We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Latvian artists in exile" in Arsenals building”

Latvian National Museum Of Art
Ranked #30 of 226 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The main building of the Latvian National Museum of Art in Krišjāņa Valdemāra Street is one of the most impressive in the Park and Boulevard Circle area of Riga.The Latvian National Museum of Art is the largest depository of professional art in Latvia.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“"Latvian artists in exile" in Arsenals building”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The main venue of the National Museum of Art is closed for refurbishment, but side venues, like the Arsenals, is still open. The current exhibition showed the obvious: Art exists in dialogue with the community around the artists. The Latvian artists in exile became Californian, German, Swedish and Australian artist. Any particular Latvian influence is not possible to trace.

Despite the odd framework, the exhibition is not totally uninteresting. Many of the artists are quite good.

It hangs until July 28th.

http://www.lnmm.lv/en/arsenals/info/explore/exhibition/2013/latvian-art-in-exile/

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    15
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting collection”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well worth a visit. An interesting collection of Art from Latvia and elsewhere. Easy walking distance from the town centre

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dzerbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The museum of Romans Suta and Aleksandra Belcova”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The flat of the artist couple Romans Suta and Aleksandra Belcova in Elizabete iela is now a musum under Latvian National Museum Of Art. It's closed Mondays and Tuesdays, and not that easy to find, although it is on Riga's main street just a stone throw from the landmark Hotel Latvija. We visited in March, and were not too surprised to find that we were the only visitors.

It is still worth a visit. Aleksandra Belcova is a really interesting painter, inspired by Spanish and French art from the 1920s. Romans Suta was an impressing art noveau/art deco designer. In their apartment, there emphasis is on pictures they made of each other and their families.

I've also visited the National Museum's main venu. The main, national art museum is maybe the first place you should go when visiting a new country. It says a lot about how a country views itself. In Riga, I was struck by how heavy the central European influence has been in Latvia. In each epoque, the art is very similar to what it was in the Netherlands, France, Britain.

The same, of course, is the case for my own country, Norway. I was always impressed by Axel Revold, Per Krogh and others painting in the 1920s and 1930s. Much later, I discovered their meager contribution: It was all Matisse and Cezanne.

The same reflections you make in Riga. But there is a Baltic touch, after all. The nature, The fantastic painting of a rich proprietor letting himself be painted lying in front of his manor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Paintings are just great and they got thousands of them”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The main building is very impressive, but you got to see the paintings if you like art. I heard the main building is under renovation.

Helpful?
Thank oa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Klucis”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The work of Klucis was a real find, we had not heard of him or seen his work, mainly photographic collage during the Russian constructivist period. I found the work exciting and the film interesting full of original footage and informative about art during the 30s. Unbelievable that he was arrested and shot after the amount of work he had put into developing their new art genre. We found it very sad.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latvian National Museum Of Art also viewed

 

Been to Latvian National Museum Of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing