We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konventa Seta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in mid-September. Let's start by getting the "bad" out of the way - the hotel bar was closed for the whole of September. Given that the area is surrounded by bars and cafes, it wasn't a major problem. The location is ideal. Several buildings around a cobbled street/courtyard. Our second floor room was comfortable, spacious, clean and had a lovely view of St Peters church a few metres away. It was cleaned regularly and extra pillows were provided without fuss. Breakfast was the usual continental fayre (which we happen to love) - cheese, breads, cakes, fruit, cereals, porridge, eggs etc. The staff were brilliant - my request for a train timetable to Majori resulted in not only a timetable but also a map (drawn by the receptionist) of Jurmala showing the stations, sea and footpath. The hotel is located in the centre of the old town surrounded by churches, restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. For a budget hotel its location, facilities and helpful staff make it highly recommended and worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Yorkshire-hiker,
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Konventa Seta and for sharing your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by renovation of our lobby bar during September. As you already mentioned a lot of bars and cafes are available around and also our hotel restaurant Ambiente and summer terrace were serving our guests. The good news are that now the Golf Bar is open and welcomes our guests!
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, comfort and cleaness of your room, our breakfast and service provided by our staff.
We hope you will return in the near future to Hotel Konventa Seta!
Regards,
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    276
    128
    35
    8
See reviews for
103
192
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hi
After reading all the reviews before i booked, i was quite positive....but i must admit i was a bit disappointed:(
Pros: In the centre, very convenient, quiet if you get the right room! Breakfast was good. Refrigerator for drinks etc

Cons: though the room with small kitchenette( which had no utensils! - not that i was planning to cook!) was good size, it lacked soul. Furniture was very basic, lighting very poor 3-4 small reading lamps and no central main light.
Bathroom was TINY! Shower was soo awkward, no surrounds! Toilet behind the door, very inconvenient.
BED- bad mattress and pillows just awful- soft and lumpy! Hate bad pillows:((
Very small tele, English channels available though.

All in all, just ok...would definitely choose another hotel, many nice ones around as Riga is fairly compact city, you are never far away from most attractions on foot. Other good hotels were cheap too...there are three Radissons!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hottrotter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hottrotter40, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit!
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and breakfast served.
All the negative moments you have pointed out in your review will be discussed with our Management Team and we hope very much that the situation can be improved.
Once again thank you for your detailed feedback!
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Konventa Seta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was big but not cosy. Few furnitures and a lot of empty space. Some cracks in the white painting on the walls that started turning yellow. Perfect location in the centre of old town. Close by is a nice park area along the old moat around the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Konventa Seta hotel is great. It is located in the heart of the old town, with everything within easy walking distance. Despite the central location the hotel is in a side road that isn't noisy and has a local feel. The hotel rooms are a good size and have an individual charm that you don't get in the main, big, chain hotels. The breakfast was good and the staff really helpful and did everything to make our stay as good as possible. Will be back for sure when we are next in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I think the Konventa Seta is great hotel. Ofcourse you do pay a bit more for it, but I think ranging from the service, to room size and cleansiness of the rooms it's very very good. I couldn't really fault it, maybe the only thing if I had to would be the bathroom could be a little bigger. Though that is just picking on something very small. So 5 stars for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_2733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We changed into this hotel since we were cheated by wellton old Riga palace. Here we received excellent service. Stayed 2 nights in junior suite. The suite was spacious and nice. The location in the heart of old town was just perfect. Breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScandinavianHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Kolonna Hotel Riga
Kolonna Hotel Riga
#34 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#6 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#25 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing