very friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtr1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear vtr1111,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in our city. And thank you for your positive comments about your experience in our hotel, we appreciate it very much.
Looking forward to accommodating you in City Hotel TEATER again.

Best wishes,
Anastasia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Not right in the centre, but only 15 minutes pleasant walk from the Old Town. Modern, clean, and quiet, great showers. Take up the deal on a meal in the restaurant (if offered)....I had a main course + bread, and a large beer, for less than £5

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LobbyLudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hotel for a base to explore Riga. Very friendly staff nothing was a problem for them. The hotel was off the highest standard and the room we had was massive. Breakfast was very good great choice and plenty to eat. To reach the hotel from the airport use a green taxi less than 10LATS.

Room Tip: Room 202 is massive and just up one flight off stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Willie N,

Thanks for your review, We are delighted you enjoyed your break with us.
Hope to welcome you again at City Hotel TEATER!

Best wishes,
Anastasia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#36 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#20 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Property: City Hotel Teater
Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing