We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
strabane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good place to stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

An excellent place to stay in the heart of the oldtown, very close walking distance to all sights. We stayed in a junior suite, very spacious, excellent value for money. Only downside, heating in the room was not adequate for its size. Also, the bathroom was small prportionately to the room size. However, overall great and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting comfort, style, good value and excellent location. Also, breakfast great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    258
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
276
68
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I never understand people that complain about hotels. If you're a traveller a hotel should just be a place to sleep. Any hoo, that being said this is a wonderful hotel to stay at. Right in the heart of the old city and not too far from the train station or the 22 bus that takes you to the airport. The rooms are of a good size and comfortable. The bathroom had heated floors and everything was nice and clean when we came back from a day of traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickabod147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Have just stayed for 2 nights here and found it to be a good hotel. The free drink on arrival was a nice touch. Location was good, an easy walk from the bus station (10 mins) and local sights. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby.
Our room was nice, good space and comfortable bed. Bathroom was v small but adequate. The only problem
we experienced with the room was that the outside noise was apparent during our stay, even though we were on the 4th floor. The windows were not very soundproof so the music from the bar opposite could be clearly heard as well as the comings and goings of the public.
Breakfast was very good, a wide selection of cereals, cold meats, cheese, bread, eggs, juices, tea & coffee.
The staff were very friendly & helpful. Check out is a little early 11.00am but some flexibility is allowed if you ask at reception.
Overall a nice hotel and one that I would stay again at.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The hotel was located in the heart of Vecrīga and we booked a suite for three nights.
We were met by a nice but small lobby with friendly staff who presented us with a bar voucher each. We could check in a couple of hours early which was nice. The elevator was really small and was shaking a bit.
The room was much better than the website photos showed. Really luxurious with a great sized living room and a large bedroom. The bathroom was on the smaller side, but it was really nice and cosy. The view was nice, looking out on St. Peters church tower.
The sofas were really comfortable but the bed was a bit on the hard side for my taste. The shower spray was uncomfortable and the water went everywhere when you showered, but as the bathroom had floor heating, that was not a huge problem.
The wireless connection was very weak in both the living room and the bedroom, but ok in the toilet and hallway. You can borrow a network cable from the reception which gives you a ten times faster internet connection.
The breakfast buffet was small but tasted great and had fresh fruit and freshly made espresso if you asked for it in the bar.
Over all a really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Just back from 4 nights in Latvia and I stayed at The Centra. It's always nice to check in and be told that your room has been upgraded to a suite :)
I stayed on the 5th floor, a very nice large bedroom with a seperate lounge area with a great view of St Peter's Church out of the window. The bathroom was modern and tastefully decorated and well looked after. Breakfast in the morning was a standard, well stocked buffet selection. The only quibble I have is the noise you hear from other rooms, the people on the floor above me were stomping their feet around until late, if you had a rowdy stag party staying in the hotel I dont think it would be much fun at all! But other than that an excellent well located hotel and I would definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th & 6th floor all have great views (so I'm led to believe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRegalWadebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestwich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style, and I always found something to eat. We were disturbed by the people above us as they were quite noisy, and singing drunks in the street early hours in the morning. That said the hotel is in a very good position in the old town and within walking distance of the popular sights and landmarks such as St Peter's square, the cat house, House of the blackheads. Also plenty of bars nearby including the hotels own bar which we found quite reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Decent hotel and reasonable prices. Good location. Big minus for all the streetnoise and very poor soundprofing between rooms. You can hear absolutely everything that goes on in the room next door and above you, and I mean everything........
The hotel needs to decide what kind of clientel it wants. Allowing wild stagnight parties to go on all through the night really bring down the overall score.
Beds are too hard for my taste, otherwise ok.
Will not stay there again, though.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the top floor and not facing the street. Noise from people partying on the street is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bynordicdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Centra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Centra Hotel

Property: Rixwell Centra Hotel
Address: Audeju iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Centra Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Centra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Old Town, an area favoured by locals, tourists and businessmen alike, Rixwell Centra Hotel is the perfect place where to stay in. This cozy hotel is unique with its spacious rooms with high ceilings and romantic views over the City. The Hotel is a seductive blend of the historical and the modern, providing 27 spacious and comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Old Town. Constructed in 1884, is a vivid example of charming Old town architecture. Though the exterior remains untouched the interior has been completely newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixwell Centra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing