We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great stay,
i was there for the second time, and again not disappointed once.
Staff was super helpful and extremely nice.
Breakfast as always was very good, and parking (paying) was just in front of the hotel, very convenient as well.
Would recommend this classic luxury hotel to anyone who likes good value for good quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    117
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
217
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, PA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived hungry and thirsty at 2030 after a 22 hour day of missed flights. Reception called the chef and got us a late dinner in their sidewalk cafe. Airport transfer in their Mercedes was most welcome. Only regret was sleeping through breakfast which for the next two days we found beyond great! Excellent location in olde city center. Riga deserves two full days or more and this hotel is a perfect headquarters! Staff is multi-lingual and very helpful.

Room Tip: 409 is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptMakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Came for a three day break. First visit to Latvia. The hotel is centrally placed and therefore very convenient. The airport limousine pick up and greeting by name by the concierge on arrival at the hotel were nice touches. The staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful at all times.The room was clean. The breakfast was good. The whole experience was very agreeable. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank plg4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel - the staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. But best of all it was about two minutes walk from the main square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

Room Tip: We went for a double, the twin rooms were bigger and more luxurious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is located just in few steps from old town Centre and all sightseeing possibilities are in 5 minutes’ walk. Good restaurant are in 15 minutes’ walk distance. Hotel staff is very helpful and overall atmosphere is clean and customer friendly. Breakfast selection is rather modest but fresh and with high quality. I highly recommend it to tourist who wants to do sightseeing by foot in Riga.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epp_848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff is great and very friendly. The lobby is awkwardly set up by nice. I would never stay here again though, actually considering moving out today. The hallway floors have an old wood base, so it sounds like pounding and squeaking when people walk by. In addition, a double bed is two thin twin mattresses pushed together, the toilet is rectangular (yes its uncomfortable) and no coffee maker in the room. Dont recommend this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is pleasure to read that you found our staff both great and friendly. They are the pride of our hotel.

On the other hand I’m sorry you found our lobby set up awkward, hallway too loud and toilets uncomfortable. There was a lot of effort put in design of our hotel. One of the London’s leading boutique hotel design firms together with our local architecture bureau led the whole process. Their attention to details was remarkable. The design influences were taken from the Russian Royal Tsar’s court with crystal chandeliers and gilded mirrors incorporated in it.

As for the double bed with two thin mattresses pushed together, I’m sorry, but I have to correct this. Your booking was made for twin bedded room not double and therefore the bed you describe is a twin (two beds pushed together). Hotel rooms with double beds have one large bed in it.

It’s a pity to read that you had left our hotel unsatisfied and disappointed, nevertheless, I would be happy to see you with us here again. If you would consider returning back and give us another chance I would encourage you to contact us directly, to make sure you book a proper room for your next stay and receive the comfort you deserve.

Have a safe travels and lot of positive emotions along with it,

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very clean, exceptionally comfortable in N/S deluxe double room in centre of old Riga. Easy walking round town, close proximity to historical places. Speedy and courteous check-in/check out, excellent shower, lots of hot water,thick towels changed twice a day, toiletries, slippers, dressing-gowns, bottles of water - all good to have when flying with hand luggage only. Hotel supplied razor and shaving cream foc. Bed turned down in evening with chocs on pillows. Smoking and non-smoking lounges. N/S lounge had lovely ambiance with comfortable settees which we enjoyed with pre-dinner and night-cap drinks. Sedate, sophisticated atmosphere with couples and families who had very well-behaved children. No complaints.

Room Tip: Would pay the extra for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveyBoy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing