We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel provides spotless rooms with modern amenities (e.g. in-room computer) under the cover of old-style architecture. The sights of Old Town Riga are within easy walking distance. But what makes this hotel stand out is the exceptional quality of service. It takes effort to make guests feel personally welcome, and this staff works very hard to achieve that.

Room Tip: Don't miss the cozy bar with a great assortment of drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reslysten54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Jan B,

Thank you for evaluating us so high.

Personalized service is what we aim for. This creates the feeling that you are at home even if you are away from it.

We are at your service whenever you decide to return to Riga.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    116
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
83
215
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

When I checked in at the Grand Palace, it was discovered that I had mis-booked the reservation. I was a day early. The man at reception was understanding and accommodating. Throughout my stay, all members of the staff were welcoming and helpful. In fact, after I had moved on to another city, I discovered that I had left behind a power cord & charger. They were terrific, mailing it back to the States for me.
The hotel is beautifully furnished and within easy walking distance of the center and a longer (but quite pleasant) walk to the stunning Art Nouveau Quarter.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Maeve32,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you liked the stay with us and are looking forward to see you with us here again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a boutique hotel, old and lovely, in the heart of old Rīga,but on a relatively quiet street. The cheerful, young staff were attentive, and professional. They got us tickets to the Song Festival in Rīga that we would not have been able to get otherwise (They sell out!). When we had problems printing boarding passes, they did it for us. They always looked at things from our point of view and were scrupulously honest. (Told us exactly the differerence in cost between a local cab and the hotel limo, with out a sales pitch.) Told us when traffic would be bad and exactly how to use street cars. When I wanted to buy a sweater, I was not only told the name of a store, but the store was called, to make sure they had exactly what I wanted. The service at breakfast was very quick. The staff remembered the kind of tea I prefer and brought it immediately, even when they were extremely busy.
We are so accustomed to mediocre service at big hotel chains, that this level of warm hospitality just amazes!
We were there for 2 weeks and had a great time!

Room Tip: Our request was for a quiet room and that is what we got. We debated getting a suite; and, for 2 wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaneSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ZaneSG,

Thank you for your feedback.

It was our pleasure to have you in our beautiful hotel.

We are always ready to assist our dear guests to make their stay with us comfortable and memorable. We know ourselves how difficult it can sometimes be, if you are away from home and need a helping hand to know your way around.

We hope to see you here again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

That is the Grand Palace Hotel- the example of excellence in service, food, purity, design and everything else.
We travel as a couple many times a year and we really enjoyed our 2 times stay at this hotel.
Design is the thing that everyone puts his attention to anyway, even if you are satying in some bed and breakfast. This hotel is absolutely adorable, magnificent with the choice of furniture and design. it could be brighter- yes, but it totally depends on a person who thinks so. The air condition is not new, but we ve got the room with the one, that didnt disturb us, as if he was silent for getting a good review ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Riina Z,

Thank you for the review.

It is our pleasure to read that you found our hotel excellent in every way.

You are always welcome to come back to enjoy our hotel and its services.

Thank you again for sharing this.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and the level of service provided was exemplary and all staff were extremely helpful with nothing being a problem.I am going to return in December 2013 and I am already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear heggers,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back this December.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Atmosphere is very nice, staff friendly and helpfull, good food. The rooms could be better and brighter, the real drawback is noisy air con which makes noise even when it is switched off. Nevertheless, the hotel gas a loit of character and I beleive it is not possible to be located any better! Highly recommended,

Room Tip: No point to choose a suit - you pay more but the room is still small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Lina S,

Thank you for the review.

I am glad that you liked our hotel’s atmosphere, enjoyed a good food and found our staff friendly.
As for our rooms, we are located in very beautiful historical building dated back to 1877. with tall windows and heavy curtains that sometimes make the room darker.

Thank you for pointing out the issue with the air conditioning. Let me assure you that our technician will do what’s necessary to fix it.

I hope this issue did not spoil the rest of your stay and we all hope to see you with us soon again.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is a relaxing retreat perched on a side street off the medieval Dome Square. The decoration and standard of the interior is perfectly balanced between the modern and the original. I could not fault the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff, the immaculately turned out receptionists, concierge, bar staff, cleaners et al, do this hotel a great credit. I was in Riga for a long weekend starting with a visit to the Riga Arena to see Lana Del Rey; she was entertaining but I left before the very end to make sure I could get a taxi back to town. All in all this hotel and its staff were superb.

Room Tip: If you want a massage, book early (to be fair i was told this when i checked in). It was nice to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear BourneJ,

Thank you for your time to write this feedback.

It is pleasure to read that your trip to Riga went so well and that you found our hotel’s appearance perfectly balanced. Our staff members are professionals at what they do and your kind words about the attentiveness and friendliness is the best recognition of their work.

We will be happy to welcome you back again.

With best regards,

Raivis Nikitins
Sales & Marketing Director
Grand Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Pils iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#3 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing