We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be recommended for wheelchairs and prams”
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Huettenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended for wheelchairs and prams”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch at the Gutenbergs Restaurant with our two children. The food is excellent, as is the view on the roof terrace. The lunch could have been perfect if it wasn't for the masses of bees on the terrace - it was rather unpleasant and we could not finish our lunch. Staff was not helpful at all, and reacted rather indifferent. Coming back down in the lobby we had difficulties carrying the stroller of our child down the stairs. We asked at the reception if there was a lift - but unfortunately there isn't (at least 10 steep chairs to enter from the street to the reception!), so I said:"I wonder how people in a wheelchair can enter in this hotel?" The ironic answer was:"Actually they don't."
Absolutely unprofessional and disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    198
    71
    13
    5
See reviews for
79
200
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location is great in the heart of riga. A part from that, breakfast just ok. Rooms are quite big but the walls to thin so you'll listen everything at any time!
The best is the bar located in the roof. Good mood and very good service

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0b0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here first night in Latvia the night before Ligo Festival. This is a good hotel. If you want to stay in a place that has local character and flavor, this is it. The rooms are neat and nice sized. The hallways have similar Latvian flavor. The breakfast buffet was standard, but the food was tasty. One of the highlights is the rooftop bar - a nice place to have a drink and look at the Dome Cathedral. All of the service was top level. Location down a twisty cobblestone street on the edge of Old City. If you want a modern, cookie cutter hotel, this place isn't for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanderreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Staff really very very kind polite and efficient. restaurant very good with wonderful view. room cozy and well furnished. location is the best to visit the town. breakfast compliant to the hotel standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Luisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the rooms (405) with some kind of wheel in the room that comes to within a couple of feet if the floor. Looked very quirky and old, but it was totally impractical as it was in between the bed and the toilet. Fortunately, didn't drink that much, so didn't bang in to it.

Room smelt a little musty and the bathroom had some mold in it. Didn't eat any breakfast as I had to get an early morning taxi to the airport.

Wifi was free if a little slow.

One night cost €65 so a bit of a bargain and the receptionist even offered to make me a coffee as I waited for the taxi.

Overall, nice place. Just avoid room 405 unless you like having a huge waterwheel looking thing in your bedroom!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel was in a very good position for walking round all the sites of Riga. We took the .50 Lat No 22 Bus from the Airport, it was about a 5mins walk to the hotel from the bus stop just after you cross the river.
The Hotel itself, was oldie worlde, which we loved, even the waiting staff wore traditional costume. The Hotel room was modern and warm our only criticism would be the beds. The pillows were half size and the duvet didn't even reach the side of the single beds we were in. Which led to 3 uncomfortable nights sleep. Which was a shame considering the quality of the hotel. Breakfast was also good, lots of variety for every taste

Room Tip: Try to choose one at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room, but also no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia Romagna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is placed in the old town in Riga, very close to city centre. The atmosphere of the hotel brings you back to old time, with its old style furniture, but the comfort is modern. My room was clean and nice, even if small. Personnel is quite gentle and you have the impression of be very welcomed. The breakfast is average, the food tastes good, even if I don't recommend to take the cappuccino (a gentle warning to my citizenship: you will be disappointed! ) . WiFi was for free, but in my room at the third floor, the signal was poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesare_Riccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing