We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie Christmas Markets trip to Riga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have just returned from Riga. Myself and 2 girlfriends travelled for the Christmas markets. We flew with Wizz air from Luton - easy straightforward flight. I would reccommend using Baltic taxis from the airport which are 12 lats - we took a normal taxi that was 19 - lesson learned!

We checked into the Hotel Konventa Seta which is in the heart of the old down. Perfect location, everything is walkable. We stayed in a suite for 3 adults. Very comfortable and spacious. The room was cold but the hotel immediately put in a portable heater. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was very good with a good selection.

I would highly recommend the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N111kkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 809 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights from 25 November 2011. Hotel is in an excellent location just a few meters from the main street in the old town. Room decor is a little dated but the staff and maid service are excellent. Breakfast is good and has a good range of hot and cold food (although a little bizarre for the typical English palate! Overall, highly recommended for a short stay in the lovely Baltic city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is nice hotel in the very downtown of Riga, Latvia, perfectly located for tourists.
People are friendly, there are many restaurants and pubs nearby, especially I recommend
"Melnie Muki" (Black monks), 200 m from a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the yard have better view, including the Peter baznica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuttgartAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I used to be a regular at Konventa Seta some 5 years ago and really enjoyed it. Since I now visited Riga in November in two concecutive weeks I decided to stay there again.

First of all, the location is perfect for exploring the old town. Everything is very close by. Also, there is a supermarket some 50 meters from the hotel. Plenty of bars, restaurants in the old town. As the hotel is situated in an old convent you can feel the history all around you. However - this property is in a need of renovation..For my first stay I stayed in a twin room in the main building. Very, very basic, yet no complaints given that the cost for the night was 45 euros. For the second stay we reserved a two - story apartment (room 4011). The price was 115 euros but as this apartment can sleep 5 its not a bad value at all. Wireless internet is free and works fine - you will need to ask for the username and password at the reception. The breakfast is not spectacular but keeping in mind the price one should not complain. If going to Riga also check out hotel Centra - the location is same but the rooms are freshly renovated. For these dates Centra was twice as expensive so I picked Konventa. Facing the same price difference I would pick Konventa again.. otherwise consider Centra.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is an excellent hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Konventa Seta. Our room was very large, spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was large and modern, with a bath and shower.
Everything was extremely clean, towels and sheets etc and the maid service was very good.
The hotel is located right in the center of Old Riga, which is great for exploring the sights. It is in a good location for Restaurants and shopping too, with a modern shopping center just around the corner.
The hotel bar has just been renovated, It is comfortable and relaxing with a modern twist.
This really is a beautiful hotel, and we will be going back without a doubt!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s_sophie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is well priced and in an excellent location close to train, bus,shopping and old town major sites.We booked a junior suite which was located at the end of a series of dimly lit passageways.
The room was very spacious and nicely furnished, the only drawback was the pokey bathroom. The shower recess was a corner cubicle so tiny that it was impossible to wash without hitting the walls or fixtures.The breakfast was just okay.
Having said that we were more than happy with our stay because of its location and price, several of the reception staff were also pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our week stay here. We ordered a return taxi from airport via hotel by e-mail which was very smooth and reasonable. Rooms were very spacious and clean, suite was fantastic. Prices in bar and restaurant were very reasonable, and we ate meals there most nights. Hotel was very safe, and had no problems in area, as lots of people about. Staff were very friendly. Hotel was relaxed but efficient. Breakfast had a good continental choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good clean, professional hotel, near all amenities, and attractively priced for food, drinks. Food was really good.

Neil England.

Room Tip: Suite rooms very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neildwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#38 of 112 in Riga
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 112 in Riga
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 112 in Riga
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 112 in Riga
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta

Address: Kaleju Str. 9/11, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $36 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta is located in the historic centre of Riga (Old Town), on 9/11 Kaleju Street. All the most popular tourist attractions, as well as shopping and business centres are located in the vicinity of the hotel. It is suitable for business people, tourists and families with children. The building complex of the hotel is a national architectural monument located in one of the most ancient neighbourhoods in Riga. All rooms of Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta (141 in total) are decorated and equipped according to the international 3-star hotel standard. There are also apartment type rooms provided with a kitchen where you can make hot beverages that will satisfy any guest of the city who wants to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing