We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new home in Riga”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I never had a time to write any reviews, but the Grand Palace made me to. A truly exceptional stay. Yes, as anywhere else, there are things to be improved, but it is the atmosphere and the service that makes your stay . The staff is relatively young, but the service is equally professional and kind compare to the old European hotels. If not better. And believe me, by taking more than 30 trips a year, I’ve experienced a lot. The location is perfect - both for business and leisure. It is located in the historical old town and is surrounded by the main touristic objects, yet is close to the main roads, providing an excellent connection with other parts of Riga. With the luxury car they had arranged for me, I was always within a 10-15 minute drive for my business meetings in and around Riga. I really enjoyed the breakfast. They have a nice selection of cold and hot items, a cook making fresh omelettes and also a menu on the table for some richer items, like eggs benedict. And there is something which I haven’t seen in any other hotel - they offer a free airport transfer if you book with them directly. And it works perfectly - there is someone waiting for you at the airport when you arrive, help with the luggage, you have a nice chat in a car and in 20 minutes you are at the hotel. My new home in Riga - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your recent experiences whilst staying with us.

It is uplifting to read that we have become your new home in Riga.

We look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 650 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel this weekend. The rooms were good, bathrooms excellent and the staff wonderful - nothing was too much trouble and they were always polite, cheerful and helpful. Only one small point - why change the soap after two days - it would have easy lasted another night but you can't reduce the rating of excellent because of new soap!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent visit to Grand Palace Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the stay with us and found everything to your liking.
Riga is a beautiful city and I hope that you had enough time to fully enjoy it.

You are always welcome back.

P.S. Next year Riga will be Europe’s Culture Capital with many different cultural events taking place throughout the year, definitely worth a visit
.
With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. This hotel is in a great location. We where able to walk everywhere we wanted to go without difficultly. There is a small square located just a few blocks away where we listened to some music and enjoyed a couple drinks on a sunny afternoon. Service was good and so was the the breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and positive comments about our breakfast and service.

It was our pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you soon again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The fact we're now back home and retrospectively cannot find any fault with it is a testament to how good it really is. The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring Riga. Our deluxe room was clean, spacious and well equipped. All the staff were very professional and friendly. Breakfast was ok with plenty of choice. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant during our stay which was delicious and good value for money. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we come back to Riga.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouringMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay with us.

I will pass your compliments to my colleagues as they have to know how well they served you.

I wish you many other great travel experiences and hope to welcome you back one day.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This would have to be the best all round hotel we have stayed anywhere in the world! From checkin to checkout we have been treated like royalty.T

The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are everything you could want.

AND, the icing on the cake, was on Saturday morning when we returned to our room after breakfast to find a birthday cake and bottle of bubbly. I guess they saw in Marie's passport that it was her birthday.

Thank you, you have helped make our weekend in Riga very special.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with others.

Our team once more would like to congratulate Marie on her birthday and wish her happiness and a good health. It was our pleasure to add a little touch to your celebration and a good memory for you to share.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Have a wonderful day,

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here during the Latvian Song and Dance Festival (which was amazing) the hotel is in a great location very easy to walk around and see some of the nice parts of the city. Breakfast was great, the hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful throughout the entire stay. The rooms were nice and spacious they are starting to look like they could use an update but nothing too bad. The air conditioners were ok but not great. The room seemed very quiet despite being in the middle of the city during a very busy festival. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: You are right on the street so try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your time to share your experiences.

It is pleasure to read that you liked our hotels location, its rooms and breakfast, as well as found our staff very accommodating/helpful. I’m also glad that you enjoyed our Latvian Song and Dance Festival so mach. It really deserves to be called “Amazing” as it brings together all Latvian people in songs that echo in each of our hearts long after the festival is over.

Please be assured that every day is a learning experience for us and we never stop striving to reach higher levels of our guest satisfaction and service quality. With this said we are now in the process of implementing different upgrades throughout the hotel beginning with our hotel‘s façade and also rooms.

Thank you once again for the time and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel in the perfect location, in a beautiful city. Very helpful and knowledgable staff, nice, clean and spacious room, well serviced. Beds are on the hard side and very low to ground so they are not as comfortable as you expect. Very nice, good sized bathroom.

Breakfast ok but there is a parrot in a cage which is left open and it takes dire flights above your head while you eat, more apt to a circus than to a five star hotel!

Bar very close to entrance, they allow people to smoke so you are welcomed by an awful smell which lingers in all the hotel area. Do not even think to eat there, it is very unpleasant, plus the embalmed deer heads are a sore sight and remind you of a cruel 'sport' which is still regarded as such by the hotel as they still organize hunting trips for their guests.

Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to learn that your stay was spoiled by a smell coming from a bar as well as our parrot Misha flying around at breakfast. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences it caused you. We are in the process of resolving the issue with our bar ventilation and are seriously working on the matter to create a pleasant environment for each and every of our dear guests.
Our hotel’s as well as bar’s interior has retained the influences from the Russian’s Royal Tsar’s court and hunting plays a big role when trying to reflect this historical period. It is of course understandable that all of us have our own preferences. I am sorry if you found it disturbing.

As for the flying parrot, I agree with you that Misha is to be kept in the cage during the meals and we will make sure it is done. Our regular guests know Misha very well and sometimes take the liberty of letting the parrot out of the cage; nevertheless it is our responsibility to control this.

On the other hand, I’m delighted to read that you found our staff very helpful and knowledgeable as well as our rooms nice, clean and spacious. I hope that apart from the issues you encountered you had a wonderful time exploring our Riga city.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back again and to show you a new experience of our hotel on your next visit.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 112 in Riga
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $164 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing