We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great”
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was really cool! Our airline company screwed us over and we came a day late but hotel staff was so helpful and let us in one of their most luxurious apartment-rooms since they could not refund us for the first night. Amenities were superb, it's too bad we missed the first night. Breakfast was great and ample. Location and area is very great too - close to all entertainment hotspots, really close to hipster venues/bars PIENS and Kaņepes Kultūras Klubs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Marta M.,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I think you have made a good summary of our hotel and its benefits. I wish you a very warm welcome back at anytime.

Best regards,
Anastasija Alksne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    205
    66
    19
    10
See reviews for
57
161
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were really pleased with our room, it was really spacious for our family (2 adults, 2 children).
I dropped my wallet in the cab and noticed it only next morning. We went immediately to reception and they started to work on this case. Julia and Kate were so kind and helpful. Without their "detective work" with many phone calls and surveillance camera pictures they were able to locate the cab and finally I got my wallet back (unfortunately without money, but at least I got my driver's licence and Visa-card back). I think I can really recommend City Hotel Teater! Rooms and service are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Taina,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We do appreciate it.
It was a pleasure for our front desk team to help you with your urgent matter.
We hope to welcome you again at City Hotel TEATER!

Best regards,
Anastasija Moisejeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in late April in connection wit a seminar which took place at the hotel. The hotel has a good location, reasonable price and a staff who understood English quite well. The room where we held the seminar was rather small and during the seminar we had to open the windows several times. The equipment we needed worked good, and the meals we had were good.

My room was simple and and did not contain much equipment, but as most of my time was spent on the seminar, it was OK, taking into consideration the moderate price.

After the seminar soem of us went for a stroll to the charming old city and walked through beautiful jugend style houses. The old city was easy to rach from the hotel.

I also like to recommend a small a small and modest restaurant in the builiding next to the hotel. Some of us had dinner there before we should leav. The food was very good, cheap and well prepared, Much value for money!

I can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap and quiet place with a good breakfast in an OK dining room, located slightly outside the center but within walking distance to some of the more famous places

Henry Grindheim
Asker
Norway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

just a good hotel, good location 15 min walk from the old city, good restaurant and good english staff.
Just in the corner you have a market to buy some things, clean and spacious rooms.
We stayed 2 nights, the first night i advice some problemas with the fridge, but not have any notice, and when we left the hotel the fridge still doesn t work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adapazari, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotels position is good. Easy access to the old city. The hotel is also almost in the center. If you like walking easy and enjoyable to walk to the old city. It takes only 15 minutes. The hotel is clean and nice. Comparing to the price of the room, it is very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkish54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location was good and gave plenty of opportunity to explore the city. Our room was very big and well furnished. A few of our groups rooms had a smell of detergent, but wasn't too bad. The breakfast was good, although a few strange options were available and some was a bit cold as it was a buffet. However we had no real complaints, especially bearing in mind the price we paid. Would return if I go back to Riga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentyseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel was at a good location for exploring Riga. The room had a strong chemical smell that indicated it was cleaned regularly, but I would have preferred something more neutral. The main problem was the water pressure and temperature in the shower which was difficult to control and kept changing. And, when you are visiting Riga in the winter (or very cold spring) you want hot water there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#13 of 109 in Riga
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 109 in Riga
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel TIA
Hotel TIA
#69 of 109 in Riga
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#22 of 109 in Riga
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Property: City Hotel Teater
Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing