We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Market (Centraltirgus)
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Central Market (Centraltirgus)
from $22.86
More Info
from $194.33
More Info
from $53.73
More Info
Reviews (2,773)
Filter reviews
2,773 results
Traveler rating
1,335
983
348
74
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,335
983
348
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zeppelin hangars smoked fish fruit and veg fresh food local produce locals shop self catering dairy products strawberries caviar stalls selling for sale worth a visit interesting place old town real riga visit riga
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,773 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Five huge halls and outside market. You can get basically anything from there: groceries, food, drinks, coffee, cocktails, souvenirs... You name it! There's also a pharmacy and stuff like that. Open mostly till 6pm (restaurant part till 10pm if I remember correctly).

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank NikkiMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Reaching Central Market through the subway was the first treat as there was a tuneless busker singing and playing the guitar.
Once inside the gastro section of the market there was a buzz of anticipation and a real air of business.
We walked through each of the sections breathing in the smells of the fresh produce and examining the wide variety of fruits and vegetables as well as seeing fish on ice that were still alive! Local breads and cheeses were plentiful.
Before leaving we stopped for beer, balzam and soup all of which were well worth it.
A must for any tourist but watch your purse especially around the outside.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

If you want to see local culture and food you should go and see this place. Smell of fish and meat..

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank millak606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

For me it was a trip down memory lane. I remember going there with my mother when I was a little girl. Fun to see what the natives eat. Fun to see the locally grown flowers,herbs and vegetables.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank sarmite565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

The market is very large , there's a lot of variety items to buy from this market , some halls specialized mostly in Fish and meat although it's not that much interested as a Tourist one can appreciate the way how the locals live and buy stuff . If your in Riga it's a must to go and visit this market

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 40irvingp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews