We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CANADIAN OWNED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Airport Hotel Mara
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CANADIAN OWNED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

The staff is awsome. Happy to see the rooms are newly renovated! I had read the previos reviews and was worried for no reason. Sharing a hotel room with two teenagers, I was glad that the rooms and beds were large and comfy. We had a great time in Rega and plan to return in the summer and do a lot more sight seeing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenfromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
15
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

The hotel is very near to the airport and the main benefit is the free shuttle bus to the terminal, arranged at all times.
We got a quite large room but with a terrible tobacco smell, with quite old and dirty floor covering.
In comparison with other hotels in the city (and in much nicer parts of Riga) the Mara is fully overpriced.
It was a really bad surprise, clearly below the standards of BW hotel chain.

  • Liked — The position very near to the airport
  • Disliked — All the rest
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaesar_and_Topo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riga hotels

Isle of Bute UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

The Best Western Hotel Mara is only a quarter of a mile from Riga Airport and so is a natural choice if arriving on a late flight, particularly with wife and child, which was my case.
By Latvian standards it is not cheap.
The hotel is set well back from the main road, surrounded by trees and appears to have new fittings and furniture.
However, the wall behind our bed headboard literally vibrated to the touch, accompanied by a loud, yes loud, bass hum.
Go to reception and young man comes to the room, agrees, then we look in the adjacent room together where the heating generator is happily bouncing up and down.
We go to another room further away. The noise via the ventilation is still appalling for a professional hotel.
He then takes us to their luxury suite (usual price well over £100) With two doors closed the noise is bearable.
The aimiable young man gives me a beer at my suggestion and I ask him if they get many complaints. "Oh Yes, all the time" he confides. "It's an old Soviet barracks" he tells me.
"Downstairs you can hear any movement or speech from upstairs, and the heating generator can be heard everwhere."
!! Full marks for honesty! He only charged me for the standard room I had booked. But this is not what you need at midnight after a tiring flight. As for Best Western Hotel...in the UK you could be taken to court for that ascertain!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Portbannatyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

Stayed at the Mara last year.
Went to Riga 10 times due to business and was unfortunate enough to stay in this hotel once.
My room was, a dungeon.
It was the only room that was below ground and was dark, damp and smelly.
It was very large with a kitchen / lounge area and bedroom.
But the smell was over powering.

2 work colleagues stayed above ground in the same hotel and found the rooms fine!

Another minus is that tt is a good 15 minute cab ride to the city.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neilbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
ABC Hotel
ABC Hotel
#70 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#51 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Airport Hotel Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Airport Hotel Mara

Property: Best Western Airport Hotel Mara
Address: 186 Kalnciema Street, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Best Western Hotel Mara)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Airport Hotel Mara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotels are recognized and valued worldwide for their exceptional guest services and consistent standards. With over 4200 hotels in 88 countries, travelling has never been made easier! Best Western Hotel Mara offers comfort and value for the discerning international business traveller. * 24 Single and Double rooms * Non-smoking rooms available * Satellite and local television * Conference Facilities with 2 meeting rooms * WiFi and Dataport connections * Photocopy / Fax / Courier services * Free Airport Shuttle service * Free car and bus parking * Buffet Breakfast * Full-service Restaurant * Cozy Bar * Summer Terrace outdoor barbeque and patio area * Sauna and Lounge * 24-hour Front Desk service * Laundry and Dry-cleaning services * Car Rental * Souvenir Shop * Banquet facilities and Large outdoor space available for functions * Tennis Centre across the street * Golf Course only 10 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Airport Hotel Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Best Western
Best Western Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing