We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to centrum”
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Teater
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Boden, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to centrum”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a really nice hotel for that kind of price/night. It was worth the money becasue it was a fresh light room with a tv, not to big and to to small. The beds was really comfortable and the breakfast was really nice too :)

The only thing i think about, that i want to mention is that the cleaning could have been a bit better.Some days after we been at for the whole they it wasnt cleaned in the room, only like the garbage bag was changed and nothing else. But i recomed the hotel anyway, its really close Old Riga and the center. No problem to walk, especially not in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaMiettinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    197
    62
    19
    10
See reviews for
54
153
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

nice hotels with good and friendly staff. you can to old town in ten minutes. Near the hotel, there are lots of good cafes( Gafe in, Double cafe) and restaurants. The rooms are clean and heated from the ground during September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veyselsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We travelled with a group of 50 students, and everyone was very happy with the hotel. Not luxurious, but a hotel that has managed to get the basic, important things right, at very affordable rates. A 20 min walk to the old town, but several interesting streets with shops, bars, restaurants etc nearby.

We were a "diffiicult" group, as our booking had to be changed numerous times (students cancelling and joining the trip etc), but Simona, the sales manager, handled all these requests in a very helpul end efficient manner.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Ole,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
Our team will be very happy to see you and your group again!

Have a nice day!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Moisejeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel was really nice. It is located just 15 minutes walk from the old town, very close to Brivibas avenue(boulevard) and 2 minutes away from buses-tram-trolleys stops. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are big and clean.The breakfast was excellent and was served on the 7th floor with a great view of the new Riga Town. A great Hotel, in a good location, in a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semnik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear semnik1969,

I would like to thank you for your feedback provided through your review.
We have already sent your opinion to all the staff about their friendliness and service, they are very happy and motivated.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you again at the City Hotel TEATER and fulfill your dreams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I enjoyed staying in a hotel that is not right in the heart of the city centre, and that is not in the heavily touristed Vecriga (Old Town). Walking around the area (the upper part of Brivibas iela, Bruninieku iela, Baznica iela, Skola iela, I really got a feeling for the atmosphere of the city. I also liked the Dailes Theatre across the street: interesting Soviet 1970s architecture. And the Laima chocolate factory is close!
The hotel lobby is bright and spacious. All the staff at the front desk were very friendly, and gladly answered every question I had.
The room was large and comfortable (including the nice bed, and the bathroom). My room faced the inner courtyard, and was very quiet at night, which meant that I could sleep well. Some of the furniture in the room was a bit heavy-looking and outdated---but this just added to the charm. A minor suggestion: the overly decorative floral carpet in the halls looks very old-fashioned, and this could be updated.
I liked the idea of the breakfast room being on the upper floor, so one could see a view of Riga (facing north). The staff at breakfast were very attentive, and made sure fresh food was on the buffet table all the time. I liked how there were different items at the buffet that you usually don't get in hotel breakfasts in western Europe: small pancakes with sour cream; raw herring with onions; etc.
Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. For me, the best thing was that it was not located in the busier city centre and Old Town. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to the city centre along the main street, Brivibas iela (or any of the parallel streets), and walking there from the hotel gives you a good feel for the city of Riga.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It was a clean, quiet room, hospitable reception, good breakfast with fair variety and perfect view (top floor), a bit far from city center (around 15 minutes walking), the city tous tour had a stop in front of the hotel's entrance (although quite expensive, around 10€!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHANASIOS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Athanasious,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. I hope you really enjoyed of your stay in Riga and in our Hotel.
I hope you will come again!

Να έχετε καλή ημέρα! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very good and inexpensive accommodation for non-demanding travellers. Located next to main street Brivibas and in 15 min easy-walking distance from the Historic Centre and the Old Town. Room was not very large but decently clean; the shower room was almost the same size as the bedroom, had window. Bed was not too comfy, but at least provided sleeping in horizontal position. Breakfast was remarkable, very good in variety and quality... and with a nice view on surroundings from the 7th floor. Staff? I did not noticed much stuff... just a couple of persons, all fine with them. Conclusively: very good hotel, price/quality ratio is superb (got double for 29 EUR/night)

There is a lot of cafes and bars around that will not leave you hungry and thirsty during you visit to Riga. You may try atmospheric Tea Club "Zen" (Stabu str. 6) for great variety of teas, lounge music and a water pipe, 2-3 minutes from the hotel.

Parking and soundproof could be marked as strong disadvantages of this hotel. no private parking, public parking is free only in the evening/night, Sundays and public holidays. Inside walls have no sign of soundproof, you will hear every move of your neighbours and in corridor (incl. elevators)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheese13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment. I hope you will come again on your next visit to Riga.
Have a beautiful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 109 in Riga
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#13 of 109 in Riga
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Property: City Hotel Teater
Address: Bruninieku iela 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 4 star hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre. Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude's church etc. The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby-bar are located under a glass roof which connects both buildings of the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and Terrace on the roof top. Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing