We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riga”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

These are great rooms, for family or honeymoon, service impeccable sand the food delicious though not over the top. Short distance from central Riga and the Train Station and main shopping area and the must see market.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JimBotox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 390 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here for four nights with a great rate including upgrade to apartment suite but would have been worth the real price. Had large bedroom, good bathroom, huge sitting room with balcony and a kitchen with free mineral water, coffee and tea. Staff had perfect English and were quite helpful. Location great with many restaurants, bars in Bergs Bazaar. Walk to Old Town 10 minutes. Also have fine restaurant and the breakfasts were wonderful. I would return in an instant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanoiIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bergs for 7 nights in Aug 2014, in a Studio Suite (the least expensive room) and we could not fault it in any way. The room was huge, the decor very modern and stylish, the facilities comprehensive, the breakfast selection excellent, and above all the service from all staff was second to none. Absolutely nothing was too much for them, and they were all extremely helpful, pleasant, cheerful, and spoke excellent English.
On one occasion, we wanted to visit a Soviet Nuclear Bunker mentioned in our guide book as worth looking at, and it turned out to be about an hour and a half travel away, in quite a remote location. The girl on reception could not have been more helpful, spending about 30 minutes checking bus times to the nearest place, printing them all for us for both out and return trips, printing pages from Google Maps, and even contacted a local, very small, taxi operator who spoke no English, and arranged for a taxi to be waiting at the bus drop-off point and to take us to the actual Nuclear Bunker, which was some 15 mins drive further on. The whole trip worked perfectly, thanks to, effectively, the receptionist being our private tour organiser! We can't emphasise enough how helpful and polite all the staff were.
The hotel itself is located about 10 minutes walk away from the touristy Old Town area, in quite a scruffy, but busy street, but is set back from the street in a very pleasant and newly developed courtyard, which also contains two very pleasant bar/restaurants. Some people have complained of noise from these, but all I can say is that we found them both to be excellent places to eat, and not especially noisy, only the amount you would expect from anywhere with tables outside, and anyway they both seemed to be pretty much finished for the night by about 11.00 pm, so I can only imagine you might object if you had rooms looking out onto the courtyard, left your windows open, and went to bed extremely early! As I've already said, if you ask for quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel, you won't find anywhere more peaceful & quiet.
All in all, a great hotel to stay at, and although I don't envisage another trip to Riga (there's not THAT much to see for a return trip!), if ever we had reason to return, I wouldn't dream of booking anywhere else. Just hope we can find some more hotels from the same chain on any other city breaks in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor, and were given two adjacent rooms on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked a studio King room. We were upgraded. Nice duplex room . Two toilets. Living room with kitchenette. Free Wi-Fi in room. Buffet breakfast choice limited but quality is in your plate. Unfortunately , they seemed not know The difference between green or black tea. Hotel not in old area. 15 minutes Walk

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We only stayed one night, and this was our first visit ever to Riga (or Latvia). We really liked the city. This hotel is at walking distance from the old city and from the "newer" neighbourhood where you can find art noveau buildings from the early 20th century.

The staff was some of the best we've experienced, from the doorman, the reception and the restaurant.

We stayed at the Studio Suite (smallest one), as a couple with our teenage daughter. she used a very comfortable extra bed.
This 'smallest' room was huge for european standards. The decoration is modern with clean and simple lines, our style. The bed was very comfortable, and the system to obscure the window was great [this was important as we traveled during early July, when days are long]. The ammenities, the bathroom, everything was impecable.

We had the included breakfast, and the choices were good and the staff friendly.

We had dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the prices very reasonable for the quality of service and food. I tried the 'black balsams' liquour... I'll take to time to really get the taste for it.

overall great experience and good value for the price. When we come back to Riga, this will be our choice

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CarlitosM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful African themed decor in the common areas. Large room with sitting area and kitchenette, very comfortable bed, great pillows. Staff very friendly, breakfast great and restaurant one of the best in Riga for dinner too. Located in a nice courtyard setting, the Garage restaurant next door in the courtyard quite nice. Easy walk to Old Riga. we were trraveling with an infant, a block from a nice park with a playground, and had an outdoor fair going too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful large room - junior suite at standard room prices. Big bathroom with lots of extras, robes etc Kitchenette and sitting area too, even a Lavazza espresso machine.

Staff incredibly helpful. Good breakfast too. Just outside the old town so nice and peaceful - but only a 5 minute walk to get to all the tourist sights. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is in it's own square so all rooms should be quiet. Ours was at the back overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BodgerDogSproxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 112 in Riga
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $164 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing