We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, affordable food, but the staff made us feel unwelcome”
Review of PROVINCE

PROVINCE
Ranked #22 of 1,004 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PROVINCE is a nice place, where to get to know the traditional Latvian cuisine.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, affordable food, but the staff made us feel unwelcome”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited this small latvian cuisine restaurant to have a quiet dinner with my mother, chosen because of quite good Tripadvisor reviews. It's centrally situated in the old town, wich was convenient for us.
The food was good, the wine was ok, the interior was... interesting. But the staff made us feel quite unwelcome. No "Hello" or "Welcome", no smile, no asking if we needed or wanted anything more, like more water, wine, or maybe some coffee or dessert after our meal.
But the price was good though. 32 euros for two main courses, two glasses of decent red wine and some bottled water.
I was about to rate this restaurant as "poor", due to the waitress' lack of interest, but the tasty food saved the "average" :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greta_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    358
    95
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
1 review
“Great food, easy location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has fantastic food a friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food quality, limited seating means come early. Touristy atmosphere but home style food from the region. My friends and I enjoyed it immensely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“On the square”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's right in the middle of the Old City and hence has (I am sure) a steady tourist traffic. But the food was good, English was spoken, the staff helpful and atmosphere pleasant. It's a relatively small place so it might be packed "in season"... but when we were there it was busy enough to create atmosphere but not so busy as to prevent it from becoming a restful pause in a busy day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Taste the pierogi...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good small restaurant in Riga where you could eat typical latvian cuisine. The pierogi are excellent and the price is reasonable. The staff is welcoming and efficient. The restaurant is nice and typical. There is a small terrasse but the view is not wonderfull...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had the tasting menu, and we felt very disappointed. Unhearty portions, just a spoonfull each course, and no so tasty. Service was ok, yet the staff doesn't exactely make you feel home. The resto itself is very nice and cozy, with a female frenchy touch. Though Definitely low money for value ratio: around 21€, beverage not included, for having left the place with some appetite

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wikitravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PROVINCE also viewed

 

Been to PROVINCE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing