We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Cheap! A must at these prices”

Latvian National Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.80*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: 4-Hour Best of Riga Tour with a Visit to Art Nouveau...
Ranked #6 of 225 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Cheap! A must at these prices”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Back in the UK Opera can cost £70-£100 but here the cheapest seats were about £3 and the most expensive were £16. We went and saw La Boheme which was a great Opera. We have never been before so was good fun and especially at these prices. The shows are top quality and the regularly show Swan Lake, The Nutcracker, Tosca etc.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bradford b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    135
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Careful of the cheap seats!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We bought tickets to see Swan Lake for 5 Euros each. The website I bought them from was in Latvian, so it may have warned me, but we could not see anything! The music was fantastic and room beautiful but we could not see the ballet. If you are going to go, perhaps you need to pay a little more for tickets if you actually want to enjoy the show. There were also some very selfish people standing up and leaning over balconies to improve their view, which distorting ours further.
There was a reasonable about of leg room, which is good to know when your husband is 6 foot 3!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and Excellent”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We saw La Boheme. Tickets were only seven euros, and the interior of the opera house is beautiful. A great evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roseeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Opera House Set Near the Canal”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My friend and I watched the performance of an all male dance group. In comparison to the Davies Symphony Hall in San Francisco, this opera house is small. However, it is beautiful and always has something going on in terms of music and dance. There are some beautifully planted grounds outside and, if I recall correctly, a fountain that is worth visiting. Also, within walking distance is the canal and park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aija45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“VERY FINE OPERA IN RIGA”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Latvian National Opera in Riga is a very fine place. It is located close to the Old Town. The opera buliding is very great and nice. It is opened in year 1923. In the 1990s the opera building underwent large-scale reconstruction and restoration of the interior, highlighting and orginal decorations and matching the new interior of premises to them. The construction was finished in 2001 and the new hall has now 300 seats. I was looking on a show written from the old history of Latvia. The artists were excellent. The singing and the music was on a very high standard. If you travel to Riga visit the opera I am sure that you will like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FINLANDAKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latvian National Opera also viewed

 

Been to Latvian National Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing