We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel TIA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel TIA
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

For a budget hotel, this was great value for money. Considering the price we paid, we got a very good deal. We had two bedroom suite, which we weren't expecting and it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice, enough choice to keep most people happy and the staff were friendly, helpful and very polite.

Hotel was a little bit of a walk from the city centre but not a problem. Have to give this hotel full marks

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjjjjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    68
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
23
61
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

At this hotel you get value for your money. The staff is very helpful and polite and the breakfast buffe is good. The rooms are not more then standard but clean and comfortable. Overall this is a great hotel with walking distance to Old city and good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Have just came back after spending a few days at the Tia Hotel, and I must say that the staff were friendly, efficient and that the hotel itself was clean and well maintained. I looked forward to the breakfast each morning because it was a buffet style so there was a good choice of food to choose from and every thing was more than I expected. The City itself was wonderful, and what I liked most was that it was sooo clean - the only offputting thing was the graffiti on certain parts of the city which I thought was a bit of a down point but other than that the Latvians should be proud of their wonderful city with so much to see and do - it's a must for all tourists and I would recommend to all my friends and family to go over and visit it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here recently on our tour of the Baltic countries. I was impressed by the hotel after having spent the previous three nights in Vilnius. The rooms were basic but were clean and everything worked well. Our room even had a fridge and they included a free bottle of champagne since we mentioned that we were on our honeymoon. The staff at the front desk were great to worth with. They returned emails promptly. They even had items we inquired about marked out on a map when we arrived. They helped us out with taking public transportation and printed out our bus tickets for our journey on to Tallinn. The only negative that I think about was that even though our room and I believe the hotel is smoke free on more than one occasion we could smell people smoking. On a couple occasions it was coming from the stairwell even though it said not to do this in the hotel guide book. Another time it smelled like it was coming from the room next door. It also can be a little noisy at times since the room's doors and walls are somewhat thin. It wasn't too bad but was noticeable at times. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Great staff to work with and very good location. It is about a 15 minute walk into the Old Town area. Also, if I might add we enjoyed Riga much more so than we did Vilnius. It is obviously a much bigger city but there is a nice blend of restaurants, parks, and an old town area to walk around in that seemed lacking in Vilnius.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We found this hotel through booking.com and we got a great deal. For the amount we were paying for this room, the room was excellent. Very clean,comfortable and cozy rooms. The breakfast was very good. Very good value for money.

The staff are efficient and helpful but not very friendly.

The only drawback of this hotel is the location..it is a little far from the old town. It is walkable and we walked to the old town and back everyday. People who don't like walking may find this place a little far.

The art Nouveau district of riga is very closeby and walkable. We walked to it back and forth everyday. I definitely recommend this hotel for people who don;t mind walking a little bit.

The Airport bus can be taken from the front gate of Esplanade..and if you are carrying heavy bags..it is walkable..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew_netlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is easy to reach by bus from the railway station. I think I could take some 1:30 from airport to the hotel using public transportation (which is, btw, an efficient way to move around).
You can walk downtown but this would take a while.
There is a Lido restaurant (I advise to eat there) some 10mns walking from the hotel.

Breakfast was not the best and we had to use somekind of congress room because the actual breakfast room was being renovated (at least they said so).

Staff in the hotel is friendly.
The elevator is incredibly small and the room we had did not offer such a pleasant view. Room was noisy and you could easy ear what people were talkin behind your door (I guess they could ear us too!).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samppa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagyvapálfalva
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Perfect for my solo trip. 10 minute walk to the edge of the old town (or there's a trolleybus from outside which I never even needed to use). If you know/meet any locals then they will show you there are actually interesting bars and restaurants to go to in this area, not just the tourist rammed places in the centre.

Hotel staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet always satisfying. All non-smoking however my room on the 6th floor did seem to get a smell of tobacco smoke occasionally, maybe somewhere through vents, not from the balcony.

Would stay there again definitely!

Room Tip: 6th floor has balconies, so you can smoke outside your room if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Waynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#58 of 109 in Riga
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#63 of 109 in Riga
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#38 of 109 in Riga
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edvards
Hotel Edvards
#51 of 109 in Riga
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TIA

Property: Hotel TIA
Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 63, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TIA 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel TIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing