We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequately run two-star hotel which can stretch to three star on a good day.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An adequately run two-star hotel which can stretch to three star on a good day.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

There are few truly hopeless hotels but this is one of them. Do not be fooled by the five star sign at the entrance door. At best this a badly managed three-star property. Dowdy, faded, and characterless bedrooms and public areas are complemented by indifferent service delivered by untrained staff. On arriving at 10.30pm, there was no person on the door (a five star hotel) and the receptionist was asleep but did wake-up to check me in. Luggage was sent to the wrong room by a lone and exhausted bell-hop. Duvets are synthetic and of poor quality. Pillows are just satifactory. The gym is miniscule and under-equipped. Breakfast offers a good quantity of stale food. If I were the general manager of this hotel, I would be ashamed of myself for presiding over so much avoidable mediocrity where a lack of basic care is so evident. Yet Riga does have great hotels, so do not, let this doss-house cloud your view of a lovely city. Try the Hotel Bergs, for example; it is excellent and in the same price range.

Room Tip: Nobody would stay at this establishment out of choice but if you have endure a night here then a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear JHMH 1959,

Thank you for staying with us and for your honest feedback.

For me as the person who is running this hotel, for sure it is not very pleasant to read such a reviews. But this is part of business and we will take in consideration all the mentioned aspects in order to improve our product and services even more. Please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us, starting the wrong luggage delivery and the synthetic duvets in the end, which will be exchanged to the feather-down ones next month. Even we did not fulfill your expectations and this was not the best hotel stay in your life, I want to ensure your that we are working hard every day in order to deliver best to our customers and luckily this is reflected in other reviews as well. Furthermore I still hope you will give us a second chance on some sunny day and we will be able to welcome you back in order to prove our service qualities.

Best regards from Riga,

Janis Valodze
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    205
    46
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
159
30
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have just stayed here recently on business, first time in Latvia. This hotel had been prearranged for us and was our base for a series of meetings during our 3 day visit. Hotel was great location, staff were just fantastic, could not do enough for you. As an example I had forgotton my power adaptor, they actually went out and bought one for me! A colleague forgot his blackberry charger, they had one to lend him! Food was excellent and I mean excellent, only minor complaint was the quantity i.e. too much!!!

Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ExplorerIIYorkshire,

It is really great to read that you ware 100 % happy with our hotel and all the services provided by our staff. I am proud to see that all your wishes were satisfied what is our core philosophy. We will definitely pass your compliments to our enthusiastic staff what is for sure our most valuable asset. I truly wish that your business will be successful in Latvija, same as our future cooperation.

Best regards from Riga and we look forward to welcoming you soon back again.
Janis Valodze

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent a night in Radisson Ridzene, which is a old Soviet era hotel in Riga. Was positively surprised that inside it had a modern look and rooms were nice. Checkin and out was fast and efficient all other service fluent as well. Nothing to complain, maybe a little bit old fashioned interior design and architecture, but those are difficult to change.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir Helsinki,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the services we provide. You are totally right that it is a Soviet era building from outside, but with a very interesting history I want to admit. When the project was done on the paper in 1977 it was so revolutionary for that time and situation, that it was put aside for another 3 years. After hard fight for every detail the hotel was opened on 1984 and right away it got the main Architectural Award of Soviet Union. So if we look from this perspective there is a lot of history and passion in there. As well you correctly noted that is much more modern inside, as the building is fully renovated since then. So it perfect place for those who want to enjoy the classical style and peaceful environment.

Best regards from Riga and I look forward to welcoming you soon back again,

Janis Valodze,

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located in the very centre of Riga, most major functions are within walking distance. Rooms are well equipped and the service excellent. Enjoy the bar and the restaurant in the lobby area.

Though, remember to put up your "do not disturb" sign. Housekeeping tends to check the minibar around 8 in the morning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Runar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Runar S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as you residence in Riga and thank you for the good words! We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope there will be many more in close future again! Please accept my apologize that you felt disturbed by our housekeeping who is always so eager to clean the rooms.

Best regards from Riga,

Operations Manager,
Janis Valodze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes,it is very close to the old town and yes,it's 5star,one of the most recommended hotels but I was totally disappointed. The hotel is very old and old style furnished, which looks really ugly. Even it is 5star and raddisson hotel, there were no slippers, no cotton buds,dental set or any of the amenity that should be in this kind of hotel!!There was no iron for guest use! The breakfast was one of the poorest breakfast,I ever seen in this type of hotel. The staff was not friendly and not able to solve crowded checkin. I deffinetly do not reccomend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ko-zu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ko-Zu 10,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for good feedback on our location, which is really the best one you can wish in our beautiful capital Riga. We are passionate about good service and every day we are doing utmost to make our guests the happiest people on the world, so please accept my apologize if this was not the case. I would love to take an opportunity and follow up the feedback. I do agree that our hotel is not brand new and modern one, but I would rather describe it as historical, classic and cozy, what is appreciated by many loyal guests. All our rooms are set up with all the amenities according to the Radisson Blu brand standard including the slippers, which are always located in the wardrobe, we are sorry if they were not there during your stay. Breakfast is our landmark, which we are really proud of, this we can see as well in many previous positive Tripadvisor reviews and I am really sad and surprised to read that it was not up to your satisfactory. As we are quite small hotel we usually do not having any problems with check in and check out speed, so we do apologize if it was not so prompt this time. We will definitely take all your feedback in consideration in order to follow up our services and to do necessary improvements.

Best regards from Riga and I hope you will choose a Radisson Blu Hotel during your next visit to our city.

Operations Manager,
Janis Valodze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Really nice rooms, good space, clean and great beds! Great location in the middle of the embassy district. Excellent sercive! Excellent breakfast! I can't praise this hotel enough! Will stay here next time I'm in Riga for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shibbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Shibbster,

Thank you for staying with us and for fantastic feedback. We are really happy to read such a positive comments and see that guests are enjoying our services! Best regards to Stavanger and we look forward to welcoming you back to your favorite hotel!

Operations Manager
Janis Valodze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

For a reasonable amount you can spend your nights in very nice rooms. The value for money is great. Big enough rooms clean, both with tubs and shower cabins, big and comfy beds. Good breakfast and respectful people at reception (speaking very good English and Russian).
The hotel is located 5 minutes from the old town (center of the city), in a beautiful part of the city, as well close to restaurants and cafes, but also close to the shopping streets.
The hotel is very good both for business trips as well as for romantic ones.
I traveled for work, but for sure I would like to go back in summer when it's a lot warmer in Riga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetic_svetlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisValodze, Operations Manager at Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Svetlana,

Greetings to Chisinau! We are happy that you choose exactly our hotel and that you enjoyed our services a lot. You are totally right about perfect location of our hotel, as you can reach everything in the city within a minutes Furthermore very well noted is the fact that our hotel is perfect for business trips and leisure romantic ones, as we really are the harbor of peace in the middle of the city what is fantastic value for everyone. Thank you very much for the good words and positive feedback, and for sure we look forward to welcoming you in Summer again, I assume this time for the romantic trip.

Best regards from snowy Riga,

Janis Valodze
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.4 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 109 in Riga
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Address: Reimersa iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
#6 Business Hotel in Riga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, this Riga hotel is only steps away from popular attractions like the Freedom Monument, the majestic St. Peter's Church and Old Town, a UNESCO World Heritage site. All 95 rooms and suites boast convenient amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and mini bars, and many offer stunning views of Old Town and nearby Esplanade Park. Savor local and international dishes inside a unique glass pyramid at Restaurant Piramida, or relax with a cocktail in the cozy Ridzene Bar & Library. Guests can take advantage of underground parking and complimentary access to the wellness center, which features modern gym equipment and a Nordic sauna. With 8 meeting rooms spanning a total of over 315 square meters, this hotel can host Riga conferences for up to 90 delegates and receptions for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reval Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing