We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Biblioteka No1

Biblioteka No1
Ranked #21 of 1,004 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful setting, excellent food, GOOD VALUE! Pleasant staff You can't go wrong here. We had 3 courses plus wine for 7 people and it only came to 42Lats per head!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clivers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    168
    57
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, nice building, too pricy”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food was very good, but not good enough to justify the prices. Service was good too. The loos were cramped too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Topclass - you need to go there”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Decoration very different from other restaurant. Nice terrasse to start the evening. Food michelin standard - just larger portions

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lunau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lovely setting in park, sat outside, good service, excellent menu choice and good food. Reasonable prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Food Good....Service Not”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisory ratings and proximity to our hotel. We made reservations several weeks in advance expecting the restuarant would be busy on a Sunday night. Strangely it was not crowded although there was a large group seated in a separate area. We were shown to a nice table overlooking the park by a friendly and pleasant host so the evening began on a high note but unfortunately went downhill from there. The waitress brought water and menus and then disappeared for 20 minutes (Strike 1). Finally the observant host noticed we had been sitting waiting to order for a rather long time and came over to take the order himself. After another 10 minutes the waitress returned saying the asparagus salad I ordered could be served but without the prosciutto (Strike 2). Quite some time after we finished our salads, the waitress returned with silverware indicating our entree choices.... one of them was incorrect. Not sure if this was the fault of the host who took the order, the waitress who misinterpreted the order, or the chef who made a mistake. We do know that the host repeated the order to us so we are inclined to believe the fault lies with the waitress or the chef. After clarifying the order with the waitress, she again disappeared. After waiting over 30 minutes from the completion of the salad course, we again flagged down the host to ask if there was a problem. After checking with the kitchen, he returned to say "3 more minutes". The entrees finally arrived eight minutes later...almost 40 minutes after we had finished our salads (Strike 3). Food was good (not exceptional) and presentation was nice. Next came the dessert menu... we asked for two items on the menu and again the waitress said one was unavailable. (Strike 4). When an item is unavailable in a list of eight items, customers should be informed when the menu is presented, not after selections are made! Perhaps we just hit a bad night, but this restaurant simply did not meet our expectations and our experience did not match the previously written glowing reviews. For all of this, we paid the equivalent of $120.... rather pricey... we knew this going in but we expected better for the price. In all fairness, the host tried to make things better in several ways.... an after dinner cordial on the house being one... but there were just too many negatives to overcome. We would likely choose another restaurant and cannot in good conscience recommend this restaurant to others for fine dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biblioteka No1 also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Biblioteka No1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing