We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a Riga Adventure”
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bergs
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel Bergs was an exceptional hotel, one of the finest we have stayed in. We received an upgrade to a generous apartment room overlooking the hotel's entrance courtyard. The front desk staff were excellent and very helpful throughout our stay.

The hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from the Old City, via a nice park and along the picturesque canal. It is situated extremely close to the the Riga Central train station.

The rooms themselves were spacious and modern - our room had a small kitchenette too.

We could not fault Hotel Bergs and their associated restaurant Bergs - a wonderful place from which to explore Riga.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel location was not close too town about 30-40 min walk . Cabs were ok only 4 Lats . Rooms are small but clean . Bed is tiny and not comfortable at all. ( actually coved in plastic ) . But main issue was as not a boisterous stag do , we were constantly told to be quiet and told there would be a 300 lat fine if they deemed us too loud . Service was also not that friendly . Have been Riga before and stayed at friendly franks which was 10 times better for stag doo's . Don't get the breakfast it's not north worth even a 1 lat

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites at the Hotel Bergs Riga on August 14-18, which was an excellent choice! It's located only a 10-minute walk from the Old City and within a quiet residential / shopping area with galleries, luxury boutiques and a few nice restaurants.

The suite is extremely well designed and everything works beautifully -- air conditioning like a champion, plenty of hot water in the two showers, a full kitchenette downstairs with utensils, coffee / tea-making, fully-stocked fridge and mini-bar, etc.

I had been worried about the possibility of late-night parties in the three adjoining Penthouse Suites (per previous reviews below), however, I was informed that the hotel management put an end to such shenanigans several months ago. Happily, our neighbors were quiet and respectful throughout the weekend, so I enjoyed four nights of very peaceful sleep.

Service levels and English language capabilities from all staff were excellent.

Before arrival, I corresponded with Kristine, the Front Office Manager, who was extremely helpful in arranging restaurant reservations for two nights, as well as securing a reservation for us at the Havana Beach Lounge in Jurmala on a beautiful and sunny Saturday. Kristine also proactively offered round-trip transportation in the hotel's mini-van (at a fee, of course) to / from Jurmala, which was the perfect alternative to taking the train, the 2.5-hour boat trip or a bus from Riga.

I also highlight Linards at the front desk, and who was the driver on duty for our Jurmala day-trip adventure. Like all the staff at the Hotel Bergs, he was very hospitable, professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite on the hotel's 5th / 6th floors was extremely spacious and comfortable. Both th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDG-IST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Definitely a boutique luxury hotel. Architecture is exquisite and the rooms are well appointed and designed. Best of all, they are simply huge. The one I was in was 45 sq meters. Had a couch, work desk, eating table, kitchenette. The works. The bed was very comfy and they have wonderful pillows. All sorts of sizes and types to please everyone. I smiled the whole time I was here.

Cold buffett breakfast is included, but it was limited in choice. Plus, if you want eggs you have to pay about $7 extra (3.5 LTV). Seems to me if you’re already paying hundreds of dollars for a room – they can throw in some eggs.

It is located just outside the old town about a 10 minute walk away. It's inside an area called Bergs Bazar which has some wine bars, cafes and other artisan shops. Absolutely a cute place to stay.

I loved my stay here and also stayed in old town in another supposed "luxury hotel". Bergs was by far the better choice, and if I ever come back to Riga - this would be where I would stay.

Now, although I 100% recommend this place, since they consider themselves to be a luxury hotel, I will say they are missing some small things:

1- No luggage stand.
2- Safe does not fit a laptop.
3- Add a makeup/shaving mirror in the bathroom. A scale would be a nice touch too.
4- And please provide a tissue box.
5- And finally, although it must be a cultural thing, almost all of the male front desk clerks never cracked a smile during my 4 days there. They were as nice and helpful as could be, but simply never smiled. Very weird. The women did - but there are more men working here. Not sure how you change this, but it would be nice to see a friendly face once in a while. The friendliest and happiest man was the doorman who always welcomed me home with a smile.

Room Tip: Higher floors will let in more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose the right hotel for our stay during the Dziesma Svetkus. The rooms were beautiful and the bathrooms filled with special touches.
The hotel was an easy walk to Old Town Riga and other historic spots. But we didn't realize that we'd be only a block away from the park with all those wonderful Latvian wares and a stage with performances.One of my grandsons even found some chess players there to test the skills of a seven year old. Also Bergs Plaza was a delightful area in a city that is still recovering from occupation and a bad economy.
The staff was exceptional and went beyond the call of duty to make sure our group of seven got out to Mezparks for the Grand Finale concert.
The hotel has paid attention to its past and my youngest daughter and I were invited to the Bergs' celebration of its history during our return visit. It was a special night.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank TravellingB700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My family (kids ages 16 and 6) stayed here for 3 nights. Location is very convenient to the train station and supermarket. Also a great city park (for kids and adults alike) is a stone's throw away. The Garage (wine bar and great tapas) is located in the same courtyard. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwhoover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived on a rainy day in Riga and had a pre-arranged pickup from the bus station, courtesy of the hotel package we had booked. My wife and I had to literally run to keep up with the driver as he wound his way through people and busses to reach the car. If he was not over six and a half feet tall, we might have lost him!

For check in, we were greeted by a desk agent that didn't seem to know how to smile at all. Her monotone delivery did not exactly make us feel welcome either. That, coupled with a reluctance to provide straight answers about something as trivial as the weather forecast didn't sit well.

We booked one of the loft rooms with the hope of having a balcony, but evidently not all of those rooms have one - which we didn't realize from the website. The room turned out fine, as it was clean and had good shades to help block out the late-night sun in the summer.

This hotel is part of the "Small Luxury Hotels" of the world listing, but they are not providing the level of service that other hotels on that list execute without issue. We have stayed in a few of the other properties on that list, and found the Hotel Berg isn't keeping pace. They did not offer to carry luggage to the room, we did not have turndown service, we did not receive new waters in the room each day, but mostly it is the general attitude of the staff that is not up to snuff.

Overall, it was neither the facility nor the breakfast offerings that prevent a higher review score. It is the general attitude of the staff that turned us off. If you are after a luxury stay, this isn't it.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room, ask about your options. You don't necessarily get a balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Manager at Hotel Bergs, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear TwoOhTravelers,

Hotel Bergs was honored to accommodate you during your visit in Riga.

Thank you for the time taken to provide us with your detailed observations on service and personnel at the Hotel Bergs.

Referring to your comments about our hotel, we have to regretfully admit that the service provided in your case did not comply with the hospitality standards set by the Hotel Bergs and we have already made orders and instructed our employees to avoid such situations in the future, as our aim is to provide the best possible hospitality to our guests.

We want to apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced, yet we hope that your stay at the Hotel Bergs will be a positive memory after all.


On behalf of a management team,

Janis Klavins
Marketing & Sales department
Hotel Bergs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 111 in Riga
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: Elizabetes iela 83, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $160 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing