We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at hotel central riga on march 30 - May 1. Good location, nice hotel with nice breakfast. The staffs are helpful especially the lady in the front office (eileen, if i m not wrong). We booked for standard room and surprisingly they upgrade our room to suite (and the main reason for the upgrade was because we were the first Indonesians stayed at their hotel). so nice.

Room Tip: higher level and room that is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juned Adi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    251
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
273
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Too much noise from the bars across the street. Better window isolation should fix that? Other than that, absolutely no complaints, great location, good price, nice hotel, nice bar. Short walking distance from bus station, in the heart of old town. Internet working well, for free. Everything you want in Riga just outside the doorstep. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good points: efficient reception staff, reasonably priced, quiet room, central location in old town, scandinavian minimalist decor with neutral colours, central heating, comfortable bed, housekeeping staff is ridiculously quiet in the morning

Bad points: don't think they have air con in the rooms, tiny pillows, car park is pricey and it's a 10 min walk in some apartment building nearby, breakfast choice is very limited, no hotel restaurant tho plenty of places to eat nearby, tired decor

Bottom line: overall great value hotel with efficient service

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back of the building if you want quiet. car park space has to be booked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Not much to add to previous comments:
If You can choose go for junior suite - bigger, with bathrobes. Price differs not much from standard.
Think over You needs - quiet nights vs. great views over rooftops of old town (but for sure more noise on nights).
Room was bit hot - also bathroom. So check out floor heating and thermostats when arriving.
Breakfast is nice and You can have a glass of prosecco also.

Very satisfied and sure will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufternurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just stayed at the Hotel Centra for three nights, and were hardly able to sleep at all due to the noise. Most rooms in the hotel face the street where several very loud clubs blast noise until 4:00 or 5:00 every morning. Since most of the rooms are street-facing, it was not possible to switch rooms during our stay. The staff did offer to let us switch to a junior suite for an additional price, but seeing as the suite also faced the street (and was not that nice anyhow), we figured it was not worth the added expense. There was one nice girl working the front desk in the day hours, but other than her, the staff generally seemed to be indifferent.
Even if this hotel were in a quieter location, I would not stay here. The room was basic and clean, but very lacking in comfort or style. The bathroom was the most poorly designed I've seen. In our bathroom, you literally had to straddle the sink when using the toilet, and the shower sprayed all over the place when on.
All in all, I have to strongly advise against staying at this hotel unless you are a stag party or do not care to sleep during the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoapBoxDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is so chic and modern yet welcoming. This was our first time in Latvia and staying here gave us a great introduction to Riga. The weather was so cold with snow and freezing temperatures but the hotel was cosy and snug and the view from the room was very nice. The room and hotel overall were very clean and comfortable. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to be so close to the centre of all the sights and so near to St Peters church and the old town. In spite of this the room was so quiet and we couldn't hear music or sounds from the local bars and clubs.

The breakfast was a buffet style with loads of choice and which varied from day to day. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and spoke very good English and made our stay really nice. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a traumatic landing in a snow blizzard at Riga airport it was nice to be met a very smart man in a Mercedes to drive us to the Hotel Centra. We had pre booked the hotels taxi service which was excellent. We arrived at the beautifully warm and comfortable hotel and checked in for 4 days. The room was huge with lovely views over the rooftops and of the Church of St Peters spire. The hotel was very good,clean and comfortable. centrally located and not at all noisy given its central location. Breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. Riga is a lovely place to stay..even though it was minus 10 and snow everywhere !!! Loads of history and plenty of churches and museums to see. Loads of walking to be done. The river was frozen over when we stayed in the first week in March, which is pretty normal we were told. Wrap up well and enjoy. We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family4cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#15 of 109 in Riga
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing