We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Riga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This would have to be the best all round hotel we have stayed anywhere in the world! From checkin to checkout we have been treated like royalty.T

The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are everything you could want.

AND, the icing on the cake, was on Saturday morning when we returned to our room after breakfast to find a birthday cake and bottle of bubbly. I guess they saw in Marie's passport that it was her birthday.

Thank you, you have helped make our weekend in Riga very special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with others.

Our team once more would like to congratulate Marie on her birthday and wish her happiness and a good health. It was our pleasure to add a little touch to your celebration and a good memory for you to share.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Have a wonderful day,

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    125
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
86
234
41
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here during the Latvian Song and Dance Festival (which was amazing) the hotel is in a great location very easy to walk around and see some of the nice parts of the city. Breakfast was great, the hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful throughout the entire stay. The rooms were nice and spacious they are starting to look like they could use an update but nothing too bad. The air conditioners were ok but not great. The room seemed very quiet despite being in the middle of the city during a very busy festival. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: You are right on the street so try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your time to share your experiences.

It is pleasure to read that you liked our hotels location, its rooms and breakfast, as well as found our staff very accommodating/helpful. I’m also glad that you enjoyed our Latvian Song and Dance Festival so mach. It really deserves to be called “Amazing” as it brings together all Latvian people in songs that echo in each of our hearts long after the festival is over.

Please be assured that every day is a learning experience for us and we never stop striving to reach higher levels of our guest satisfaction and service quality. With this said we are now in the process of implementing different upgrades throughout the hotel beginning with our hotel‘s façade and also rooms.

Thank you once again for the time and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel in the perfect location, in a beautiful city. Very helpful and knowledgable staff, nice, clean and spacious room, well serviced. Beds are on the hard side and very low to ground so they are not as comfortable as you expect. Very nice, good sized bathroom.

Breakfast ok but there is a parrot in a cage which is left open and it takes dire flights above your head while you eat, more apt to a circus than to a five star hotel!

Bar very close to entrance, they allow people to smoke so you are welcomed by an awful smell which lingers in all the hotel area. Do not even think to eat there, it is very unpleasant, plus the embalmed deer heads are a sore sight and remind you of a cruel 'sport' which is still regarded as such by the hotel as they still organize hunting trips for their guests.

Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to learn that your stay was spoiled by a smell coming from a bar as well as our parrot Misha flying around at breakfast. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences it caused you. We are in the process of resolving the issue with our bar ventilation and are seriously working on the matter to create a pleasant environment for each and every of our dear guests.
Our hotel’s as well as bar’s interior has retained the influences from the Russian’s Royal Tsar’s court and hunting plays a big role when trying to reflect this historical period. It is of course understandable that all of us have our own preferences. I am sorry if you found it disturbing.

As for the flying parrot, I agree with you that Misha is to be kept in the cage during the meals and we will make sure it is done. Our regular guests know Misha very well and sometimes take the liberty of letting the parrot out of the cage; nevertheless it is our responsibility to control this.

On the other hand, I’m delighted to read that you found our staff very helpful and knowledgeable as well as our rooms nice, clean and spacious. I hope that apart from the issues you encountered you had a wonderful time exploring our Riga city.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back again and to show you a new experience of our hotel on your next visit.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice local hotel. Very friendly staff. The beds in the guestrooms are different than those in standard international business hotels. Not bad, just different. The height of the bed for example is different - not as high as those standard ones.

Very rich breakfast buffet. Several cold seafood options in the breakfast.

There is a general sense of "age" in the hotel but not disturbing to me.

I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and found our hotel nice, our staff very friendly and the breakfast very rich.

I hope that you also had a time to explore our beautiful Riga city and experience its different attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you plan your visit to Riga.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the center of the city. Walking distance from everything. Service is impecable, staff is first class, rooms are big and comfy. Bathtub is quite small but bathroom is big. Loved the hotel and its location. Highly recomend stay here as it makes your stay in Riga extremely pleasurable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ecb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your time to share your experiences with others. It is pleasure to read that you had such a wonderful time in Riga.

Thank you also for praising our hotels services, staff and facilities. It makes us proud to see yet another happy guest with a lot of positive memories taken back home from Riga, Latvia.

Have a wonderful day and hope to see you with us soon again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

How can a hotel have a smoking room right next to the reception area and leave the doors wide open. I agree with the last review it stinks at all times of the day. As you walk through the front door it hits you in the face and if you want to go on the computer you have to ensure the smell as that is just off the reception area. I have never been to a hotel that allows this and surely it should be somewhere at the back not in view. There is a non smoking room but it is right next to the smoking room with a curtain to separate the two. I wish I had known this before booking I would never have come to this hotel. Apart from the smoke at the stupid parrot that is allowed to fly around the breakfast/dining room it is a nice hotel, staff friendly but I would not recommend this hotel if you hate the smell of smoke. My clothes stink I shall never return if I come to Riga again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the smell but don't want it in your room make sure you ask for a non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lollipoplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Riga and for your time to post this review.

I’m glad that you found our hotel nice and our staff friendly. This is something that creates the atmosphere of the place.

However, it is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations in some areas as the wellbeing and satisfaction of our dear guests is our main priority.

As described in my previous response the hotel’s bar ventilation system had failed and unfortunately it takes longer to rectify the issues as anticipated earlier. You are absolutely correct saying that the door leading to a smoking area must be kept closed and let me assure you that your comment is well noted and this issue will be addressed immediately. On behalf of our hotel I apologize for this inconvenience.

Our parrot Misha has been with our Schlossle Hotel Group for many years now and has become kind of a guest-relations-manager/team-member as he well recognizes our frequent guests that visit us often and also spend some time talking to him. Thanks to Misha the atmosphere in our SUITE Restaurant has become more lively and cheerful. Every day our guests receive a lot of positive energy from our little friend that adds that little warm touch to overall experience and enjoyment. Sometimes during the breakfast our guests would open the cage door to great Misha, which can lead to him flying around. You are right, during the meal periods the cage has to remain closed and we will make sure it does stay that way.

Please accept our apologies again for this experience. I hope you had a great time in Riga apart from the issues you encountered and that you had a safe travels home.

Have a wonderful day and many new positive experiences.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Dated & tired interior, hotel is full of smoke- common areas smell like a cheap pub, persistent & pervasive sewer smell in the rooms (they showed us several), hence the use of cheap room spray. Most uncomfortable & extremely hard mattresses. Changed to a different hotel after 1 night! This is our first negative hotel encounter among the Leading Hotels of the World chain.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lana90077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback.

On behalf of our hotel I apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay with us.

We receive many compliments in regards to hotel’s rich and cosy atmosphere, which allows our guests to look back in the past as design influences were taken from the Russian Royal Tsar’s court. I’m sorry if you found it dated and tired.

As for the smoke, we have to admit that our ventilation system had failed in the bar’s smoking area allowing the smoke to enter other hotel’s facilities. We can only imagine how uncomfortable it is for a non-smoking guest and therefore will take every action necessary in order to avoid such situations from happening in the future.

In order to make sure our guests receive good sleep quality we have medium firm mattresses. Many of our guests have different preferences when it comes to this but the mattresses we use have served as a great middle-way to please most of them. Solutions can of course be found as our guest satisfaction is the most important focus.

Once again I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel but hope to have the pleasure of seeing you with us again one day and show you how well we serve our dear guests.
We wish you pleasant travels and a wonderful day.

With best regards,

Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 109 in Riga
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing