We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Leeds West yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excelent Location”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Koventa Seta situated in the centre of Riga old town on the 6th March for four nights. It is ideally situated for all the sites for both Riga new and old.
The hotel is easily reached as is any part of Riga city centre from the airport on the airport bus no. 22 getting off at November isla bus stop . This is the first bus stop after crossing the bridge just over the river 30 minutes later after leaving the . After getting off the bus cross the road using the under pass and head for the church of St Peter. You cannot miss it as it is the largest church steeple throughout the Old Riga town area can almost be clearly visible from any part of both new and old Riga. The rear of the Koventa Seta is situated at the rear of St Peters church .Look for the sculpture of the four farm animals one on top of one another in black and go through the archway opposite which at the end of is the hotel reception on the left.
The current exchange rate is 3 Latvian Lots = £4.00. so its a no brainer to get the bus one way for about 1.5 lots for two, or 15 Lots for a taxi.
First impressions are confusing as the hotel consists of a number of pastel coloured buildings and courtyards but this adds to the features of the hotel experience.
Our room was 2236 in building 2. It was large enough and had a kitchenette facility . No crockery or utensils though. This did not bother us as we brought our own travel kettle, knowing beforehand that there was not going to be one in the room. The furniture in the room was not quite up to the Ritz standard and look as though it was thrown up from Ikea about 10 years ago. The radiators were more than adequate to combat the bitter freezing weather outside. The bed was large and to be honest after travelling the world I have never had such good nights sleep consistently away from home. There was a very small television in the room and no safe facilities . We were told later that there were safe boxes available free of charge in a little room beside reception, which we used.
The hotel does provide evening meals. We did not eat at the hotel for an evening meal but were informed by other guests that it was very nice.
Bear in mind this is a 3* hotel and you get what you pay for. This hotels prime central location more than compensates for any luxuries sort after that may be available at higher rated establishments.
The staff were all very nice and helpful at all times.
On booking this hotel as part of a package we scoured the reports/reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little concerned with some of them but felt on the whole our experience was very good. I would certainly consider going back to the Koventa Seta when returning to Riga in a warmer season if the management consider the following comments. These comments were written on a questionnaire supplied by reception to be completed for when we leave.
1 We read on a previous review that guests were bothered by music and singing throughout the day while in their room. We mentioned it to one lady on reception after two days of experiencing it. She said she had never heard of this problem before. It was not loud just there in the background and annoying. At first we thought we thought it was someone in a room somewhere close by. By the third day we established that it was coming from a restaurant Innocente? Just outside the Koventa grounds next to the archway facing the rear of the St Peters church. I feel that although it may be out of their control, but the Hotel Management should try to get the restaurant to turn it down and stop annoying disturbing some hotel guests situated in or around the area where the restaurants entertainment can be heard.
2 Breakfast not a bad large selection of food over all
(bearing in mind during our stay the temperature varied throughout day and night from -6c to -11c)
The locals and many of the Russian guests may be used to eating cold breakfasts such as coleslaw and other types of salads cheeses cold fish etc etc
Food that should have been hot such as porridge, roast potatoes, macaroni, sausage scramble eggs at best were only just warm at worst was cold. We experienced this daily despite going down to breakfast at different times during our stay. Having said this we may have just been unlucky but somehow doubt it. The foods mention above, I presume were cooked hot and deposited and replenished into the large silver tureens frequently but it was the silly two candle system used to keep the food warm/hot that was totally inadequate for the job. Perhaps the hotel management would consider using some other method to keep food hot.
Despite the two points mentioned above I will return to the Koventa Seta. I highlight them in a way to improve guests experiences during their stay and in our case enhance our experiences already sampled

Room Tip: block 2 where we stayed, but annot say what the other roos were like as all different in different b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meanwoodjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear meanwoodjohn,

thank you very much for your time and feedback!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Riga and would like to return in our hotel for your next holidays!

Thank you for also completing the guest questionnaire!

We always try to do our best to offer the best service for our guests, but unfortunately the noises from streets or clubs nearby are not in our power, as the hotel is in the very centre of the old town, some clubs are also nearby the hotel, which sometimes can disturb our guests.

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and recommending our hotel to other travellers!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the near future again!


Best Regards,

Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    337
    150
    38
    10
See reviews for
119
235
57
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed in the Konventa Seta Hotel for two nights in February 2013 for a weekend break. Good and relatively cheap accommodation with discount rates was offered. The hotel is located in the heart of a historic district within a short walking distance from the railway station and central bus terminal. The hotel room was comfortable, well designed and clean. Breakfast with good choice of food was offered. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The only nuisance was that disturbing noise was heard through the closed door from the corridor.The hotel should use better sound insulation. But in general, we will certainly stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curioustraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Curioustraveler81,
we would like to take the chance and thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience on Tripadvisort!
We do all of our efforts to make your stay as good as you would like it to!
And thank you for your comment about the door from the corridor, which could have been disturbing during your stay! If it would be possible, we would like to ask you to send us the room number you were staying in so that we could act to this matter!
We will be glad to receive your message - reservations@Konventa.lv!

We hope to see you some other time!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the Konventa Seta Hotel for an entire week in August and were pleasantly surprised by it. Having stayed in a mess of other hotels/hostels the previous months and never finding the right one to come back to another time due to different objections, the Konventa Seta gave me pretty much everything I wanted in a hotel. A beautifully big room with a tv that received national as well as international broadcasting (Discovery at least), a big bed (which we may or may not have broken during our stay), a rather large bathroom with no water heating trouble whatsoever and even our own fridge including a freezer portion. There were big windows installed on either side of the room (I'd sooner call it a small apartment) that gave us a lot of light plus the availability to smoke from indoors. Two fashionable closets for him and her, and turnover service every day from 12:00 to 14:00 (if you're out of bed by then). Free wifi worked reasonably well but that it didn't work any better may just have been my excuse for a phone. The location is simply exquisite, situating itself in the middle of the Old Town as this hotel was formerly a convent with a church right next to it (the Old Town emanating from that central place). You can pretty much walk to anywhere in the busy bar and restaurant scene in 5 minutes from here. For the price you're paying (which was about 50 euros p/n), there is not a better hotel experience in Riga.

Room Tip: We had a room in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonventaSeta, Front Office Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Joseph O!

We would like to thank you for choosing Konventa Seta as your home in Riga!
And thank you for all the positive comments regarding your experience in our hotel!
We are proud that we met your expectations!

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future!

Best regards,
Anita Kanenberga
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, to the extent of making me wonder why I'd generally only chosen five star hotels in the past. My ground floor room was spacious and clean. Fairly simply decorated but all the details were present and correct. I could smoke in it (don't worry, such rooms are the exception) there was a nice, big desk in front of a nice, big window. Plenty of sockets. All the light fittings worked. There was always good pressure and hot water in the shower. The wi-fi was completely free. In other words, everything I want in a hotel room, stuff better than in some other hotel rooms costing eight times as much.
The bar / lounge is very pleasantly decorated and comfortable and relaxing with friendly service. The restaurant menu is available here or in the restaurant proper, which is divided into four or five, domestic-size spaces. With each to a different theme, I found myself breakfasting in the kitchen, dining in the formal dining room and taking supper in the library. I really enjoyed the food.
The hotel architecture has wonderful character inside and out, being set in an old convent, right in the heart of the the most beautiful part of town. A short stroll through twisty, cobbled lanes has one at the opera house in one direction and via arched passageways and little squares to the St.Peter's church and beyond in the other.
It's not the sort of grand hotel one goes to as a destination or experience in its own right. Yet in its own, modest way, it achieved something more significant: a real sense of not really having to think about it and so allowing one to be at home, abroad. Which is pretty much perfect in my book.

Room Tip: I stayed in room number four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solidred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed there only for one night and was really shocked! Of course first of all, I should say that for one night stay I was charged only 47 eur (breakfast excluded). The location is excellent as leaving the hotel you will find yourself in the heart of the old city. I asked for the breakfast and paid 5 eur additional and the breakfast was OK for the amount paid. Now about the room. I was given the room in the building 4 on the second floor. The light was only on the first floor that is why I needed to use my mobile to light my way and to be able to open the door. The room was really cold as the heating was switched off, so I turned on the heating and in 3 h the room was warm. The worst suprise was that fact that the water in the shower was cool, I guess about 15 degrees and it was impossible to change the temperature! Awful! The walls were dirty and looked awful! The furniture was awful - old and dirty! Definitely I would not recommend this hotel! It is better to be charged more in another hotel then to stay here even for 1 night!

Room Tip: Do not accept to be located in building 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife stayed here for a couple of days having been in a Radisson Blu also in Riga for a Conference. We decided we would like to get a feel for something more local and less cosmopolitan. We were not disappointed. The staff were most helpful, the room was a spacious junior suite and the only criticism was a slightly hard mattress. The locatiuon is in the heart of the old city and is perfect for sightseeing and access to the wonderful buildings, museums, cafes and restaurants Riga has to offer. We would go again.

Room Tip: A junior suite is recommended - we saw a twin room and it was small and pokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just back from Riga and our stay at the Konventa Seta Hotel. Like others have said, location is perfect for tourists. We stayed in room 129, which is a junior suite that faces a portion of the courtyard, but mainly another building. The dimly lit room is quite large with a dated sofa suite and large, slightly hard bed. The bathroom is not large, but modernly tiled with a shower cabinet. The narrow shower would have been better if it had a shelf for shampoo (shower gel container is attached to the wall) and didn't have a large handle that constricted movement. A hairdryer is included and works well. The room unfortunately doesn't offer a mini fridge or coffee/tea facilities. Weather was turning colder while we were there, but the room was well warm enough. The first night we were kept awake by other guests, especially the young men next door who were talking loudly with their door open and the man who kept knocking on our door looking for 'Dennis.' The walls are thin. It became quieter after the weekend.
The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and the maids did a good job every day. Breakfast buffet was fine, but awkwardly presented in the hallway of the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#39 of 109 in Riga
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Property: Konventa Seta Hotel
Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Konventa Seta is a 3 star townhouse hotel situated in the heart of Old Riga close to Doma Square and the St. Peter's Church. Hotel represents a unique complex of 9 medieval buildings maintaining an atmosphere of the 14th - 16th centuries and offering a wide range of all modern conveniences. You will find gift shops, art galleries, bars and museums in the yard of Konventa Seta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing