We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel ”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel ”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been for a weekend with my wife and son (12 years old). Our room was beautiful, quiet, clean and very big. The hotel is very well located just few minutes walking distance from the old town. The people working at the hotel are extremely professional. Breakfast was ok and I found strange to be charged extra for a cappuccino and a hot chocolate.
Overall a place to comeback.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Bergs, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guido,

Thank you for the response sent. We appreciate a lot the fact our guests deliver us their feedbacks. We are glad that you and your family liked the stay at the Hotel Bergs and it is also nice to hear good words towards our staff - we are sure it is a good reason to put even more efforts then. We wish you all the best in 2014 and we definitely look forward to welcome you again at our hotel!

Best wishes to you and your family

Janis Klavins
Marketing Department of the Hotel Bergs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    69
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
135
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We hired a junior suite and we were delighted with the room: new, very clean, very modern, nice furniture, large, very cozy. as we were traveling with a baby we appreciated the many spaces in the room available to put our stuff away. The bed was first class: we slept like babies.

In terms of location, we read a few reviews arguing that the location is good, we would disagree. It takes a few minute walk to get to the historical center. It is a little further out.

However, we did not like the service at all. Every of our requests seemed to disturb the personnel. I needed help with a big bag and the stroller and the two waiters instead of helping looked at me and did not interrupt their chat. Another time we had booked the restaurant for their special menu and when we got there the very same person told us it was too late for the special menu. Then we were having diner, the kitchen was supposed to close at 10.00pm, we ordered a desert at 9.50pm but the cook had left...

As to the restaurant, the cook (albeit unreliable) is really gifted and the food was delicious, fine, locally inspired and original. If the service is not important to you, I'd recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Bergs, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your opinion and observations. We hope the time you have spent in Riga and at our hotel particularly was great. We are glad that you were really satisfied by the comfort our suites can provide, however we are sorry about the communication misunderstanding you've experienced during the stay. We have already instructed the staff in order to avoid such situations in future.
Once again we apologies ourselves for the situation you wrote about and we definitely look forward to welcome you at the Hotel Bergs in future again!

Best regards,

Janis Klavins
Marketing department of Hotel Bergs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My cousin and I shared an apartment room with kitchenette. Nice touches like Evian water and relaxing CD. However the best bit was the pillow menu! We were happy with the pillows we had, like sleeping on a cloud, but would have tried different ones had we stayed longer. The staff were very helpful and the complimentary limousine back to the airport was very much appreciated. We would definitely recommend Hotel Bergs to our friends and I for one will stay here again on my next visit to Riga.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

my wife and I spent a long weekend here on our trip to Latvia. An excellent hotel with nice rooms and a very good restaurant. We got an apartment room with a kitchenette included. The hotel is convenient for the art nouveau district and is quite close to old riga; about 15 mins walk. There is a gym and sauna but it's a bit small.
Staff were very friendly and efficient. The only drawback was that our room overlooked a wine bar/club which was a bit noisy at the weekend into the early hours. It was tolerable however, and overall we think it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard at weekends, due to the noisy nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a long stay through Small Luxury Hotels and got an upgrade to a larger room with kitchenette when checking in. All very comfortable and cozy, with nice furniture and lightning. The hotel have spent some time on the details, like Valhrona chocolate in the mini bar and complimentary Evian, coffee and a lounge CD in the rooms. Staff is responding quickly to every question. The hotel offered free wifi and that was one of the reasons for us to select it.

The bathroom leaves some things to wish for, I would have liked some branded products instead of the regular no brand hotel stuff. (There was a free trial for a face moist spray, a nice feature). Only 1 big towel per person. And those design hotel showers with only a small glass cover always drives me crazy, water all over the room after every shower.
What makes this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 is the breakfast. Only a small cold breakfast is included and you can order hot breakfast items etc at additional cost (and additional waiting time). I'm allergic to gluten and asked for some gluten free alternatives on the first day, but the hotel didn't have that and did not offer to get it (since we were staying a week). All 5 star hotels I stayed at all over the world had gluten free products.

Overall this is a very nice hotel, situated in the Bergs area with some nice restaurants and cafes, and 5-10 minutes walking time from the old city or the art nouveau area. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have spent great weekend in Riga and partly it was thanks to Bergs.We were upgraded to higher level of room. Room was clean, nicely designed.

We appreciated CD as a gift.

Staff was very friendly and helpfull. As hotel had parking a little bit far away, we enjoyed that staff deliverred our car in 5 min.

Bergs has great location. Old town, park are reachable by hand.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid777G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#5 of 109 in Riga
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Property: Hotel Bergs
Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing