We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretended to be trendy restaurant off the old Riga” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kitchen - CLOSED

The Kitchen
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: tel: (+371) 20272827; info@restaurantkitchen.lv; This is a really progressive up-and-coming place, opened 6 weeks ago, positioned to become a new star of modern latvian cuisine. Located in a formerly run-down industrial area called Spiferi, it has a young international-Latvian chef that does a very short and specific menu that changes every 2 months. It really needs to be included in TripAdvisor.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Pretended to be trendy restaurant off the old Riga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was there with my friends on 8th of March 2012. Went there because of strong recommendations by the locals. As other reviewers already wrote the restaurants is located in old warehouses district that is being converted to trendy space with events, exhibitions and other contemporary happenings. A short walk from central market and old city.

I would say the restaurant is not overstaffed, one waiter only and 2 persons at the kitchen. We came quite early and restaurant was almost empty. However in an hour almost all tables were occupied. Waiter was quite friendly and offered us a bottle of Sicilian Nero d'Avola wine for discounted price when heard that we are about to order the bottle. Anyhow mistakingly he gave us white wine glasses for our Nero d'Avola wine.

Food was more than ok, nothing to complain about. Coconut and sour cabbage soup was tasty providing new taste experience for me. Steak my friend ordered was of a good quality and correctly prepared. Mine order was a fried white trout stuffed in a German way with sauerkraut (sour cabbage).

I like the restaurant and surely will come again in case I will be in Riga. The only dislike is that restaurant was cold inside and while dinner I become freezing. And interior could be more cozy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent place for birthday party:)!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very good wine! Food! Everything!!! Cute place in Riga.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food... good music... great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was a great finding in Riga. Stylish trendy restaurant where you can actually have a great dinner! ;)

Check the web page www.restaurantkitchen.lv/en because they do have music events quite often.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jairovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
562 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“new and kuul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

this is rather new and coolish place next to the central market. food is great and service good one! you can go for lunch, which could be combained with tour of market or for dinner...

Helpful?
Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had high hopes. Went for lunch and chose the recommended lunch special. The wait person was promoting it so we thougt it might be good. Well if you like tomato soup wtih garbanzo beans right out of the can along with an unimaginative blah chicken pasta dish, then you might be OK with Kitchen. A friend strongly recommended this place and we expected something very good. What we got was only so-so. We may try it again, but not this trip.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lubans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing