We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is probably on of the best of this type of hotel I've stayed in. The staff are friendly and professional and gave time to help us find some places we would need and give recommendations of places to go around the city. The rooms were large, clean and modern and had most facilities we needed. It is located right in the centre of old Riga behind St Peter's church, very shrt walking distance from most of the attractions, restaurants and bars around the city. Most people staying here are couples or families so its mostly quiet and away from the large stag and hen parties. Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door which is in a retro 20s-modern mix of styles which is cool and unusual. The breakfast includes everything you would want including hot and cold foods. Would definitely stay here again if I come to Riga - great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Konventa Seta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 806 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Beautiful old style hotel in the middle of Riga. The hotel is a series of buildings all connected to each other. We had a great spacious room at the rear. Basic comfort and clean. Car park can be a hassle. Restaurants, bars and shops are in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoggiBonsi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you're looking for a base from which to explore the beautiful city of Riga then look no further than this hotel.

Lovely soft bed, nice clean room and great hot shower. It was extremely hot and a fan would have been nice in the absence of air conditioning.

Breakfast was nice with a fair bit of choice. The food in the outside bar was delicious.

One thing, if you're a light sleeper try to get a room higher up or further away from the roads. They are little cobbled streets and every movement and voice can be heard.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kareno38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Spent two nights there - very nice place, clean, the room is big and they have a kitchenette with hotplates, small fridge and sink. Great location in the very center of the Old City, a place of interest in itself. Also it is just in 10-minutes walk from both bus and railway stations. Good and generous breakfast with a variety of food, the staff is helping and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lillamy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Having reserved a parking spot in the hotel, upon arrival to the parking lot in the center, we are told by a parking attendant hardly out of puberty that there are no free spaces and "who told you there would be?" After being asked to contact the hotel, he unapologetically informs us to proceed to the hotel itself where a parking spot would be located for us. Poor service continues throughout our stay, especially in the restaurant, where staff is almost impossible to find and only brings you a menu when prompted numerous times. Rooms are spartan, almost dorm-like, with very cheap and cramped bathrooms. On the other hand, ceilings are high along with large, light-filled windows. Location is obviously amazing, right in the very center of Riga, but, with so many decent alternatives - why would you come here?

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

In the heart of Riga's Old Town whithin walking distance to both train and bus stations. Room was simple, clean and spacious, room also had a kichenette. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choices....and the price was unbeatable. I will definitely recomend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank coyanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I travelled to Riga, Latvia with a group of 71 for the World Choir Games 2014. We had children and adults of all ages within our party and we were all very well accommodated. We couldn't have wished for a better location being right in the heart of the old town with its cobbled streets and interesting buildings with wonderful architecture. Restaurants were plentiful with something to suit everyone and there were shopping malls which were 'hidden' as not to spoil the old town's character. Public transport in the area is good and relatively cheap compared to UK.

The rooms were clean and spacious, slightly dated but I was very happy with the standard of the room I had which was in 'building 2' and overlooked the outside terrace restaurant (I did have to climb the stairs as there was no lift which wasn't a problem for me but something to consider if you have mobility problems. Building 1 had a lift so there would be no problem there). Twice I found the downstairs door doubled locked meaning that it had to be opened with a key to leave the building, not really a problem as I had a key to open it however in an emergency this could have been dangerous as anyone could have left their key in a panic.

Staying in Riga during an international choral competition with 27,000 singers participating is always going to be noisy but this was in a good way with groups enjoying impromptu singing in the streets and bars. There was also the occasional noise from revellers but this did not prevent me from sleeping. I have heard that Riga was a destination for stag and hen parties and I could feel that some locals may have been wary of us being from the UK. I witnessed one stag group and one hen party on the Saturday evening only. Amongst so many visitors for the World Choir Games who booked up most of the hotels in the area, they certainly stood out but we didn't see them for long. There were also some football fans from the UK around but Riga is a city and compared to most cities I think it was very quiet.

Riga is certainly worth a visit, it's a beautiful and very interesting city with museums, good restaurants and a lovely beach only 30 minutes away. The Konventa Seta is a wonderful hotel in which to stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Ruta on the reception and she helped us in any way she could. The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. I loved it and will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of Building 1 (I was told by members of our party) were very quiet. Buil...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ivy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#45 of 110 in Riga
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $60 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing