We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly little resaurant with authentic Latvian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PROVINCE

PROVINCE
Ranked #18 of 942 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Balti, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: PROVINCE is a nice place, where to get to know the traditional Latvian cuisine.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly little resaurant with authentic Latvian food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I dined here one night on our recent trip to Riga.

The restaurant is very homely and comfortable inside - and the locally - based menu of Latvian food is very well cooked and tasty. I had the tasting menu - a little bit of lots of different foods, all well presented and tasty - although I must admit to not being a big fan of the Latvian dessert "Bread soup" - well done, nicely presented but not to my taste at all - at least I tried it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayMo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    334
    87
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
“Positive place”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

nice and friendly personell, really good food. Positive that all food is Latvian cousine. Will be glad to recomend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunleer, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my choice mmmmmmmmmm”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

myself and my wife loved this place, lovely décor, friendly staff, food beautiful , went back to it three times that week, if u order the shoulder of pork don't order and side plates of food...................the waitress does tent to forget that you hav ordered a drink :-) ......but she was so friendly and smiley, you would just tell her its not a bother......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very national and tasty!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place offers you the national Latvian cuisine. It is very tasty, the place is very cosy and the staff is very attentive. It is really difficult to find better place to taste the national cuisine as sometimes is it very expansive, sometimes includes international dishes and only in this place there is only national dishes for reasonable price!!! Local beer is great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Peaceful with Great atmosphere, helpful and friendly personal, Greta food.

One minus to the music in the background, I got little tired of hearing the same Xmas CD while eating, not big deal, a matter of adding a couple of xtra CDs:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimidipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PROVINCE also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to PROVINCE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing