We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Location, Spacious, Attentive Mgmt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gutenbergs
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Spacious, Attentive Mgmt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Gutenbergs for 3 nights after arriving from Vilnius in May 2010. We decided to pay a little more and booked the junior suite since the higher price seemed to be a good value compared to other cities and we figured it would give us more space. We checked in and realized immediately we were in the older part of the hotel which was fine until we realized we couldn’t get a wi-fi signal, which was important (needed to check in for work). We went to the front desk to find out if we could get a different room with internet access.

The manager of the hotel was very helpful and recommended a different room (311 – not sure of the original room number of the junior suite, which was also in the old part of the hotel) and brought us up so we could test our internet. Our internet worked fine in the common area of the room (this was definitely an upgrade compared to the other room). He helped us move to that room and didn’t charge us extra (very generous). The suite faced the street, had a bedroom separated with a bathroom (shower and tub) and another bathroom off the common area (just sink/toilet off that area). The common area had a desk, many chairs, a sofa, coffee table and a flat screen TV. There was also a mini-bar that enabled us to use the refrigerator for cold drinks (which we purchased down the street).

Although we were satisfied with the room and the older part of the hotel is definitely charming we did think the furnishings were a bit too worn and could be replaced or perhaps reupholstered at the very least. The bedspread was a bit too old and smelled a bit musty. Overall, the hotel is a very good choice and smartly located near the old town so that it wasn’t too close to any of the bars or late night crowds.

The breakfast was good although it was missing fresh fruit. We also had no idea we could order different coffees or eggs as none of the staff approached us (they approached everyone else each morning though).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    156
    62
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
146
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Cannot understand the grouchy types that rated this hotel towards the bottom of the scale! Very nice and friendly hotel in a superb location. Good clean rooms with good beds (although a little firm for my taste) and everything you need in the bathroom. Hotel has a very friendly and forthcoming staff. Large breakfast buffet with everything you could wish for, including scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes etc.And all of Old Town within short walking distances.

Room Tip: Ask for room in old part, facing away from church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We travel a lot and stay in lots of hotels, but this one has to be one of our favourites. It's in a 17th century building in the old part of town, so the location is perfect if you like to walk in picturesque cobblestoned streets and choose from piles of restaurants. There are two parts to the hotel: the old and the new. Both are superb, though we opted for the old, which is beautifully restored. Our room had huge beams in it. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cirulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Gutenbergs has it all. Superb location, oodles of character (yet also understated elegance) and staff ever attentive and ready to help.The hotel manager, Gatis Graudins, took me under his wing and helped me with finding the best tours/best prices, resolving a taxi scam I encountered, and even researched my Latvian surname! Wish I could take him home with me.
I will continue to stay at Gutenbergs because nothing in Riga can compare, and its rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I have stayed here several times but only in winter but this year I had occasion to be there in the summer and whilst the place is unchanged and exactly what I want in a hotel, it has this amazing rooftop bar and restaurant which had never been open in previous stays. Great dining and drinking and enjoying the roof top views from this fine extablishment. Still privately owned and the family are often seen around the hotel making sure everything is working well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is certainly not a 4 star hotel, we booked on a tour and were promised a different four star hotel, but when we turned up, we were told we would be staying at the Gutenbergs.
From the outside, it looks good, its in the old part of town, superb location, down a quiet little cobbled street, couldn't really fault the location, its within walking distance of the main square and a number of bars and restaurants...

The inside of the hotel is charming and old..I guess I like a more modern finish, but it was nice. However, the problems start when you get the keys to your room.

The rooms are tiny, ours had an off smell, a bit stale, so I asked to switch and the room I was offered was so small, it was like it was in a cupboard, so we got used to the smell and stayed in our original room. Very basic for a four star, at 3 stars, maybe it would have been ok. The room has 2 beds, a side table, a cupboard and a tiny old school tv with hardly any channels. The bathroom is very small, no tub, only a shower. The bed was not good. the mattress was very low quality, u could feel the springs, again, not 4 star! Duvet, pillow, low quality - I really would not be complaining if it were advertised as 2 or 3 stars, because then you know what you're getting. Another review mentioned the Churchbells. OMG... they are sooo annoying at that time and they go on forever!!

The breakfast is a very very basic continental, similar to what you get in most european hotels, but the quality of the hot food, eggs etc.. was not very nice.

The staff are really really nice, although there's only 2 or 3 of them at any given time.

Final verdict, stay there because the location is great, but don't expect much in the way of luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Not long ago stayed there with my boyfriend. We decided to stay in this hotel because of its location and its good reviews. I must admit that the hotel itself was lovely. The staff were all very friendly. I liked the location as it was in the heart of Old Tow, yet in a secluded enough area not to be too disturbed by the town's nightlife. The cleanliness standard of the room and the hotel in general seemed to be at it's best. I would have only good things to say about this cute, little hotel if it was not for the Cathedral's bells! The positive side of the story is that you most certainly don't have to worry about sleeping in and missing out on something. But seriously, it is a disaster. My boyfriend is a heavy sleeper and even he got woken up. The bell ringing starts every morning at 7.45 am and stops only at 8am. These 15 minutes of heavy, loud ringing most certainly could wake up the dead!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#6 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#10 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Property: Hotel Gutenbergs
Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing