We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept”
Review of Garlic Pub

Garlic Pub
Ranked #224 of 983 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Don't go if you're worried about smelling garlicky afterwards as just about everything on the menu is an homage to garlic! The garlic tapas entrée, which is garlic prepared a number of ways, plus garlic-infused mushrooms, feta, and garlic bread, was impressive. Pasta for main hit the spot and the honey-garlic sauce with ice cream for dessert was interesting - enjoyable but certainly not for every meal! We weren't game enough to try the garlic beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LausMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an enlightening this evening”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

dinner was for 5 people 3 males to females.the idea was to have a traditional latvian meal but we all started with garlic beer and one thing led to another we all had starters and of course main courses i certainly enjoyed my roast duck.the restaurant itself is very cosy and the staff very friendly and helpful would i eat there again yes but i wouldn't try the garlic beer again and i forgot to add we tried beetroot bread was unbelievable good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wayham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value & tasty”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A good value and tasty meal for two. Nice atmosphere, cosy and romantic. We had chicken wrapped in bacon and roast pork. Lovely staff.

Helpful?
Thank Jhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice garlic, but other tastes bit missing”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a garlic tapas for two, garlic soup and garlic/mushroom soup. Tapas was good with very nice garlic flavours, but would have been nicer if included more diversity, e.g. meat or fish. Now it is only very garlicly. Soups were good as well - mushrooms did not taste too much, but ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pepesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having been in for a beer and a snack, we booked a table for dinner the day after, the nice waitress had given us a good impression. Alas the day after, a new witness was bringing us a virtually tasteless dish. The meal cost 17 euro. We gave her a 20, but she never returned the change. Upon leaving after a long wait for the change, we left. We would have told her to keep the change, had she returned it. First time a waiter never returns the change however small.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garlic Pub also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Garlic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing