We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof top surprise”
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Murren, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Roof top surprise”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I have stayed here several times but only in winter but this year I had occasion to be there in the summer and whilst the place is unchanged and exactly what I want in a hotel, it has this amazing rooftop bar and restaurant which had never been open in previous stays. Great dining and drinking and enjoying the roof top views from this fine extablishment. Still privately owned and the family are often seen around the hotel making sure everything is working well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    206
    77
    13
    5
See reviews for
83
211
65
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is certainly not a 4 star hotel, we booked on a tour and were promised a different four star hotel, but when we turned up, we were told we would be staying at the Gutenbergs.
From the outside, it looks good, its in the old part of town, superb location, down a quiet little cobbled street, couldn't really fault the location, its within walking distance of the main square and a number of bars and restaurants...

The inside of the hotel is charming and old..I guess I like a more modern finish, but it was nice. However, the problems start when you get the keys to your room.

The rooms are tiny, ours had an off smell, a bit stale, so I asked to switch and the room I was offered was so small, it was like it was in a cupboard, so we got used to the smell and stayed in our original room. Very basic for a four star, at 3 stars, maybe it would have been ok. The room has 2 beds, a side table, a cupboard and a tiny old school tv with hardly any channels. The bathroom is very small, no tub, only a shower. The bed was not good. the mattress was very low quality, u could feel the springs, again, not 4 star! Duvet, pillow, low quality - I really would not be complaining if it were advertised as 2 or 3 stars, because then you know what you're getting. Another review mentioned the Churchbells. OMG... they are sooo annoying at that time and they go on forever!!

The breakfast is a very very basic continental, similar to what you get in most european hotels, but the quality of the hot food, eggs etc.. was not very nice.

The staff are really really nice, although there's only 2 or 3 of them at any given time.

Final verdict, stay there because the location is great, but don't expect much in the way of luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Not long ago stayed there with my boyfriend. We decided to stay in this hotel because of its location and its good reviews. I must admit that the hotel itself was lovely. The staff were all very friendly. I liked the location as it was in the heart of Old Tow, yet in a secluded enough area not to be too disturbed by the town's nightlife. The cleanliness standard of the room and the hotel in general seemed to be at it's best. I would have only good things to say about this cute, little hotel if it was not for the Cathedral's bells! The positive side of the story is that you most certainly don't have to worry about sleeping in and missing out on something. But seriously, it is a disaster. My boyfriend is a heavy sleeper and even he got woken up. The bell ringing starts every morning at 7.45 am and stops only at 8am. These 15 minutes of heavy, loud ringing most certainly could wake up the dead!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Great location in old town, easy walking distance to main attractions. Elegantly furnished room with view to the Cathedral(try to get to an organ recital here). The bathroom/toilet was interesting with its own balcony. Bed was turned down each night with a chocolate on the pillow. Breakfast was a good variety. Staff were friendly. Make sure you have good walking shoes for Riga old town,serious cobblestones. A must is to visit a ballet or opera at the Latvian opera House. World class performance at budget prices. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is very central to Old Riga so it was very easy to get bearings, find local facilities and get to know the city. The bus and railway stations are a short walk away and that made getting out to see some of the countryside easy too.
We were almost the only guests on the first two of our five nights but we received full service at breakfast and dinner and the food was cooked just for us as we ordered it. The food was excellent.
All the staff were helpful and friendly, most spoke good or better English.
We got an excellent hotel deal through Baltic Holidays and got real value for money. Our room was characterful, comfortable and quiet rather than large, luxurious or stylish. Above all it was ideal for our purpose: a city break in a new country to us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martnvena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights early December 2009. Hotel staff are 10/10, very helpful with anything we asked for. Room was very clean, Breakfast was good. Location could not be better.
The onlyyyyyyyyy thing missing would have been nice little bar to get a drink and relax after a day's walking around the old city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great service. Renovated with nice old style. In the heart of old town. Fair price for sure! and breakfast was good also...

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnttiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing