We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun”

Folkklubs Ala Pagrabs
Ranked #22 of 1,332 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Folkklubs ALA Pagrabs - Traditional Latvian Folk Club with the largest selection (27 beers!) Of only local beer on tap, modern-traditional cusine and live music and concerts 6 nights a week, as well as folk dancing on wednesdays. Traditional and local atmosphere and culture! Peldu iela 19, Old Town Riga, Latvija, LV-1050
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a delicious meal here. Some (but not many veggie options). The place is good fun and they managed to squeeze us in one night. We tried to go again for dancing night but sadly was far too busy so we had to leave. Probably have to turn up much earlier!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank emilyh8_1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 4,760 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here based on the mainly positive reviews it gets from other visitors, but it seems like it has gone downhill. When we arrived there was no one around to seat us (this was approximately 1.30pm, so a late lunch, but not excessively late). We weren’t sure whether we had to order food at the bar or whether it was table service and the several members of staff who were there just kept walking past us. When I finally got the attention of a member of staff he told us to just grab a table and someone would be over to take our order. We sat for quite a while waiting and eventually tried to get the attention of the one server, but his attention was drawn by a large group at another table and after about 20 minutes of feeling like we were invisible we walked out.

I really do think this place has gotten complacent from its good reviews and feels it doesn’t have to put an effort into looking after its guests as new ones are always coming through the door. It’s a shame as there seemed to be lots of staff, just none where it was needed, in the role of server. We ended up going to the nearby Province Brasserie which actually turned out to be really nice and I would recommend going there over Kolkklubs.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dorsett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited here twice during our 4 night stay in Riga and to be honest wish we had eaten here all 4 nights. The food is delicious, huge portions and reasonably priced. You might have to wait for a table as it is always busy but also feels intimate due to the little nooks and crannies. Overall a very good experience which I highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe this is just a marketing, but by far - the best place to have traditional Latvian food. Sometimes you can have a live music/performances while you have your delicious food. My foreign friends are always impressed!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank experc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went with friends on dance night, Thursday. It was great fun. We tasted various traditional dishes and tried folk dancing.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Peace987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folkklubs Ala Pagrabs also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Folkklubs Ala Pagrabs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing