We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stock Pot

Stock Pot
Ranked #91 of 947 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Called in to Stock Pot after the Riga Free Tour - and what a great lunch. Food is already cooked so you just order and they dish up - perfect for when you are really hungry.
Ordered half serves of gaspacho (cold spicy soup), chicken curry and Indian dhal (2 of us sharing), plus 1 drink, and total bill was about 5 lats.
Quality of the food was excellent - we ate everything. Sat outside, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Even gave me a taste of their lovely hommus too.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dlzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinogrand, Manager at Stock Pot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Looks like you enjoyed our food, which makes us happy. We really appreciate the time spent to write a review. As mentioned so often we cook and prepare food we love ourselves and i am glad our strategy appears to be pleasing to most.
Thanks again,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    27
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fresh, spicy food in Riga!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

After two weeks of non-spicy Latvian and Russian food, I visited the Stock Pot one evening and tried their curried chicken, selecting from that day's menu. It was very tasty, obviously fresh and a small portion over rice was more than enough. It's a small place, and you can choose either to enjoy your food outside at an umbrella-topped table or inside. This restaurant is a bit off the beaten track, but well worth the 20-minute walk from the Old Town section of the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinogrand, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for the great precise review we love spicy food and it appears many other too. We refuse to change our recepis to apparant local taste and i think the decision was correct. If we say a dish is spicy, it is and was meant to be, who has ever heard of a mild vindaloo?
Thanks for the review,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food to die for for a ridiculous price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I order Gaspacho - and this fresh goodness was the best cold soup I ate. Chicken Makani which I was reccomended by a super friendly waitress was top notch - hearty, spicy and fresh at the same time. Caeser salad was brilliant, hummus - excelent and wine - just great. And funniest thing is that we paid the same price than in some McDonald's... Long live and prosper, Stock Pots!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nefandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinogrand, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Again I am blushing,we try to offer great intersting food at a good price. We can do this because we have a small team, with my wife Linda and I working hard, margins not too big. For the customer a 15 minute wait in line sometimes at peak times is unfortunate but part of it, if we are to keep the priceing levels.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and hope to see you again,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Setting a new standard for restaurants in Latvia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

StockPot does more than just fill the gaping market hole for good spicy dishes at a fair price, and more than serve magnificent soups, salads, curries, and other delectable dishes. StockPot's food is so good it's teaching people to expand their palate, single-handedly improving the range and depth of gastronomy in a land famous for it's straightforward hearty pork-and-potatoes.
In too many other local restaurants a little basil and a pinch of black pepper are enough for a dish to be “spicy” and anything with pineapple is “exotic”; at StockPot they focus on producing world-class meals, and it shows – locals turn out in droves for the unique blend of cosmopolitan cuisine. A strong customer base of food lovers eagerly wait for the next masterpiece to appear on the ever-evolving menu.
But StockPot doesn't just offer the best spicy food in the country. There is always a wide range of choices (though be warned: everything is made fresh, so if you're the last one in you might encounter a stunted menu as their most popular dishes often sell out on busy days), including milder variations as well as vegetarian and lactose-free. They also serve fantastic wine and gallons of smoothies.
StockPot sets a new bar for restaurants in Latvia. This should be the first and last stop for any foodie in the Baltics.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tsarchdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinogrand, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
wow what a reiew, you made me blush. Thanks for posting and so glad you enjoyed our small restaurant. We cook what we know and the food we enjoy.
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a detour from the city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Simply great food in more than reasonable prices. Special thanks for making half portions (which are actually quite nice for a two-course meal) available. The menu changes every day and it is a good idea to check it on their website because, unfortunately, there is no English menu in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hancza9m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinogrand, Owner at Stock Pot, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for writing a review, we do however now have English menus on print in house, no room on the blackboard though.
Many customers, if not all enjoy the half portions in order to taste more, great idea by us, shame about the extra washing up though, LOL!
Thanks again,
Linda and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Pot also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Stock Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing