We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“courtyard view would be quiet and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
San Francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“courtyard view would be quiet and great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were lucky, I think, to get a room facing the courtyard. This might be important during the busy tourist summertimes because the noise level on the street would be avoided. We liked our room because it was virtually divided into a foyer with the closet, then a mini office with desk and the double bed tucked away alcove like with an oval shaped bathroom. There was a nice modern radiator for adequate heat during a winter. I see the mini bar/fridge which we never use but was nice to have. The location was excellent, being a stone's throw from St Peters Church, but also close to the outer limit of old town. We were able to walk, in 10 minutes to the Central Market and there was nearby transportation to the outer parts of Riga as well as bus to the airport about 300 meters away. We took a taxi to and from the airport and it was 10Lats, at todays rate approximately 14 euros. The hotel staff , Liene, was very helpful in calling the taxi for us. The hotel offers buffet breakfast in the morning with a nice variety ranging from cereal flakes and such to fried eggs with local ham. I also appreciated the orange juice and the packaged cream cheese which was more creamy than our American variety. Apparently, the hotel owner has a friend who is an artist and his art decorates the place from the reception to the rooms. We made our reservation through Booking.com and I can also recommend their service as well as this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewguySFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    249
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
52
272
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is situated at a very convenient location. It takes around 15 minutes by walk from long distance bus terminal. There is a large shopping mall nearby - just 3-minute walk. It takes you 5 minutes by walk to go to the old town. There are many restaurants along the street where the hotel is situated. The room is spacious and clean, although the breakfast is so-so. But it is worth what you paid! Will consider this hotel when I am in Riga again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location - overlooking a cobbled street . .It is quite modern and minimalist.

We upgraded to a superior as it was so affordable - room 405. Good size room. Could be twin or double. Good bed linen and comfy mattress.Very quiet. The bathroom had shower and bath and was clean. Also had a small built - in hairdryer - these are never ideal but better than nothing! Kettle and tea etc in room and a very well stocked fridge.
Breakfast was acceptable but not memorable. Staff pleasant.
There is a bar in the hotel but it wasnt used much.

BUT THE BEDROOM NEEDS A MIRROR for putting make up on etc. We had to take it in turns using the bathroom mirror which is tiresome ( especially as it steams up the minute the shower is used). There is a work surface/dressing table in the bedroom so this would be the obvious place for one. Such a small detail but one that makes a difference.

Room Tip: Room 405 was good - on the corner and quiet. I would suggest going for the higher floors and away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipsticklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location is very central is the old part of the town. Central location also means it becomes quite noisy during weekends if you have a room with windows facing to the street. The rooms facing opposite the street are fine with not much noise. Brunch was quite basic but ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights, from Thursday to Sunday, in Centra hotel together with my husband and a friend of ours.

Location: Excellent in the middle of the old town. We heard earlier that some taxis will leave you a block away but at least green and red taxis drove there.

Room: I and my husband had a suite #301 where the bedroom is in the corner of the building. The room was gladly very spacious but the outlook was quite seedy. I would have liked to see more space where to open my suitcase, e.g. an extra table or some other surface.

The bathroom was renewed so it was clean. However the layout could have been better so that you wouldn't hurt yourself with the counter corner every time when visiting the bathroom. It would have been nice to have a hand shower also when showering but it was OK.

The bed was quite short and leaning in the middle, but the pillows were OK which I prefer a lot. The blanket was also nice. The temperature was easy to change as there was a cooling/heating pump in the room.

The biggest problem and the reason we will choose another hotel next time is the noise. It sounded like there's no kind of soundproofing and everything what happened below the windows could be heard. Luckily the loudest music ended at 11PM but there was very much noise through the night. Our friend had room #604 and also he reported noice and loud music at least on Saturday night.

Breakfast: There was quite a nice selection of different kinds of breakfast products, every morning a little bit different ones. Every morning we also ordered cappuccinos, which cost 2 euros extra. That was money we spent as the cappuccino was put in a cup which was as big as a soup bowl. It as also a nice touch that already in the second morning the waitress remembered our room number! I also appreciated that the breakfast was open until 11AM on Saturday and Sunday.

Service: Service was unassertive but polite and everything went smoothly. Late checkout was also possible to arrange (with extra charge) which was very nice as our flight left very late in the evening.

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi was working very poorly and in many times not at all. When it was working it was very slow. So don't plan to do anything important with this connection.

Other: the hotel seems not to be suitable for physically handicapped: the elevator is very small and the breakfast is in the celler where the elevator is not going.

Many people have written this already, but I write it too: nice hotel, great location but needs a lot work with sound proofing before I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask some other room than 301 or any other ending with 1 as they are in the noisiest corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Hotel had a great location in the "Old Town" and the room we stayed in was very spacious indeed being very comfortable with Tea making facilities provided.
The only problem was that being opposite an excellent Steakhouse which opened late there was quite a lot of noise late on-if this is a problem a request for a "back" room may be the answer.
The breakfast was superb and likewise the small bar where drinks were available to late in the evening.

Room Tip: If some noise from say 11pm onwards keeps you awake then request a room at the rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for three mid-week nights in September. Whilst we quite liked many aspects, it was let down by others. Most of which have been mentioned by other reviewers.
We did get a very keenly priced package including flights, so it was good value for us, but we wouldn't be happy if we'd paid any more.

Positives:

Great location in the old town, very close to St Peter's Church and an easy walk to most of the sights.
Large (for a city) room.
Friendly helpful staff.
Good WiFi in room.
Free use of PC with printer in reception.
Safe and minibar in room.
Two free bottles of water every day plus tea and coffee making facilities.
A few minutes walk from the airport bus stop on 11 Novembra Krastmala. (Bus no. 22, only LVL 0.50 each way if pre-paid)


Negatives:

Even with the windows closed, there was a lot of noise outside, very late at night from the adjacent bars. E.g. loud singing at 2.00 - 3.00 AM. on a Thursday.
Whilst the room was relatively recently decorated, the dark walls and carpets did make it seem dingy.
Bed was lumpy. Pillows inside the cases could do with a good wash.
Fixed shower insisted on showering the bathroom floor.
No shelf space in bathroom.
Even though there was plenty of space, there were no easy chairs in the bedroom.
Breakfast was OK, but not everything was as fresh as it could be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing