We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour and guide”

Day Trip to Rundale Palace
Ranked #18 of 69 Tours in Riga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RĪGA - BAUSKA - RUNDĀLE - RĪGAProgramme:10:00 Departure from RigaArrival at the Bauska castle, opportunity to climb to the tower of the castleDeparture to Rundale palaceTour of Rundale palace and its French style gardenLunchVisit to Riga Motor Museum in BauskaDeparture to Riga17:00 Arrival to Riga
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is quite a bit of walking. It is dusty and rocky so be prepared. The rooms are exquisite. Yes, there is ongoing rennovation as is expected. It was a shame we didn't get to tour the stables. The gardens were absolutely lovely, fountains and all. It would be a challenge for one with disabilities. I don't know how you would go about it personally. The little shops in the basement were handy. We wanted something on the way out so it was perfect. We had an excellent meal not far from the palace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
517 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our visit to Rundale and learned a lot about Latvian and Russian history while there. The Place is a 50 mile (80 kilometer) drive from Rundale. There are 40 rooms in the palace, but during the time of our visit, it seemed as though two-thirds of the palace was not available for touring due to renovation. Tour does not include the horse stable building that visitors pass when traveling from the parking area to the Palace.

The busses that brought us to the Palace are parked approximately one third of a mile away. The pathway to and from the Palace and in the gardens require walking through rock and dirt. Your shoes will be extremely dusty and rocks may end up in them. Also, I am unsure how a physically challenged person would handle the steps going into the residence and up to the second floor, the tight areas in some rooms, navigating to the downstairs areas and touring the garden.

Staff advised that my backpack would be OK to bring on tour. A docent takes groups through the Palace and explains the history of the building and its occupants. Photographs may be taken if a fee is paid, and staff did not state that flash photography is prohibited, which is surprising.

Since I went to the Palace with a group, we had lunch in a small house near the bus parking. We enjoyed a meal of chicken, vegetables, bread, dessert, water and coffee. I enjoyed the meal. After the meal, we returned to the Palace but this time to tour the gardens.

Touring does take time and may be too much walking for those that tire easily. Bathrooms are located in the basement of building. When walking to the Palace from the parking lot, there are four water closets out house type bathrooms that visitors may use. They are clean and have running water.

If you elect to tour the gardens, there are two sets of bathrooms in the gardens. One building that looks like an Asian building is a bathroom, as well as another one. The garden area closer to the house is nice due to the abundance of roses. The gardens farther away are bushes and nothing more - after awhile, you will just see the same type of bushes, so we elected not to go further into the gardens. There were two gazebos that were closed for repair. However, as a surprise to us, there is a café in the middle of the bushes in the far, middle portion of the garden. You may want to purchase a cool beverage, an ice cream, or a nice snack here. Be careful to have sunglasses, a hat, sunscreen and something to drink on hot days if you plan to tour the gardens.

The Palace and basement exhibit enable visitors to see and learn a lot about the building’s history. There are also souvenir shops both in the basement of the Palace and near the outdoor restrooms to and from the parking area.

There are wonderful photo opportunities on the grounds, too. You will note many bird homes on the outside of the Palace within the ornate architecture. We also saw a stork’s nest in a chimney easily visible when walking to the Palace from the parking area.

Allow for several hours to visit the Palace. My family and I tour grand historical homes like this whenever we can. The Rundale Palace is exceedingly beautiful and is a wonderful source of history. I enjoyed my visit and would recommend it to others.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peron, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a most impressive well maintained ducal palce from mid 1700s to early 1900. The palace had been turned into a school during Soviet times and a wonderful job has been done to refurbish and repair the buildings, furnishings and gardens.
Very poorly advertised. Great value for the fee. One of the best examples how to look after a treasure such as this palace.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A day trip to Rundale Palce is worth the trip. We went with friends by car and it was a pleasant drive. As you approach the stables you get a glimpse of the palace beyond and know this is going to be an impressive building. The building has many rooms decorated in different styles and with a grandeur of times gone by. It also has impressive gardens to wonder through and a lovely cafe if you need refreshments. On our trip we also stoped at the Bauska castle which dates back to 1443 and also worth a visit as is the walk through the surrounding area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Day Trip to Rundale Palace also viewed

 

Been to Day Trip to Rundale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing