We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are touring the historic center in Riga, you could not ask for a better location. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the front desk is helpful. If you are looking for a modern 4-star hotel this property is not for you, but we really enjoyed our stay. It has old world charm and everything is in walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAandtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    156
    62
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
146
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
230 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were delighted with the hotel (chosen for us as part of a package with Baltic Holidays). The room was spacious and the receptionist very helpful when we asked to move rooms initially based on Trip Advisor reviews about the noise from the bar opposite. She seemed surprised, and there actually seemed very little noise from the bar during our stay, so maybe it is more in the summer that it is a problem. But the room we had (208) was spacious and very comfortable, including heated floor in the bathroom and a bath (which 104 didn't have). The staff were all very helpful about booking restaurants and helping with directions, and location wise it is hard to think of a better place to be so close to everything in the old town. Breakfasts had a good selection of hot and cold food, although an additional or faster toaster would be a good investment. I guess we won't be back in Riga as feel we covered most of it in the four days, but if we did we would certainly happily return to this hotel. The only slightly negative thing was the walls were so thin, we could literally hear every word from the room next door when they were in bed! Possibly this is noise travelling along the wooden beams which run through the rooms...?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent hotel in the historic center of Riga. Perfect service and hospitality.
A good way to combine business and leisure trip to Riga, medieval Christmas. A delicious meal in a restaurant. Large and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ants K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly staff , plenty of variety for breakfast good size and clean room , nice and warm in the winter Excellent restaurant especially on Saturday night when there is a live pianist with 20% discount for guests.Well situated. Can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights due to a night club nearby but it did not bother me only my wife. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a cheap deal from TravelZoo and Baltic holidays, and what a great deal it was. We loved the hotel, the room was large with two windows and a view of The Dome. It is situated right in the heart of the Ole Town with cobbled streets and restaurants and places to visit only a walk away. The staff were very nice and helpful and the hotel was lovely and warm, essential at this time of the year - we visited in February.

I would have liked tea and coffee-making facilities in the room and the room was not ready for us when we arrived at midday or when we came back at 2p. We had another coffee and returned and it was ready, but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Average hotel in a central location.

Very clean hotel and room.

Beds are very uncomfortable with one flimsy pillow each. Staff were not happy when I requester another pillow but eventually let me have one. Another two couples later asked the same and they were turned away by receptionist who said the hotel does not provide extra pillows.

Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. We liked Charlie's which had yummy fresh food.

If you want a central cheap hotel for a short break this will be fine but beware of the bar opposite on Friday and Saturday nights if you are a light sleeper as you can hear the music in your room til the early hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 12th-15th February 2014 in Riga and stayed at the Gutenburgs hotel. The location you cannot fault as it is literally 30 seconds walk into the main square. and good walking distance to all the main attractions. The Opera house is about 10-15 minutes walk and everything is easy to find. The number 11 tram to the zoo it nearby, the markets etc. The reception is very good. They speak excellent English and are very helpful. The rooms are immaculate however a little dated. There are huge wheels in the rooms which are part of the old architecture which I liked at first as its different but after a while they start getting in the way when you are in the room. The main things that let the hotel down being a 4* is that the beds are not like proper beds they are more like camp bed and are very uncomfortable and ended up with a bad back. They don't provide a proper duvet for the bed they only provide 2 singles which can be small and then a rug over the top which we thought was naff and not 4*. There were only 1 pillow each and no spare. When we asked at reception they said they would see what they could do. Not really what you would expect extra pillows is normal. While there other couples were asking and they were being told there were none left. We didn't eat in the restaurant but we looked at the prices and it is very expensive so would recommend eating out. We can recommend Charlie's in the square as the food is good and very cheap. Don't not go to Steiku Haoss it cost GBP 67 or 80EUR for 2 steak and chips, 2 cokes and an orange. There is a nightclub opposite the hotel and from midnight got very noisy until 3-4am. The breakfast was ok, scrambled eggs, different German sausage, bacon, pastries, cereal, juices, hams, cheeses. Again would have expected a little more choice for a 4*. In all not a bad hotel very clean with great location. I guess it depends how much you pay for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradford b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#9 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing