We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location is very central is the old part of the town. Central location also means it becomes quite noisy during weekends if you have a room with windows facing to the street. The rooms facing opposite the street are fine with not much noise. Brunch was quite basic but ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 650 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights, from Thursday to Sunday, in Centra hotel together with my husband and a friend of ours.

Location: Excellent in the middle of the old town. We heard earlier that some taxis will leave you a block away but at least green and red taxis drove there.

Room: I and my husband had a suite #301 where the bedroom is in the corner of the building. The room was gladly very spacious but the outlook was quite seedy. I would have liked to see more space where to open my suitcase, e.g. an extra table or some other surface.

The bathroom was renewed so it was clean. However the layout could have been better so that you wouldn't hurt yourself with the counter corner every time when visiting the bathroom. It would have been nice to have a hand shower also when showering but it was OK.

The bed was quite short and leaning in the middle, but the pillows were OK which I prefer a lot. The blanket was also nice. The temperature was easy to change as there was a cooling/heating pump in the room.

The biggest problem and the reason we will choose another hotel next time is the noise. It sounded like there's no kind of soundproofing and everything what happened below the windows could be heard. Luckily the loudest music ended at 11PM but there was very much noise through the night. Our friend had room #604 and also he reported noice and loud music at least on Saturday night.

Breakfast: There was quite a nice selection of different kinds of breakfast products, every morning a little bit different ones. Every morning we also ordered cappuccinos, which cost 2 euros extra. That was money we spent as the cappuccino was put in a cup which was as big as a soup bowl. It as also a nice touch that already in the second morning the waitress remembered our room number! I also appreciated that the breakfast was open until 11AM on Saturday and Sunday.

Service: Service was unassertive but polite and everything went smoothly. Late checkout was also possible to arrange (with extra charge) which was very nice as our flight left very late in the evening.

Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi was working very poorly and in many times not at all. When it was working it was very slow. So don't plan to do anything important with this connection.

Other: the hotel seems not to be suitable for physically handicapped: the elevator is very small and the breakfast is in the celler where the elevator is not going.

Many people have written this already, but I write it too: nice hotel, great location but needs a lot work with sound proofing before I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask some other room than 301 or any other ending with 1 as they are in the noisiest corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Hotel had a great location in the "Old Town" and the room we stayed in was very spacious indeed being very comfortable with Tea making facilities provided.
The only problem was that being opposite an excellent Steakhouse which opened late there was quite a lot of noise late on-if this is a problem a request for a "back" room may be the answer.
The breakfast was superb and likewise the small bar where drinks were available to late in the evening.

Room Tip: If some noise from say 11pm onwards keeps you awake then request a room at the rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for three mid-week nights in September. Whilst we quite liked many aspects, it was let down by others. Most of which have been mentioned by other reviewers.
We did get a very keenly priced package including flights, so it was good value for us, but we wouldn't be happy if we'd paid any more.

Positives:

Great location in the old town, very close to St Peter's Church and an easy walk to most of the sights.
Large (for a city) room.
Friendly helpful staff.
Good WiFi in room.
Free use of PC with printer in reception.
Safe and minibar in room.
Two free bottles of water every day plus tea and coffee making facilities.
A few minutes walk from the airport bus stop on 11 Novembra Krastmala. (Bus no. 22, only LVL 0.50 each way if pre-paid)


Negatives:

Even with the windows closed, there was a lot of noise outside, very late at night from the adjacent bars. E.g. loud singing at 2.00 - 3.00 AM. on a Thursday.
Whilst the room was relatively recently decorated, the dark walls and carpets did make it seem dingy.
Bed was lumpy. Pillows inside the cases could do with a good wash.
Fixed shower insisted on showering the bathroom floor.
No shelf space in bathroom.
Even though there was plenty of space, there were no easy chairs in the bedroom.
Breakfast was OK, but not everything was as fresh as it could be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent location in the Old City, very near to train/bus station, and the covert market. Very clean and very spacious room (superior twin) and a rich breakfast table .The sound -proofing however was horrendous, all night blaring from external speakers at the vis-a-vis bar.
In walking distance of the main attractions.
Don't forget to spend an evening at the opera , real give away .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathieuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Full of positive impressions - professional desk management; extremely spacious room and well equipped bathroom; comfy bed; rich and quality breakfast table; outstanding sound isolation; superb location. Also liked hotels' interior - designed with nice artistic touch. Some minor peculiarities: air conditioner didn't have "night mode" so was slightly too noisy at night; early check out time at 11.00; bar closing early though it's not a big deal cos there are plenty of bars just around the corner. Anyway, good things obviously prevails so all in all would highly recommend Centra for your Riga stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaidas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had room number 604, view over the roofs of Riga - lot of chimneys - I could imagine that there will be some smoke above the roofs when heating period starts. So this hotel is not good for the view but everything else. Very clean, modern, nice bed, good TV sets, nice breakfast room with tasty breakfast. Best part is the location in the heart of the old town. And the service was nice too, transfer to airport by Mr. Dobbermann was well organized.

Room Tip: I only know taht room 604 view is not very special though the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 111 in Riga
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#46 of 111 in Riga
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $34 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing