We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess you love it or hate it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I guess you love it or hate it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Reading these reviews, guests seem to love it or hate it. My experience, late May 2013, was blazing internet service, a HUGE room with a view of the river, efficient laundry service (Oh yes, a shirt is EUR 4.00), pretty good breakfast, helpful staff, a fine spa, and great barber.

I did find the coffee shop menu a bit limited, but what they served up was good. Yes, the rooms are a bit tired, but the place was clean, everything worked, there was lots of good channels on the telly.

My sole complaint is the isolation. It is a looooong walk to Old Town and there is nothing, but nothing, in the neighborhood around the hotel. They will, bless them, give you a taxi voucher to be dropped off in the town hall square, but you are on your own for the return trip. And of course, once you are there (across the river), you are there -- no nipping back to the room for a potty stop or to pick up that brolly, or to escape the inclement weather.

For me, it was good value for money but I missed the urban experience I would have had at its sister hotels at the edge of Old Town.

Room Tip: Facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    368
    211
    55
    16
See reviews for
144
170
66
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel rooms should have been renovated a long time ago, but the worst experience is the internet access in the rooms. In mine it did not work and complaints over a three day period did nothing to change the situation. So if you need to work, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
293 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were booked in a standard room which means view to the rear, ugly small rooms made of plastic (plasic tapestry, plastic pillows, plastic blankets, plastic bedclothes,... and the smell of all that plastic! The room itself was so small that it was not possible to open the suitcase (small trolley) inside the room unless you did so on the bed. The furneshing was worn to below the limits and for sure not changed since the soviet times. The only pro was the good wifi connection and the big TV (which seemed even bigger in that small room)

For twice the price you can stay in much bigger rooms with a view to the city but for that price you could also stay in much better hotels directly in the city center!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I went on this hotel with my co-workers- group of appr.100 people, and what a wonderful experence. Everything was just perfect. Clean and friendly, great buffet and wonderful breakfast. All our group was delighted. This hotel get 10 of 10 possible from us. All the staff was wonderful. I can not pick out anything that wasn´t perfect,
Location was great, just 5-10 min.walk to the old town
Visit this hotel and you wan´t be dissapointed. We got late flight home so we asked for late check out, and we got it without any extra charge. Also the safety boxes are without any charges.
Just perfect hotel - THANKS !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaui66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very nice location at the Daugava river, great views from the rooms. Very helpful staff. Very good variety of food for the breakfast.
The room service after midnight is organized via pizza delivery company. Pizza is ok, resembles more a hot sandwich with cheese, plus there were no folk for the salad - so I had my first experience of eating salad with the teaspoon :)
What is really surprising is that there huge 3-fingers tall holes between the floor and the door to the corridor. And when your roommate goes to the bathroom you hear every sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just came back from Riga we stayed in this wonderful hotel for 4 nights and it was great.Lovely rooms big and clean,they breakfast is amazing and the staff is very friendly and helpful.We where asked the staff in the respetion to point out good resturant for a group of 16 and they dit amazing job called the resturant and took care of it all.They city is wonderful,beautiful houses and you are so welcome.I can surely say I would stay in this hotel again,just a 5min walks over the brigde and then you are down town - Taxis in front of the hotel 24 hours and they are the good ones,just remeber to take a red taxi or green taxi they are safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margrét G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Situated on the Daugava River, this property provides water views across the river towards the Old Town. Fantastic breakfast buffet, with an on-sight chef who prepares made-to-order eggs
at the dining area. The room was comfortable. The walk to the Old Town was 6 minutes across the bridge. Watch out for pick-pockets and Russian thieves. , especially well-dressed nicotine -stained teethed males, Nobody is your friend. An absolute shame. The Riga tourist department should make all efforts to rid the streets from these vermin!
Clean, affordable and gives value. Close to the sights and walking distance to any spot that is important.
ps........ask the taxi drivers what is the cost BEFORE you enter the cab...Don't be afraid to call a cab and establish a price....The cabbies WILL rip you off!

Room Tip: ask for a room over the water, even if they hit you for a $20.00 USD upgrade fee....It's worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Property: Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Address: Kugu iela 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
#26 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This picturesque riverside setting lies just 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of embassies and key business destinations. The hotel is adjacent to Riga's Old Town, where guests can visit key historical sites such as the Blackheads House, Riga Dome Cathedral, Art Museum "Riga Bourse" and Presidential Castle. You will also find plenty of leisure activities with National Library, various gardens, Livu Aquapark and Riga Zoo less than 30 minutes away. In addition to the magnificent scenery, we offer 9 room and suite categories all with comfortable furnishings and design. Included with each accommodation are coffee provisions and our signature Super Breakfast Buffet served each morning at Panorama Restaurant. This elegant on-site restaurant specializes in international cuisine and offers convenient room service. Both the restaurant and hotel lobby bar overlook the Daugava River, creating memorable atmospheres for sharing delicious foods and drinks. When you are not out seeing the sights of Riga, take advantage of a variety of luxurious amenities and services. Our fitness center features a 24-meter swimming pool and solarium, while the 1st-floor Beauty Shop Aleksandra offers a nice menu of beauty treatments. Additionally, the hotel provides 10 professional meeting spaces suitable for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing