We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed August 29, 2014

the hotel just the center of the old Riga town, just 1 minute walk can reach the best spot of blackhead and st.Peter church. just next to hotel are the local hand craft market.
the room is quite big, a facilities in side is good.
there are sauna for you, but need to book in advance 1 hour

Room Tip: you need to specify what type of taxi you need, otherwise they will arrange limousine to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 287 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Situated in the center of Old Riga, this hotel is really nice and modern. The restaurant in the basement is quite stylish. I will be back for sure. The personal is helpful and give us good advises of what to visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aigars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of the square in Riga. Having said that, we had a rather poor experience. First, the carpet and sofa were stained in our room. Second, the safe in our room didn't work (the keypad was hanging off ) - unacceptable for tourists with passports. Third, to get the room cool - the a/c had to be on high - which was incredibly noisy. The internet only worked intermittently and more often did not.

When I went to the front desk to let them know about the safe and a/c (on Sunday morning), I was met with a blank look. After repeating myself, she said she would make a note and inform maintenance the next day. She did not offer us a new room or a place for us to lock our passports. The safe and a/c were not fixed in the three days we were there.

Room Tip: Friends stayed in a room on the side, overlooking the bars - they had noise all night. You want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend for the 4th or 5th time. Service was great, personal transfer with mercedez(only E-class this time, before used S and 7-bmw) from the airport under 20eur, got a FREE upgrade to the deluxe suite with own fireplace and sauna. Great service! Indeed there was a bellboy/someone who helped with our luggage and went thru the room explaining the use of sauna etc. The room itself was great as usually. Breakfast was also good, as always. No complaints whatsoever. We tried a different hotel ONCE, and after that, we are never going back to another hotel in Riga. Royal Square is the only way to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, or special price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_H_Helsinki_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is far from 5 stars!

There is no special person, which helps you with a luggage (a bellboy).
Air-conditioning in the room wasnt fixed.
Hotel breakfast served like in (3) three stars hotel.
Bed linens wasnt changed in our room during three days of our stay in the hotel.

Rooms - quite comfortable. Location - beautiful :)

The hotel rate is maximum 4 (four) stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked this last minute after the Wellton hotel screwed us over and we were so happy we did! Not what I would consider a 5 star hotel but it was really clean and they have Great customer service who made my sisters birthday really special, especially when they heard about what we had already been through with the other hotel. They sent up a bottle of champagne, chocolates, and bottles of water. Breakfast was really good and included in the cost. We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Fardus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited with wife and son for a 5 day break . Hotel although not luxury was vey clean and well presented . My room was a good size and was cleaned twice a day . Top floor private sauna and hot tub is well worth booking ( it's free ! ) Staff where excellent and the location was ideal .
Would happily return

Stayed: May 2014
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#17 of 112 in Riga
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 112 in Riga
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalku iela 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#43 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $64 - $972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel And Suites
Royal Square Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing