We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in Riga downtown”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a very nice comfortable hotel in the very heart of old Riga, capital of Latvia. Historically
this was the place of a luxus Otto Schwartz hotel in 1920ies.
Rooms are well designed and large, excellent view over park and Liberty monument from windows. I did not find a conditioner in a room (not important in this climate, except July) and
printed information on services and travel recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over park
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuttgartAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 193 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very good value for money! Perfect location and friendly staff. We booked a long time ahead, and got very spacious suits for the same price as standard double rooms. Smoke detectors in every room. Great bathroom. Nice breakfast.

We missed a better selection of bread for breakfast, but this was no big deal. The walls were not soundproof, so we could actually hear our friends talk in their room next to ours when we were at the bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very comfortable and central hotel in Riga.Take bus 22 from the airport for half a lat (60 pence) each and then a short 5 minute walk from 11 November street- even I found it!! Rooms are very smart and the staff friendly,their English is perfect.The one thing we noted is that there is no tea/coffee making facilities so you may want to bring a travel kettle.That said with a Mc Donalds opposite coffee is easy to come by up to 1 am. The wi-fi is free and allowed us to keep in touch with home and check the weather and attractions. Breakfast is buffet style and there is lots to choose from just don't expect a full English or you will be disappointed.The view from the restaurant is fabulous across the parks and the freedom monument. Riga is quite small so this makes a perfect base to get around. we are visiting at the end of October and have had a peaceful stay here with no noise at all at night.Lots of restaurants close by to meet all budgets. A great hotel and wonderful cultural city to stay in.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the monument are the best and on the higher floors. Sauna is good but expensiv...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balloo_ka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in room 508 from 06.10 to 12.10

Overall satisified and only words of praise for this hotel.
Room was large, spacious, very clean and comfortable with a fantastic view from two windows.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Nice breakfast and stunning views from the top floor.
Wi-fi always worked, had no problems.
I liked the outdoor music, it kept me in Riga's spirits :)
Will certainly return Fg Royal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingCover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a 7 story hotel, I moved my room 3 times and everywhere it is noisy.
There is noise coming from the street all night: long-music, people yelling and loud talking -audible from the 3 floor. I moved to the 6th floor only to find that the 7th floor restaurant has loud parties lasting well into the morning. I moved to 5th floor and could still hear the pounding rock music. As I sit writing this review at 2am, everywhere in the hotel there is noise.
- A prostitute knocked on my door at 12:30am - wrong room. Why are the front desk people not keeping the prostitutes out?
- The hotel will only allow Red Cabs in the front which charge 20% more than Baltic Taxi.
- During a dinner in the restaurant, our gathering was occupying the entire restaurant when we discovered that there were no napkins and informed one of the servers (of 3 that were on duty for our group) we were told to talk to the server for our section.

I will never come back here.

Room Tip: all rooms have noise.
Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

FG Royal is no Four Seasons, but it does have an unbeatable location. It is closr not only to Old Town, but also to the new city, which is where most of the new, modern, young, artistic scene takes place. Our room was very comfortable, clearly recently renovated and with a very good bathroom. Staff was very attentive and kind - perhaps they have been reading some of the other reviews on tripadv;) the only drawback is the spotty wi-fi, which we promptly solved at Cafe Ossiris (also highly recommended!)

Room Tip: Room 315 was silent, new and very comfortable!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel. The room was clean and warm. But!
At first there were night singers on the street and they sing all night! It was impossibile to sleep and nobody from staff called police for example.
And at second I had my birthday one of these days in hotel. And hotel of such level didn't congratulate me anything! (it could be words! I don't tell about coffe or chokolate or smth else)

Well, I'll never choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: standart double is quite comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Kalku Iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly FG Royal Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $72 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious four-star HOTEL ROMA in Riga is located in the Riga’s Old Town, near The Latvian Freedom Monument, Latvian National Opera and The Riga Castle. Central location of HOTEL ROMA in Riga is a perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers. Old Riga, Riga city centre, and all the most popular Riga sightseeing places are only few minutes of walking from HOTEL ROMA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing