We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecxellent view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riga Radio and TV Tower

Riga Radio and TV Tower
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ecxellent view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very out of the way if you're a tourist. Luckily I knew some locals who drove me there. It's an impressive building with a guided tour up to the viewing platform, 77m up. The views of the river, island and city are all very good. I wouldn't say that it's a must-see but I'm very pleased to have been up there. There are plans underway to turn the tower into a "real" attraction but don't expect that within the next few years. Still, if you have the time and can take a taxi, go for it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    30
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Étienne, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to get but it´s worth it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't expect to go close to this tower if u dont have your own car, closest bus stop is 2km away... Anyway if you have sometime to walk unthil there, it´s worth it even if when you arrive, there is no sign... its kind of weird... I guess it's from the soviet time.
I heard there is a project to renew the suburbof the place, make public transportation with bus and boat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in time to Soviet Union”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everyone sees the TV tower. But it's not advertised for tourists, it's not really maintained and it's even a bit difficult to reach. I assume Latvians don't really like this piece of USSR.
But if you're fan of travelling back in time, it's worth the walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hevoonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Undervalued”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is well worth a visit, yet appears to be undervalued by most locals.
Drove onto island from the bridge, no problem finding entrance.
The tower is an incredible structure and the entry price is very reasonable at 2.60 lats for adults.
Upon arrival in the main reception area we found nobody around, almost likened to an abandoned building but there was a sign in Latvian stating the guide would be back shortly.
She came down in no time and after receiving payment led us towards a lift explaining the history of the tower in latvian.
The lift ride up in on of the curved legs is an experience in itself, taking 42 seconds to travel 97m, rattling along the way but the relaxed nature of the guide helps you realise the lights going off for a split second is the norm.
The views once up the tower are amazing, on a clear day you can see 20km in all directions, best views of Riga by far.
The guide also explained that there is to be major development on the island starting in 2 years that will include an amusement park with roller coasters etc.
Leaving the tower, we discovered the guides cat walking around reception making it rather surreal but giving it a personal touch you would not expect.
Completely different to any experience in a tower in the west which would involve checkpoints and security checks etc.
Would recommend to anyone, great value and an interesting experience in many ways. Not overly exciting but what do expect from something like this.
Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank googlies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“An experience to find the way in!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Don't be put off by the lack of signs. We walked from the hotel hansa. Care when crossing the bridge. You do not need to walk on the traffic level. There is a lower walk deck which we found on the way back! To get in take the first open gate on the right then through the car park and up the steps to the lobby. Look for the office in front and when you have paid the lady will take you up for lats 2.60. Good views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Grant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riga Radio and TV Tower also viewed

 

Been to Riga Radio and TV Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing