We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good veggie food”
Review of Stock Pot

Stock Pot
Ranked #104 of 982 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Mexican, Contemporary, Soups
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good veggie food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really popular little cafe, had to queue to get in! All food clearly labelled as vegetarian, vegan, gluten free etc. Very good quality food for very cheap prices, pre-prepared food, but very fresh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockpotriga, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thanks for writing a review, we really do appreciate the time taken. Also thanks for pointing out that we have veggie options(usually 2 hot and 1 cold) and 1 or 2 out of the free vegan.
Hope to see you again,
Thanks,
the Stock Pot team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    28
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my favorite place in all Riga! I could go there every day! This is the only place in Riga where you can get spicy food and by spicy I mean real spicy.

You feel like in the family there! Great feeling and prices are faaaantastic!

I've been there many times and will go again and again!

Only problem is that many people know about this place and sometimes you have to stand in long line :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank KasparZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockpotriga, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time out to write such a great review and I hope you continue to come back time and time again. We are always looking for new interesting dishes to keep the many regulars like yourself interested. As for the line,as i have said before if we made it move any faster then there would be nowhere to sit, especially now as we have lost our seating for 8 outside(i bit nippy i think)
Once again thanks,
Richard and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stock pot was a very nice place to have lunch. The food is really tasty, both quality and quantity are very good. As said here: it's more like a take-away place, with space for some 12-15 people to sit down.
The owner was very patient, even though there was a queue, and explained the Latvian menu in English. The butter chicken was very tasty. Beers, sodas and other drinks are available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sgmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockpotriga, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review and glad that you enjoyed eating in Stock Pot.
We are small and once again thanks for pointing out that we are not posh,fancy style restaurant but a self service restaurant with simple home cooked food from around the globe
Thanks,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We liked it so much we went back twice”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is definitely a bistro, a small selection of dishes available but great variation. Also a vegetarian/vegan choice available. We had an early lunch, the Chilli con carne (5) but I understand they do a hotter version as well (but the 5 was hot enough for me!). We then went back for more at 8pm and had the Butter Chicken. Both dishes were excellent quality and value and I really liked the fact you can order a small or large portion. I also liked the atmosphere in there and I think that some of that is down to the communial seating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilO410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockpotriga, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for writing a review and the two dishes you mentioned a
have been Stock Pot favs for a long time. I hope the rest of your trip was also good.
Thanks again,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
“IT'S NOT A RESTAURANT, il's a take away”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you usually eat at McDonald's, you'll find this place fantastic. If you usually drive an old Lada, you'll find fantastic to drive a new Skoda. But if you usually eat at Vincent's and drive a Bentley...that's different. First of all, Stock Pot is not a restaurant, it's a take-away with two big tables inside. Obviously, there is not service. The lady at the counter is very kind and smiling. The food is not bad, but nothing special, and the prices are very, very cheap. I think that should be suitable for students, or to have a snack at lunchtime. But, please, don't write that's the best restaurant in Riga!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockpotriga, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Firstly we are a restaurant(a self service restaurant) with a take away facility.
secondly we do not serve burgers and fries but international food made from scratch with a high Asian influence.
Thirdly yes we have two big tables as well as seating at two windows out looking the best looking street in Riga with seating for a further 7.(by the way McDonald's is classifies as a restaurant)
No service? how does your food get to you plate or who explains you the menu choices?
Most people do not drive Bentleys, footballers wives usually and if I could I would love to eat in Vincent's every day. Most people cannot afford to.
So basically your review is very pretentious with little to back it up. The fact that on a previous review you mentioned you held the waitress responsible for your over cooked stake sums you up.
Lastly we have never claimed and as far as i know nobody has claimed we are the best restaurant in Riga, however Tripadvisor is ranked on the the popular vote, none of which is our doing.
Any way thanks for writing a review, you did however make one good point, we are mainly a lunch spot, however i think you over estimate the spending power of the average Latvian student
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Pot also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Stock Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing